University of Texas ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Texas, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Texas's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,297 applicants received 881 offers (14.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 172, the median grant was $23,375 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Austin, Texas · Report year 2025 · all University of Texas data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications6,297
Offers of admission881
Acceptance rate14.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool361
Enrolled in the first-year class373
First-year class size373
LSAT 25th percentile166
LSAT median172
LSAT 75th percentile173
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.75
Undergraduate GPA median3.89
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.96
Students who submitted LSAT scores369
Students who submitted GRE scores4

How University of Texas compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, University of Texas has the 9th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
South Texas College of Law Houston33.6%1552,770
Texas Southern University33.1%1502,032
St. Mary's University26.0%1532,906
Texas Tech University25.6%1592,011
Southern Methodist University24.6%1673,038
University of North Texas at Dallas24.2%1531,883
University of Houston23.0%1633,510
Baylor University18.9%1643,658
University of Texas ← this school14.0%1726,297
Texas A&M University12.1%1695,240

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$38,236
Non-resident tuition (annual)$56,822
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$25,096
Living off campus$25,398
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Texas compares within Texas

Among the 8 law schools in Texas that report annual tuition, University of Texas has the 4th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Southern Methodist University$60,844$17,834
St. Mary's University$44,910$23,878
South Texas College of Law Houston$42,960$56,958
University of Texas ← this school$38,236$25,398
Texas A&M University$32,634$29,696
University of Houston$31,326$26,086
Texas Tech University$22,590$20,107
Texas Southern University$19,202$27,784
Baylor University—$25,023
University of North Texas at Dallas—$24,638

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$23,375
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$38,586
Half tuition or less40.0%
Above half, below full44.0%
Full tuition3.0%
Above full tuition7.0%

How University of Texas compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report median grant, University of Texas has the 4th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Baylor University$33,51897.0%
Texas A&M University$26,04895.0%
Southern Methodist University$26,00094.0%
University of Texas ← this school$23,37594.0%
St. Mary's University$12,50081.0%
Texas Tech University$12,00088.0%
University of Houston$11,50074.0%
South Texas College of Law Houston$11,00085.0%
Texas Southern University$7,36351.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas$5,00054.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled960
JD students (all years)928
First-year JD students373
Non-JD students32
First-year class size373

How University of Texas compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report jd students, University of Texas has the 2nd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers305
First-time passers294
First-time passage rate96.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.3%

How University of Texas compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report first-time rate, University of Texas has the 2nd highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Southern Methodist University97.8%96.7%
University of Texas ← this school96.4%98.3%
Texas Tech University95.5%94.4%
Texas A&M University95.3%98.3%
Baylor University93.7%97.9%
South Texas College of Law Houston85.6%94.9%
St. Mary's University84.6%91.8%
University of Houston84.5%93.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas79.7%88.0%
Texas Southern University62.9%84.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class373
White206
Black14
Hispanic56
Asian61
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial22
Race not reported14
Men193
Women180
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Texas 509 report show?

University of Texas's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,297 applicants received 881 offers (14.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 172, the median grant was $23,375 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.4%.

How does University of Texas compare with other law schools in Texas?

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, University of Texas has the 9th highest.

How many applicants did University of Texas receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Texas received 6,297 completed applications and issued 881 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 14.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Texas?

For University of Texas, in-state tuition is $38,236 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,398, the median grant is $23,375 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Texas?

University of Texas had a first-time bar passage rate of 96.4% across 305 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.3%.