South Texas College of Law Houston ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for South Texas College of Law Houston, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

South Texas College of Law Houston's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,770 applicants received 932 offers (33.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Houston, Texas · Report year 2025 · all South Texas College of Law Houston data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,770
Offers of admission932
Acceptance rate33.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool434
Enrolled in the first-year class642
First-year class size437
LSAT 25th percentile153
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.08
Undergraduate GPA median3.41
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.65
Students who submitted LSAT scores418
Students who submitted GRE scores9

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, South Texas College of Law Houston has the highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school33.6%1552,770
Texas Southern University33.1%1502,032
St. Mary's University26.0%1532,906
Texas Tech University25.6%1592,011
Southern Methodist University24.6%1673,038
University of North Texas at Dallas24.2%1531,883
University of Houston23.0%1633,510
Baylor University18.9%1643,658
University of Texas14.0%1726,297
Texas A&M University12.1%1695,240

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$42,960
Non-resident tuition (annual)$42,960
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$1,432
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,000
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$56,958
Tuition guaranteeno

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 8 law schools in Texas that report annual tuition, South Texas College of Law Houston has the 3rd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Southern Methodist University$60,844$17,834
St. Mary's University$44,910$23,878
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school$42,960$56,958
University of Texas$38,236$25,398
Texas A&M University$32,634$29,696
University of Houston$31,326$26,086
Texas Tech University$22,590$20,107
Texas Southern University$19,202$27,784
Baylor University—$25,023
University of North Texas at Dallas—$24,638

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid85.0%
Median grant (per year)$11,000
25th percentile grant$3,399
75th percentile grant$18,000
Half tuition or less76.0%
Above half, below full8.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report median grant, South Texas College of Law Houston has the 8th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Baylor University$33,51897.0%
Texas A&M University$26,04895.0%
Southern Methodist University$26,00094.0%
University of Texas$23,37594.0%
St. Mary's University$12,50081.0%
Texas Tech University$12,00088.0%
University of Houston$11,50074.0%
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school$11,00085.0%
Texas Southern University$7,36351.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas$5,00054.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)280
Kept the award after year one66.4%
Award reduced or eliminated94

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 4 law schools in Texas that report retention rate, South Texas College of Law Houston has the 3rd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Baylor University100.0%140
Southern Methodist University83.3%6
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school66.4%280
Texas Southern University32.5%83
St. Mary's University——
Texas A&M University——
Texas Tech University——
University of Houston——
University of North Texas at Dallas——
University of Texas——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,144
JD students (all years)1,144
First-year JD students642
Non-JD students0
First-year class size437

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report jd students, South Texas College of Law Houston has the highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school1,144642
University of Texas928373
University of Houston838249
St. Mary's University800301
Southern Methodist University672254
Texas Southern University556220
Texas Tech University459167
Baylor University439168
University of North Texas at Dallas431127
Texas A&M University396128

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers284
First-time passers243
First-time passage rate85.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)94.9%

How South Texas College of Law Houston compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report first-time rate, South Texas College of Law Houston has the 6th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Southern Methodist University97.8%96.7%
University of Texas96.4%98.3%
Texas Tech University95.5%94.4%
Texas A&M University95.3%98.3%
Baylor University93.7%97.9%
South Texas College of Law Houston ← this school85.6%94.9%
St. Mary's University84.6%91.8%
University of Houston84.5%93.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas79.7%88.0%
Texas Southern University62.9%84.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class437
White191
Black32
Hispanic144
Asian33
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial17
Race not reported20
Men200
Women236
Another gender1
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the South Texas College of Law Houston 509 report show?

South Texas College of Law Houston's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,770 applicants received 932 offers (33.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.6%.

How does South Texas College of Law Houston compare with other law schools in Texas?

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, South Texas College of Law Houston has the highest.

How many applicants did South Texas College of Law Houston receive, and how many were admitted?

South Texas College of Law Houston received 2,770 completed applications and issued 932 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 33.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at South Texas College of Law Houston?

For South Texas College of Law Houston, in-state tuition is $42,960 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $56,958, the median grant is $11,000 per year, 85% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at South Texas College of Law Houston?

South Texas College of Law Houston had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.6% across 284 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.9%.