← All rankings · Cost methodology
Law Schools Ranked by 3-Year Total Cost of Attendance
164 schools · tuition + mandatory fees + living costs, 2025-26 in-state basis · ABA 509 (152 complete, 12 without a separate fee figure)
This is not a tuition ranking. Published tuition is one of three components schools disclose separately in the ABA Standard 509, and it is frequently the smallest of the three at the expensive end — housing alone exceeds tuition at a number of schools on this list. Totals multiply one year of disclosed costs by 3.
| # | School | State | Tuition | Mandatory fees | Living costs | Per year | 3-year total | Monthly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | South Dakota | SD | $12,076 | $5,037 | $16,452 | $33,565 | $100,695 | $2,797 |
| 2 | Brigham Young University | UT | $15,992 | not reported — total understated | $20,292 | $36,284 | $108,852 | $3,024 |
| 3 | Akron | OH | $22,359 | $4,290 | $11,550 | $38,199 | $114,597 | $3,183 |
| 4 | Georgia | GA | $18,044 | $1,458 | $19,038 | $38,540 | $115,620 | $3,212 |
| 5 | Arkansas at Little Rock | AR | $13,770 | $3,704 | $21,303 | $38,777 | $116,331 | $3,231 |
| 6 | Georgia State University | GA | $16,162 | $1,434 | $22,153 | $39,749 | $119,247 | $3,312 |
| 7 | Northern Kentucky University | KY | $24,388 | $1,004 | $16,212 | $41,604 | $124,812 | $3,467 |
| 8 | Inter American University of Puerto Rico | PR | $16,585 | $1,175 | $25,286off-campus figure | $43,046 | $129,138 | $3,587 |
| 9 | Florida | FL | $19,139 | $2,665 | $22,276 | $44,080 | $132,240 | $3,673 |
| 10 | New Mexico | NM | $19,474 | $1,546 | $23,114 | $44,134 | $132,402 | $3,678 |
| 11 | Hawaii | HI | $23,304 | $772 | $21,026 | $45,102 | $135,306 | $3,759 |
| 12 | Tennessee | TN | $16,696 | $3,866 | $26,216 | $46,778 | $140,334 | $3,898 |
| 13 | Northern Illinois University | IL | $23,667 | $400 | $22,742 | $46,809 | $140,427 | $3,901 |
| 14 | City University of New York (CUNY) | NY | $15,450 | $563 | $30,805off-campus figure | $46,818 | $140,454 | $3,902 |
| 15 | Mississippi | MS | $19,797 | $160 | $27,192 | $47,149 | $141,447 | $3,929 |
| 16 | District of Columbia | DC | $12,438 | $1,000 | $34,035 | $47,473 | $142,419 | $3,956 |
| 17 | North Carolina Central University | NC | $13,444 | $5,746 | $28,292 | $47,482 | $142,446 | $3,957 |
| 18 | Texas Tech University | TX | $22,590 | $4,942 | $20,107 | $47,639 | $142,917 | $3,970 |
| 19 | Idaho | ID | $27,516 | not reported — total understated | $20,136 | $47,652 | $142,956 | $3,971 |
| 20 | Alabama | AL | $24,980 | $899 | $22,620 | $48,499 | $145,497 | $4,042 |
| 21 | Texas Southern University | TX | $19,202 | $1,836 | $27,784off-campus figure | $48,822 | $146,466 | $4,069 |
| 22 | South Carolina | SC | $20,322 | $3,700 | $25,392 | $49,414 | $148,242 | $4,118 |
| 23 | Memphis | TN | $18,634 | $2,594 | $28,729 | $49,957 | $149,871 | $4,163 |
| 24 | Louisville | KY | $27,000 | $1,396 | $22,263 | $50,659 | $151,977 | $4,222 |
| 25 | Louisiana State University | LA | $19,750 | $3,915 | $27,034 | $50,699 | $152,097 | $4,225 |
| 26 | Kentucky | KY | $25,685 | $1,616 | $23,435 | $50,736 | $152,208 | $4,228 |
| 27 | Cincinnati | OH | $24,010 | $800 | $25,956 | $50,766 | $152,298 | $4,231 |
| 28 | Southern University | LA | $11,338 | $7,494 | $32,262 | $51,094 | $153,282 | $4,258 |
| 29 | Toledo | OH | $26,446 | $3,152 | $22,178 | $51,776 | $155,328 | $4,315 |
| 30 | Arizona | AZ | $26,490 | $122 | $25,600 | $52,212 | $156,636 | $4,351 |
| 31 | Oklahoma | OK | $18,379 | $6,274 | $28,051 | $52,704 | $158,112 | $4,392 |
| 32 | Cleveland State University | OH | $29,766 | $1,800 | $21,870 | $53,436 | $160,308 | $4,453 |
| 33 | West Virginia University | WV | $26,370 | $1,404 | $26,466 | $54,240 | $162,720 | $4,520 |
| 34 | University at Buffalo | NY | $26,430 | $3,320 | $24,814 | $54,564 | $163,692 | $4,547 |
| 35 | Nevada-Las Vegas | NV | $31,518 | $1,610 | $22,171 | $55,299 | $165,897 | $4,608 |
| 36 | Massachusetts Dartmouth | MA | $31,766 | $1,690 | $22,292 | $55,748 | $167,244 | $4,646 |
| 37 | Ohio Northern University | OH | $33,900 | not reported — total understated | $23,154 | $57,054 | $171,162 | $4,755 |
| 38 | North Carolina | NC | $28,082 | $3,480 | $25,678 | $57,240 | $171,720 | $4,770 |
| 39 | Rutgers University | NJ | $31,577 | $4,030 | $21,676 | $57,283 | $171,849 | $4,774 |
| 40 | Iowa | IA | $30,944 | $2,545 | $23,920 | $57,409 | $172,227 | $4,784 |
| 41 | Connecticut | CT | $30,354 | $1,246 | $25,860off-campus figure | $57,460 | $172,380 | $4,788 |
| 42 | Maine | ME | $26,100 | $4,060 | $28,418 | $58,578 | $175,734 | $4,882 |
| 43 | Illinois | IL | $36,500 | $3,404 | $20,620 | $60,524 | $181,572 | $5,044 |
| 44 | The Ohio State University | OH | $35,650 | $1,613 | $23,692 | $60,955 | $182,865 | $5,080 |
| 45 | Baltimore | MD | $33,944 | $2,474 | $25,024 | $61,442 | $184,326 | $5,120 |
| 46 | Temple University | PA | $32,588 | $1,549 | $27,812 | $61,949 | $185,847 | $5,162 |
| 47 | Pittsburgh | PA | $39,936 | $1,697 | $20,346 | $61,979 | $185,937 | $5,165 |
| 48 | Texas A&M University | TX | $32,634 | not reported — total understated | $29,696off-campus figure | $62,330 | $186,990 | $5,194 |
| 49 | Montana | MT | $24,582 | $2,930 | $35,371 | $62,883 | $188,649 | $5,240 |
| 50 | Arizona State University | AZ | $28,390 | $1,443 | $33,090 | $62,923 | $188,769 | $5,244 |
| 51 | Wisconsin | WI | $36,526 | $1,660 | $25,056 | $63,242 | $189,726 | $5,270 |
| 52 | Texas | TX | $38,236 | not reported — total understated | $25,096 | $63,332 | $189,996 | $5,278 |
| 53 | Tulsa | OK | $30,840 | $1,460 | $31,536 | $63,836 | $191,508 | $5,320 |
| 54 | Indiana University-Bloomington | IN | $36,950 | $1,522 | $25,822 | $64,294 | $192,882 | $5,358 |
| 55 | Colorado | CO | $35,992 | $1,333 | $27,320 | $64,645 | $193,935 | $5,387 |
| 56 | Houston | TX | $31,326 | $7,896 | $26,086 | $65,308 | $195,924 | $5,442 |
| 57 | Mississippi Christian University School of Law (MC Law) | MS | $37,980 | $1,662 | $26,100off-campus figure | $65,742 | $197,226 | $5,479 |
| 58 | George Mason University | VA | $24,864 | $2,968 | $38,342 | $66,174 | $198,522 | $5,515 |
| 59 | Capital University Law School | OH | $45,066 | $390 | $21,112 | $66,568 | $199,704 | $5,547 |
| 60 | Utah | UT | $34,721 | $1,108 | $31,520 | $67,349 | $202,047 | $5,612 |
| 61 | Wayne State University | MI | $38,861 | $3,733 | $25,132 | $67,726 | $203,178 | $5,644 |
| 62 | Maryland | MD | $37,830 | $2,179 | $27,982 | $67,991 | $203,973 | $5,666 |
| 63 | Mercer University | GA | $44,782 | $300 | $23,289 | $68,371 | $205,113 | $5,698 |
| 64 | New Hampshire | NH | $42,000 | $348 | $27,094 | $69,442 | $208,326 | $5,787 |
| 65 | St. Mary's University | TX | $44,910 | $1,400 | $23,878 | $70,188 | $210,564 | $5,849 |
| 66 | Oregon | OR | $47,240 | $1,372 | $22,020 | $70,632 | $211,896 | $5,886 |
| 67 | Michigan State University | MI | $43,480 | $388 | $27,152 | $71,020 | $213,060 | $5,918 |
| 68 | William & Mary Law School | VA | $38,734 | $7,368 | $25,184 | $71,286 | $213,858 | $5,941 |
| 69 | Drake University | IA | $50,920 | $470 | $20,328 | $71,718 | $215,154 | $5,977 |
| 70 | Faulkner University | AL | $39,900 | $500 | $32,600 | $73,000 | $219,000 | $6,083 |
| 71 | Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | MN | $55,300 | $1,000 | $16,848off-campus figure | $73,148 | $219,444 | $6,096 |
| 72 | Minnesota | MN | $51,440 | $2,678 | $19,600 | $73,718 | $221,154 | $6,143 |
| 73 | Western New England University | MA | $50,320 | $2,700 | $20,731 | $73,751 | $221,253 | $6,146 |
| 74 | Liberty University | VA | $43,150 | $2,198 | $28,768 | $74,116 | $222,348 | $6,176 |
| 75 | Marquette University | WI | $51,970 | not reported — total understated | $22,146 | $74,116 | $222,348 | $6,176 |
| 76 | Roger Williams University | RI | $47,400 | $1,690 | $25,716 | $74,806 | $224,418 | $6,234 |
| 77 | Barry University | FL | $42,000 | $1,150 | $32,008off-campus figure | $75,158 | $225,474 | $6,263 |
| 78 | Gonzaga University | WA | $57,962 | $825 | $17,105off-campus figure | $75,892 | $227,676 | $6,324 |
| 79 | Washington | WA | $45,927 | $1,146 | $29,082 | $76,155 | $228,465 | $6,346 |
| 80 | Elon University | NC | $45,333 | not reported — total understated | $31,000 | $76,333 | $228,999 | $6,361 |
| 81 | Charleston School of Law | SC | $48,600 | $1,084 | $27,752off-campus figure | $77,436 | $232,308 | $6,453 |
| 82 | Samford University | AL | $46,334 | $1,000 | $31,226off-campus figure | $78,560 | $235,680 | $6,547 |
| 83 | St. Thomas (Minnesota) | MN | $50,998 | $634 | $27,408 | $79,040 | $237,120 | $6,587 |
| 84 | Willamette University | OR | $56,600 | $80 | $22,828off-campus figure | $79,508 | $238,524 | $6,626 |
| 85 | Howard University | DC | $39,780 | $1,632 | $38,251 | $79,663 | $238,989 | $6,639 |
| 86 | Vermont Law School | VT | $55,382 | $1,075 | $23,952off-campus figure | $80,409 | $241,227 | $6,701 |
| 87 | Washington and Lee University | VA | $57,450 | $2,490 | $21,890off-campus figure | $81,830 | $245,490 | $6,819 |
| 88 | Saint Louis University | MO | $55,260 | $930 | $26,112 | $82,302 | $246,906 | $6,859 |
| 89 | St. Thomas University (Florida) | FL | $44,730 | $2,848 | $34,772 | $82,350 | $247,050 | $6,863 |
| 90 | Appalachian School of Law | VA | $41,000 | not reported — total understated | $41,800off-campus figure | $82,800 | $248,400 | $6,900 |
| 91 | Richmond | VA | $57,700 | not reported — total understated | $26,510 | $84,210 | $252,630 | $7,018 |
| 92 | Stetson University | FL | $56,521 | $496 | $27,414 | $84,431 | $253,293 | $7,036 |
| 93 | Duquesne University | PA | $58,898 | $1,220 | $24,318 | $84,436 | $253,308 | $7,036 |
| 94 | DePaul University | IL | $55,328 | $300 | $29,110 | $84,738 | $254,214 | $7,062 |
| 95 | Ave Maria School of Law | FL | $49,500 | $2,850 | $32,765 | $85,115 | $255,345 | $7,093 |
| 96 | Pace University | NY | $56,648 | $1,108 | $27,826 | $85,582 | $256,746 | $7,132 |
| 97 | Albany Law School | NY | $63,994 | $240 | $21,844off-campus figure | $86,078 | $258,234 | $7,173 |
| 98 | Loyola University-New Orleans | LA | $55,024 | $1,870 | $29,205 | $86,099 | $258,297 | $7,175 |
| 99 | Villanova University | PA | $59,800 | $950 | $25,492off-campus figure | $86,242 | $258,726 | $7,187 |
| 100 | Drexel University | PA | $57,000 | $1,850 | $28,022 | $86,872 | $260,616 | $7,239 |
| 101 | Quinnipiac University | CT | $56,610 | $1,150 | $29,274off-campus figure | $87,034 | $261,102 | $7,253 |
| 102 | California-Irvine | CA | $59,080 | $2,208 | $25,786 | $87,074 | $261,222 | $7,256 |
| 103 | Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) | CA | $54,840 | $808 | $32,140off-campus figure | $87,788 | $263,364 | $7,316 |
| 104 | Campbell University | NC | $51,840 | $930 | $35,281off-campus figure | $88,051 | $264,153 | $7,338 |
| 105 | Northeastern University | MA | $65,652 | $198 | $22,900 | $88,750 | $266,250 | $7,396 |
| 106 | California College of the Law, San Francisco | CA | $53,087 | $1,242 | $34,466 | $88,795 | $266,385 | $7,400 |
| 107 | Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | GA | $52,536 | $1,050 | $35,426off-campus figure | $89,012 | $267,036 | $7,418 |
| 108 | Penn State Dickinson Law | PA | $60,048 | $431 | $28,902 | $89,381 | $268,143 | $7,448 |
| 109 | Belmont University | TN | $55,500 | $2,205 | $32,026 | $89,731 | $269,193 | $7,478 |
| 110 | Wake Forest University | NC | $57,920 | $1,224 | $30,639 | $89,783 | $269,349 | $7,482 |
| 111 | Lewis & Clark Law School | OR | $61,434 | $50 | $28,370 | $89,854 | $269,562 | $7,488 |
| 112 | Catholic University of America, The | DC | $61,580 | $1,700 | $27,168 | $90,448 | $271,344 | $7,537 |
| 113 | Denver | CO | $63,390 | $422 | $27,260 | $91,072 | $273,216 | $7,589 |
| 114 | Nova Southeastern University | FL | $49,350 | $1,360 | $40,413off-campus figure | $91,123 | $273,369 | $7,594 |
| 115 | Syracuse University | NY | $64,650 | $2,290 | $24,472 | $91,412 | $274,236 | $7,618 |
| 116 | Southern Methodist University | TX | $60,844 | $7,842 | $23,368 | $92,054 | $276,162 | $7,671 |
| 117 | Loyola University-Chicago | IL | $58,670 | $996 | $32,658 | $92,324 | $276,972 | $7,694 |
| 118 | San Francisco | CA | $59,800 | $190 | $32,774 | $92,764 | $278,292 | $7,730 |
| 119 | Boston University | MA | $69,870 | $1,512 | $21,532 | $92,914 | $278,742 | $7,743 |
| 120 | California-Davis | CA | $57,460 | $2,410 | $33,048 | $92,918 | $278,754 | $7,743 |
| 121 | Chapman University | CA | $63,126 | $75 | $32,956 | $96,157 | $288,471 | $8,013 |
| 122 | New York Law School | NY | $71,052 | $2,472 | $23,759off-campus figure | $97,283 | $291,849 | $8,107 |
| 123 | Case Western Reserve University | OH | $64,600 | $952 | $32,008 | $97,560 | $292,680 | $8,130 |
| 124 | American University | DC | $66,990 | $2,182 | $29,094 | $98,266 | $294,798 | $8,189 |
| 125 | the Pacific (McGeorge) | CA | $62,678 | $640 | $35,081 | $98,399 | $295,197 | $8,200 |
| 126 | Boston College | MA | $72,380 | $375 | $25,726off-campus figure | $98,481 | $295,443 | $8,207 |
| 127 | Suffolk University | MA | $62,610 | $1,436 | $34,706 | $98,752 | $296,256 | $8,229 |
| 128 | California Western School of Law | CA | $64,720 | $150 | $34,342off-campus figure | $99,212 | $297,636 | $8,268 |
| 129 | Southwestern Law School | CA | $63,160 | not reported — total understated | $36,413 | $99,573 | $298,719 | $8,298 |
| 130 | Notre Dame | IN | $73,430 | $520 | $25,990 | $99,940 | $299,820 | $8,328 |
| 131 | Seton Hall University | NJ | $69,660 | $1,890 | $28,548off-campus figure | $100,098 | $300,294 | $8,342 |
| 132 | George Washington University, The | DC | $75,420 | not reported — total understated | $25,240off-campus figure | $100,660 | $301,980 | $8,388 |
| 133 | California-Los Angeles | CA | $59,084 | $2,778 | $40,046 | $101,908 | $305,724 | $8,492 |
| 134 | South Texas College of Law Houston | TX | $42,960 | $2,000 | $56,958off-campus figure | $101,918 | $305,754 | $8,493 |
| 135 | Washington University (St. Louis) | MO | $72,792 | $892 | $28,603off-campus figure | $102,287 | $306,861 | $8,524 |
| 136 | Michigan | MI | $76,108 | $572 | $26,886 | $103,566 | $310,698 | $8,631 |
| 137 | Tulane University | LA | $69,578 | $5,178 | $29,670 | $104,426 | $313,278 | $8,702 |
| 138 | Virginia | VA | $74,078 | $3,822 | $28,770 | $106,670 | $320,010 | $8,889 |
| 139 | Hofstra University | NY | $73,344 | $1,516 | $32,035 | $106,895 | $320,685 | $8,908 |
| 140 | San Diego | CA | $66,950 | $801 | $39,197 | $106,948 | $320,844 | $8,912 |
| 141 | Yale University | CT | $76,636 | $2,325 | $28,202 | $107,163 | $321,489 | $8,930 |
| 142 | California-Berkeley | CA | $62,532 | $3,842 | $40,858 | $107,232 | $321,696 | $8,936 |
| 143 | Pepperdine University | CA | $72,920 | $630 | $33,700 | $107,250 | $321,750 | $8,938 |
| 144 | St. John's University | NY | $75,170 | $1,572 | $30,826 | $107,568 | $322,704 | $8,964 |
| 145 | Duke University | NC | $80,100 | $1,729 | $26,116off-campus figure | $107,945 | $323,835 | $8,995 |
| 146 | Northwestern University | IL | $79,772 | $861 | $28,220 | $108,853 | $326,559 | $9,071 |
| 147 | Emory University | GA | $69,510 | $962 | $38,990 | $109,462 | $328,386 | $9,122 |
| 148 | Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) | NY | $74,438 | $2,020 | $34,114 | $110,572 | $331,716 | $9,214 |
| 149 | New England Law/Boston | MA | $62,896 | $320 | $48,437off-campus figure | $111,653 | $334,959 | $9,304 |
| 150 | Miami | FL | $66,720 | $2,498 | $43,924off-campus figure | $113,142 | $339,426 | $9,429 |
| 151 | Brooklyn Law School | NY | $75,496 | $1,450 | $36,528 | $113,474 | $340,422 | $9,456 |
| 152 | Vanderbilt University | TN | $76,440 | $2,359 | $34,934 | $113,733 | $341,199 | $9,478 |
| 153 | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | CA | $70,360 | $1,026 | $43,030off-campus figure | $114,416 | $343,248 | $9,535 |
| 154 | Touro University | NY | $61,000 | $1,150 | $52,602off-campus figure | $114,752 | $344,256 | $9,563 |
| 155 | Pennsylvania | PA | $78,348 | $6,144 | $31,640 | $116,132 | $348,396 | $9,678 |
| 156 | Fordham University | NY | $78,078 | $1,170 | $37,354 | $116,602 | $349,806 | $9,717 |
| 157 | Harvard University | MA | $77,100 | $1,592 | $38,690 | $117,382 | $352,146 | $9,782 |
| 158 | Georgetown University | DC | $83,576 | not reported — total understated | $33,905 | $117,481 | $352,443 | $9,790 |
| 159 | Southern California | CA | $84,034 | $1,914 | $31,686 | $117,634 | $352,902 | $9,803 |
| 160 | Cornell University | NY | $84,722 | $690 | $32,952 | $118,364 | $355,092 | $9,864 |
| 161 | Columbia University | NY | $85,368 | $3,022 | $31,554 | $119,944 | $359,832 | $9,995 |
| 162 | Chicago | IL | $83,316 | $1,590 | $35,418 | $120,324 | $360,972 | $10,027 |
| 163 | New York University | NY | $83,952 | $3,262 | $36,094 | $123,308 | $369,924 | $10,276 |
| 164 | Stanford University | CA | $77,454 | $2,253 | $49,719 | $129,426 | $388,278 | $10,786 |
Excluded from this ranking
32 schools report tuition per credit hour rather than an annual total. Converting them would require assuming credits per year, so no annual figure is estimated and they are not ranked.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle. In-state tuition basis.12 schools in the table publish no separate mandatory fee figure; their totals omit it. Costs rise annually — 2025-26 figures will not hold for a future class. Not financial advice.