Home / Data guide / ABA 509 reports
How to Read an ABA 509 Report
The Standard 509 disclosure is the one document every ABA-accredited law school must publish every year. This guide walks through what each section means, where the numbers mislead, and links to the 509 report for all 196 schools.
What this is. Every figure referenced here comes from each school's own filing to the ABA, published in the Required Disclosures database. The 509 is a standard format, so the same line on two schools is directly comparable. Where a school did not report a figure, it is marked not reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate.
Why the 509 report matters
A school's own website highlights what it wants you to see. The 509 is what the school is required by rule to disclose, in the same format across all 196 schools — admissions, cost, aid, bar passage and employment. That makes it the only place where two schools' numbers can be lined up against each other without guessing at the definitions. Read it before you read anything the admissions office wrote.
The sections, and what to look for
Admissions
Applications, offers of admission, and enrollees. Divide offers by applications for the acceptance rate, and enrollees by offers for the yield. Both matter: a low acceptance rate means little if almost nobody who is admitted chooses to attend. Watch the absolute class size too — a 10-point swing in acceptance rate means very different things at a school that enrols 60 and one that enrols 400.
Tuition and fees
Schools report tuition either as a full-time annual figure or per credit hour. The two are not comparable and should never be mixed in a ranking — a credit-hour price tells you nothing about a three-year total. Living costs (on-campus and off-campus) are reported separately and are part of the real cost of attendance even though they are not billed to the school.
Grant aid and scholarships
The disclosure shows the share of students receiving grants and the median grant among full-time recipients, split into four bands (under half tuition, half to full, full, and over full). Two schools with the same sticker price can differ enormously in what students actually pay. Also read the conditional-scholarship section: it discloses how many students kept their scholarship after the first year and how many lost it.
Bar passage
Reported as first-time passage (students who passed on the first attempt) and ultimate passage (including those who retook). They measure different things: ultimate is the better guide to whether graduates of that school eventually get licensed; first-time is what state bar associations publish and is most useful for comparing schools within the same jurisdiction. The two are not interchangeable.
Employment outcomes
The 509 employment section reports where graduates work — JD-required jobs, JD-advantage jobs, and school-funded positions — and how many sat for the bar. A high employment rate that leans on JD-advantage or short-term roles is not the same as graduates landing lawyer jobs.
Class composition
The 509 also reports the academic credentials of the entering class (LSAT and GPA at the 25th, 50th and 75th percentiles) and, where reported, demographic breakdowns. The LSAT and GPA medians are the clearest signal of how competitive admission is.
What the 509 report does not tell you
- It measures outcomes, not quality. A high bar passage or employment rate partly reflects who the school admits and the difficulty of its state's bar exam. Compare a school against others in the same state or with similar selectivity.
- It is one cohort, not a trend. The numbers describe a single recent graduating class. Large moves at small schools are usually cohort variation, not a change in the programme.
- It does not predict your scholarship. The aid figures are school-wide medians; your own offer depends on your credentials relative to that year's class.
All 196 law schools — 509 reports by state
Each school links to its own 509 disclosure page, laid out section by section. States link to the full list of schools in that state.
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Arizona State University | 165 | $28,390 | View report → |
|---|
| The University of Arizona | 163 | $26,490 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Arkansas | 158 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| University of Arkansas at Little Rock | 153 | $13,770 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| California Western School of Law | 155 | $64,720 | View report → |
|---|
| Chapman University | 163 | $63,126 | View report → |
|---|
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | 163 | $70,360 | View report → |
|---|
| Pepperdine University | 164 | $72,920 | View report → |
|---|
| Santa Clara University | 159 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| Southwestern Law School | 157 | $63,160 | View report → |
|---|
| Stanford University | 173 | $77,454 | View report → |
|---|
| University of California College of the Law, San Francisco | 161 | $53,087 | View report → |
|---|
| University of California-Berkeley | 170 | $62,532 | View report → |
|---|
| University of California-Davis | 165 | $57,460 | View report → |
|---|
| University of California-Irvine | 169 | $59,080 | View report → |
|---|
| University of California-Los Angeles | 171 | $59,084 | View report → |
|---|
| University of San Diego | 163 | $66,950 | View report → |
|---|
| University of San Francisco | 155 | $59,800 | View report → |
|---|
| University of Southern California | 169 | $84,034 | View report → |
|---|
| University of the Pacific (McGeorge) | 156 | $62,678 | View report → |
|---|
| Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) | 152 | $54,840 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Colorado | 164 | $35,992 | View report → |
|---|
| University of Denver | 160 | $63,390 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Widener University Delaware Law School | 152 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| Wilmington University School of Law | 149 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Hawaii | 158 | $23,304 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Idaho | 153 | $27,516 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Maine | 158 | $26,100 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Baltimore | 155 | $33,944 | View report → |
|---|
| University of Maryland | 164 | $37,830 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | 154 | $55,300 | View report → |
|---|
| University of Minnesota | 171 | $51,440 | View report → |
|---|
| University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) | 159 | $50,998 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Mississippi Christian University School of Law (MC Law) | 152 | $37,980 | View report → |
|---|
| The University of Mississippi | 157 | $19,797 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Montana | 156 | $24,582 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Nevada-Las Vegas | 160 | $31,518 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of New Hampshire | 155 | $42,000 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| The University of New Mexico | 157 | $19,474 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Albany Law School | 158 | $63,994 | View report → |
|---|
| Brooklyn Law School | 161 | $75,496 | View report → |
|---|
| Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) | 165 | $74,438 | View report → |
|---|
| City University of New York (CUNY) | 155 | $15,450 | View report → |
|---|
| Columbia University | 173 | $85,368 | View report → |
|---|
| Cornell University | 173 | $84,722 | View report → |
|---|
| Fordham University | 168 | $78,078 | View report → |
|---|
| Hofstra University | 157 | $73,344 | View report → |
|---|
| New York Law School | 157 | $71,052 | View report → |
|---|
| New York University | 172 | $83,952 | View report → |
|---|
| Pace University | 154 | $56,648 | View report → |
|---|
| St. John's University | 164 | $75,170 | View report → |
|---|
| Syracuse University | 158 | $64,650 | View report → |
|---|
| Touro University | 153 | $61,000 | View report → |
|---|
| University at Buffalo | 157 | $26,430 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of North Dakota | 151 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico | 144 | $16,585 | View report → |
|---|
| Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico | 139 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| University of Puerto Rico | 152 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Roger Williams University | 150 | $47,400 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Charleston School of Law | 154 | $48,600 | View report → |
|---|
| University of South Carolina | 162 | $20,322 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of South Dakota | 152 | $12,076 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Brigham Young University | 170 | $15,992 | View report → |
|---|
| The University of Utah | 166 | $34,721 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Vermont Law School | 152 | $55,382 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| West Virginia University | 155 | $26,370 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| Marquette University | 158 | $51,970 | View report → |
|---|
| University of Wisconsin | 167 | $36,526 | View report → |
|---|
| School | Median LSAT | Tuition (annual) | 509 report |
|---|
| University of Wyoming | 156 | n/a | View report → |
|---|
Common questions about the ABA 509 report
What is an ABA 509 report?
The Standard 509 disclosure is the annual report every ABA-accredited law school is required to publish. It covers admissions (applications, offers, enrolment), tuition and fees, grant aid and scholarships, conditional scholarships, bar passage, and employment outcomes. It is the most complete public source of comparable law school data.
Why should I read a school's 509 report instead of its brochure?
Because the 509 is filed to the ABA under a standard format, the same line on two different schools means the same thing — so you can compare them directly. A school's marketing site highlights what it wants you to see; the 509 shows the figures it is required by rule to disclose, including the ones it would rather not emphasise.
Where do the 509 numbers come from?
Each school files its own 509 to the ABA, and the ABA publishes them in the Required Disclosures database. The figures on this site are taken from those filings for the 2025 reporting cycle. Where a school did not report a figure, the page says not reported rather than filling the gap with an estimate.
What does the 509 report not tell me?
It reports inputs and outcomes, not quality. A high bar passage rate can reflect who the school admits and the difficulty of its state's exam as much as the teaching. It also shows one recent cohort, not a trend, and it does not tell you what your own scholarship would be — only the school-wide medians.