Home / Law school cost / Texas

University of Texas Law School Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Austin, TX · 2025-26 academic year, in-state basis · ABA 509 disclosure

Excludes mandatory fees. this school reports tuition and living costs but not a separate mandatory fee figure, so the total below is understated by an unknown amount.

$63,332
Per academic year
$189,996
3-year total
$5,278
Per month, spread out
#52
of 164 by total cost

Where the money goes each year

Annual tuition (in-state)$38,236
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported in this school’s 509 disclosure — the total below omits it
Living costs$25,096off-campus is $25,398 per year
Per academic year$63,332
3-year total$189,996

If you are not an in-state resident

Annual non-resident tuition is $56,822. A separate non-resident fee figure is not confirmed.

After grants: what the sticker price does not show

The figures below are this school's reported averages across all students. What you would actually pay depends on where your scores land against its admitted class — the University of Texas Law School scholarship calculator shows your position and the grant range that applies to it.

3-year sticker total$189,996
Median grant for full-time students$23,375 per year
Same median applied for 3 years$119,871
Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Grant range (25th–75th percentile)$10,000 – $38,586

The median is not an offer. Aid depends on your circumstances, whether the school is need-aware or merit-aware, and its aid budget in the year you attend. It is also reported for a single cohort, so it is not a guarantee across three years.

Cost against bar passage

Texas reports a first-time bar passage rate of 96.39% across 305 takers in the most recent cohort and an ultimate passage rate of 98.3% for the class of 2024. Dividing the 3-year total by the first-time rate gives $1,971 per passage point.

This ratio compares price and outcome positioning only. Bar passage is measured across all takers at the school, is shaped substantially by how selective the school is, and predicts nothing about any individual student. See the full cost-versus-passage ranking for what this number does and does not mean.

What else this school publishes

Acceptance rate13.99%
Median LSAT / GPA (enrolled)172 / 3.89
First-year class size373

Cost comparison within Texas

School3-year totalPer yearBar passDifference
Texas$189,996$63,33296.39%—
Texas A&M University$186,990$62,33095.28%$3,006
Houston$195,924$65,30884.45%$5,928
St. Mary's University$210,564$70,18884.62%$20,568

Related pages

Source: University of Texas Law School ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosure, 2025 reporting cycle. Tuition, fee and living figures are for the 2025-26 academic year on an in-state basis. The 3-year total multiplies one year of disclosed costs by 3; the 509 does not disclose program length, so extended or joint programs are not distinguished. Costs rise annually. Not financial advice.