St. Mary's University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for St. Mary's University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

St. Mary's University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,906 applicants received 755 offers (26.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $12,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 84.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

San Antonio, Texas · Report year 2025 · all St. Mary's University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,906
Offers of admission755
Acceptance rate26.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool273
Enrolled in the first-year class301
First-year class size282
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median153
LSAT 75th percentile156
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.14
Undergraduate GPA median3.49
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.69
Students who submitted LSAT scores282
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How St. Mary's University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, St. Mary's University has the 3rd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
South Texas College of Law Houston33.6%1552,770
Texas Southern University33.1%1502,032
St. Mary's University ← this school26.0%1532,906
Texas Tech University25.6%1592,011
Southern Methodist University24.6%1673,038
University of North Texas at Dallas24.2%1531,883
University of Houston23.0%1633,510
Baylor University18.9%1643,658
University of Texas14.0%1726,297
Texas A&M University12.1%1695,240

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$44,910
Non-resident tuition (annual)$44,910
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,400
Living on campus$23,878
Living off campus$23,878
Tuition guaranteeno

How St. Mary's University compares within Texas

Among the 8 law schools in Texas that report annual tuition, St. Mary's University has the 2nd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Southern Methodist University$60,844$17,834
St. Mary's University ← this school$44,910$23,878
South Texas College of Law Houston$42,960$56,958
University of Texas$38,236$25,398
Texas A&M University$32,634$29,696
University of Houston$31,326$26,086
Texas Tech University$22,590$20,107
Texas Southern University$19,202$27,784
Baylor University—$25,023
University of North Texas at Dallas—$24,638

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid81.0%
Median grant (per year)$12,500
25th percentile grant$8,500
75th percentile grant$17,605
Half tuition or less72.0%
Above half, below full9.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How St. Mary's University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report median grant, St. Mary's University has the 5th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Baylor University$33,51897.0%
Texas A&M University$26,04895.0%
Southern Methodist University$26,00094.0%
University of Texas$23,37594.0%
St. Mary's University ← this school$12,50081.0%
Texas Tech University$12,00088.0%
University of Houston$11,50074.0%
South Texas College of Law Houston$11,00085.0%
Texas Southern University$7,36351.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas$5,00054.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled987
JD students (all years)800
First-year JD students301
Non-JD students187
First-year class size282

How St. Mary's University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report jd students, St. Mary's University has the 4th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers234
First-time passers198
First-time passage rate84.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)91.8%

How St. Mary's University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report first-time rate, St. Mary's University has the 7th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Southern Methodist University97.8%96.7%
University of Texas96.4%98.3%
Texas Tech University95.5%94.4%
Texas A&M University95.3%98.3%
Baylor University93.7%97.9%
South Texas College of Law Houston85.6%94.9%
St. Mary's University ← this school84.6%91.8%
University of Houston84.5%93.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas79.7%88.0%
Texas Southern University62.9%84.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class282
White82
Black9
Hispanic176
Asian6
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial0
Race not reported7
Men124
Women151
Another gender0
Gender not reported7

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the St. Mary's University 509 report show?

St. Mary's University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,906 applicants received 755 offers (26.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $12,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 84.6%.

How does St. Mary's University compare with other law schools in Texas?

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, St. Mary's University has the 3rd highest.

How many applicants did St. Mary's University receive, and how many were admitted?

St. Mary's University received 2,906 completed applications and issued 755 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 26.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at St. Mary's University?

For St. Mary's University, in-state tuition is $44,910 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,878, the median grant is $12,500 per year, 81% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at St. Mary's University?

St. Mary's University had a first-time bar passage rate of 84.6% across 234 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 91.8%.