Home / Law school cost
Law School Cost of Attendance (3-Year Totals)
Tuition, mandatory fees and living costs added together — from ABA Standard 509 disclosures, 2025 cycle.164 of 196 schools have a computable 3-year total (152 complete, 12 without a separate fee figure).
Why tuition alone understates the bill
Most law school cost pages rank by published tuition. That is one of three components schools disclose separately in the ABA Standard 509, and at the expensive end it is not even the largest one.
| School | Tuition | Mandatory fees | Living costs | Per year | 3-year total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stanford University | $77,454 | $2,253 | $49,719 | $129,426 | $388,278 |
| New York University | $83,952 | $3,262 | $36,094 | $123,308 | $369,924 |
| Yale University | $76,636 | $2,325 | $28,202 | $107,163 | $321,489 |
| South Dakota | $12,076 | $5,037 | $16,452 | $33,565 | $100,695 |
At Stanford, housing alone ($49,719) exceeds the entire tuition of most schools on this site. At NYU, tuition is $83,952 while a year of living costs $36,094 — a comparison that tuition-only rankings erase entirely.
How the totals are calculated
Each year’s total is tuition + mandatory full-time fees + disclosed living costs. That figure is multiplied by 3 for a standard JD. Four disclosures combine to produce it, and schools fall into four groups depending on which they publish:
| Reporting pattern | Schools | In the ranking? | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition + fees + living | 152 | Yes | All three components published; the total is the sum of disclosed figures |
| Tuition + living, no fee figure | 12 | Yes, labelled | Total omits mandatory fees, so it is understated by an amount this dataset cannot quantify |
| Per credit hour only | 32 | No | An annual total would require assuming credits per year. Listed separately below instead |
| No living cost figure | 0 | No | Cost of attendance cannot be computed without it |
32 of 196 schools (16%) report tuition per credit hour rather than as an annual total. Converting them would mean guessing how many credits a student registers for, which would shift their rank for a reason that has nothing to do with what the school charges. They are listed with their per-credit rates at the bottom of this page and are not ranked.
3-year cost by state
Across the 164 of 196 law schools in this group that publish an annual tuition figure, a 3-year JD runs $100,695 at the low end and $388,278 at the high end, against a median of $237,120.
12 of those 164 do not publish a separate mandatory fee figure. Their totals above cover tuition and living costs only, so they are understated by an amount this dataset cannot quantify — they are ranked alongside the complete figures for continuity, and each row is labelled.
32 schools report tuition per credit hour rather than an annual total. No annual figure is estimated for them, so they are listed separately below and excluded from the ranking.
105 of these schools report the same figure for on-campus and off-campus living costs, so their disclosure does not distinguish between living in university housing and living off campus.
64 of 196 schools charge out-of-state students more than in-state students. The premium ranges from $100 to $31,042 per year.
Median 3-year total within each state, in-state tuition basis. The national median across states is $221,154.
| State | Schools | Median 3-year total | vs. state median |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Dakota | 1 | $100,695 | below |
| Arkansas | 1 | $116,331 | below |
| Puerto Rico | 1 | $129,138 | below |
| New Mexico | 1 | $132,402 | below |
| Hawaii | 1 | $135,306 | below |
| Idaho | 1 | $142,956 | below |
| Kentucky | 3 | $151,977 | below |
| West Virginia | 1 | $162,720 | below |
| Nevada | 1 | $165,897 | below |
| Ohio | 8 | $171,162 | below |
| Maine | 1 | $175,734 | below |
| Montana | 1 | $188,649 | below |
| Arizona | 2 | $188,769 | below |
| Oklahoma | 2 | $191,508 | below |
| Texas | 8 | $195,924 | below |
| Mississippi | 2 | $197,226 | below |
| Utah | 2 | $202,047 | below |
| Maryland | 2 | $203,973 | below |
| Georgia | 5 | $205,113 | below |
| New Hampshire | 1 | $208,326 | below |
| Michigan | 3 | $213,060 | below |
| Iowa | 2 | $215,154 | below |
| Alabama | 3 | $219,000 | below |
| Minnesota | 3 | $221,154 | below |
| Wisconsin | 2 | $222,348 | above |
| Rhode Island | 1 | $224,418 | above |
| Washington | 2 | $228,465 | above |
| South Carolina | 2 | $232,308 | above |
| Oregon | 3 | $238,524 | above |
| Vermont | 1 | $241,227 | above |
| Virginia | 7 | $245,490 | above |
| Florida | 7 | $253,293 | above |
| Louisiana | 4 | $258,297 | above |
| Pennsylvania | 7 | $258,726 | above |
| Connecticut | 3 | $261,102 | above |
| North Carolina | 6 | $264,153 | above |
| Tennessee | 4 | $269,193 | above |
| Colorado | 2 | $273,216 | above |
| Illinois | 6 | $276,972 | above |
| District of Columbia | 6 | $294,798 | above |
| Massachusetts | 8 | $295,443 | above |
| California | 16 | $298,719 | above |
| Indiana | 2 | $299,820 | above |
| New Jersey | 2 | $300,294 | above |
| Missouri | 2 | $306,861 | above |
| New York | 15 | $322,704 | above |
What the disclosures do and do not tell you
Every figure above comes from a field the school published in its 509 disclosure. Four things that data cannot answer, stated plainly so the numbers are read correctly.
Limits of this data
- Program length is not disclosed. The 3-year totals multiply one year of costs by 3, which is the standard JD length. Extended and joint programs are not distinguished, so a school running a four-year track would be understated here.
- Grant aid is not deducted from the ranking. Medians and totals are sticker figures. Aid depends on your circumstances and on the school’s policy, and the net figures further down are illustrative, not offers.
- Living costs are annual budgets, not bills. They cover room, board and ordinary expenses. Books, a laptop, travel home and legal-clothing costs over three years are not in any of these figures.
- All figures are one year deep. Published cost is never guaranteed to rise by the same amount each year, so a school’s 3-year total will not simply be three times the price quoted in your offer letter.
Every field used here, and why some of them are deliberately excluded from totals, is documented in our data guide.
Net cost after grant aid
Sticker price is what everyone sees; what a family actually pays depends on grants. Subtracting each school’s median full-time grant from its 3-year total shows how much of the gap survives aid — and how much of it does not.
A median grant is not an offer. Actual awards depend on your circumstances, the school’s need-aware or merit-aware policy, and how much aid it has that year. Grants in the 509 are also reported for a single cohort, not guaranteed across your three years.
| # | School | 3-year total | Median grant / yr | Net 3-year | Reduction |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Georgia | $115,620 | $19,460 | $57,240 | 50% |
| 2 | Northern Kentucky University | $124,812 | $18,000 | $70,812 | 43% |
| 3 | Florida | $132,240 | $19,000 | $75,240 | 43% |
| 4 | Arizona | $156,636 | $25,235 | $80,931 | 48% |
| 5 | Alabama | $145,497 | $21,500 | $80,997 | 44% |
| 6 | Iowa | $172,227 | $30,043 | $82,098 | 52% |
| 7 | Wisconsin | $189,726 | $35,000 | $84,726 | 55% |
| 8 | Michigan State University | $213,060 | $42,682 | $85,014 | 60% |
| 9 | Illinois | $181,572 | $32,000 | $85,572 | 53% |
| 10 | South Dakota | $100,695 | $5,000 | $85,695 | 15% |
| 11 | Akron | $114,597 | $9,000 | $87,597 | 24% |
| 12 | Temple University | $185,847 | $31,334 | $91,845 | 51% |
Cost per bar-passage point
Dividing the 3-year total by the first-time bar passage rate gives a single number that puts price and outcome on the same axis. Read it as a positioning tool, not a verdict: schools with lower selectivity pass fewer of their own students, which mechanically lowers this ratio.
| # | School | 3-year total | Bar pass (1st time) | Cost per point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brigham Young University | $108,852 | 96.85% | $1,124 |
| 2 | Georgia | $115,620 | 88.37% | $1,308 |
| 3 | Georgia State University | $119,247 | 87.43% | $1,364 |
| 4 | South Dakota | $100,695 | 69.23% | $1,454 |
| 5 | Florida | $132,240 | 90.2% | $1,466 |
| 6 | Arkansas at Little Rock | $116,331 | 78.91% | $1,474 |
| 7 | Texas Tech University | $142,917 | 95.52% | $1,496 |
| 8 | Alabama | $145,497 | 95.24% | $1,528 |
| 9 | Akron | $114,597 | 70.16% | $1,633 |
| 10 | Northern Kentucky University | $124,812 | 76.19% | $1,638 |
| 11 | Tennessee | $140,334 | 85.6% | $1,639 |
| 12 | South Carolina | $148,242 | 90.05% | $1,646 |
| 13 | New Mexico | $132,402 | 77% | $1,720 |
| 14 | Oklahoma | $158,112 | 91.67% | $1,725 |
| 15 | Hawaii | $135,306 | 77.08% | $1,755 |
Reading these numbers honestly
- Bar passage rate is measured across all test takers at the school, not only its graduates. It does not predict any individual outcome and is not a quality score.
- 105 of 196 schools publish the same figure for on-campus and off-campus living. Their disclosure does not distinguish the two, so this page uses whichever value is present and cannot offer a housing choice for them.
- 34 ranked schools publish no on-campus figure, so the off-campus value is used and labelled on the school’s own page.
- Costs rise every year. These are 2025-26 figures; your three years will not cost this amount.
- Non-resident tuition is separate. 64schools charge out-of-state and international students more; see each school’s cost page for that figure.
Every school’s cost breakdown
164 schools with a computable 3-year total, cheapest first.
| # | School | State | Tuition | Fees | Living | Per year | 3-year total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | South Dakota | SD | $12,076 | $5,037 | $16,452 | $33,565 | $100,695 |
| 2 | Brigham Young University | UT | $15,992 | not reported | $20,292 | $36,284 | $108,852 |
| 3 | Akron | OH | $22,359 | $4,290 | $11,550 | $38,199 | $114,597 |
| 4 | Georgia | GA | $18,044 | $1,458 | $19,038 | $38,540 | $115,620 |
| 5 | Arkansas at Little Rock | AR | $13,770 | $3,704 | $21,303 | $38,777 | $116,331 |
| 6 | Georgia State University | GA | $16,162 | $1,434 | $22,153 | $39,749 | $119,247 |
| 7 | Northern Kentucky University | KY | $24,388 | $1,004 | $16,212 | $41,604 | $124,812 |
| 8 | Inter American University of Puerto Rico | PR | $16,585 | $1,175 | $25,286 | $43,046 | $129,138 |
| 9 | Florida | FL | $19,139 | $2,665 | $22,276 | $44,080 | $132,240 |
| 10 | New Mexico | NM | $19,474 | $1,546 | $23,114 | $44,134 | $132,402 |
| 11 | Hawaii | HI | $23,304 | $772 | $21,026 | $45,102 | $135,306 |
| 12 | Tennessee | TN | $16,696 | $3,866 | $26,216 | $46,778 | $140,334 |
| 13 | Northern Illinois University | IL | $23,667 | $400 | $22,742 | $46,809 | $140,427 |
| 14 | City University of New York (CUNY) | NY | $15,450 | $563 | $30,805 | $46,818 | $140,454 |
| 15 | Mississippi | MS | $19,797 | $160 | $27,192 | $47,149 | $141,447 |
| 16 | District of Columbia | DC | $12,438 | $1,000 | $34,035 | $47,473 | $142,419 |
| 17 | North Carolina Central University | NC | $13,444 | $5,746 | $28,292 | $47,482 | $142,446 |
| 18 | Texas Tech University | TX | $22,590 | $4,942 | $20,107 | $47,639 | $142,917 |
| 19 | Idaho | ID | $27,516 | not reported | $20,136 | $47,652 | $142,956 |
| 20 | Alabama | AL | $24,980 | $899 | $22,620 | $48,499 | $145,497 |
| 21 | Texas Southern University | TX | $19,202 | $1,836 | $27,784 | $48,822 | $146,466 |
| 22 | South Carolina | SC | $20,322 | $3,700 | $25,392 | $49,414 | $148,242 |
| 23 | Memphis | TN | $18,634 | $2,594 | $28,729 | $49,957 | $149,871 |
| 24 | Louisville | KY | $27,000 | $1,396 | $22,263 | $50,659 | $151,977 |
| 25 | Louisiana State University | LA | $19,750 | $3,915 | $27,034 | $50,699 | $152,097 |
| 26 | Kentucky | KY | $25,685 | $1,616 | $23,435 | $50,736 | $152,208 |
| 27 | Cincinnati | OH | $24,010 | $800 | $25,956 | $50,766 | $152,298 |
| 28 | Southern University | LA | $11,338 | $7,494 | $32,262 | $51,094 | $153,282 |
| 29 | Toledo | OH | $26,446 | $3,152 | $22,178 | $51,776 | $155,328 |
| 30 | Arizona | AZ | $26,490 | $122 | $25,600 | $52,212 | $156,636 |
| 31 | Oklahoma | OK | $18,379 | $6,274 | $28,051 | $52,704 | $158,112 |
| 32 | Cleveland State University | OH | $29,766 | $1,800 | $21,870 | $53,436 | $160,308 |
| 33 | West Virginia University | WV | $26,370 | $1,404 | $26,466 | $54,240 | $162,720 |
| 34 | University at Buffalo | NY | $26,430 | $3,320 | $24,814 | $54,564 | $163,692 |
| 35 | Nevada-Las Vegas | NV | $31,518 | $1,610 | $22,171 | $55,299 | $165,897 |
| 36 | Massachusetts Dartmouth | MA | $31,766 | $1,690 | $22,292 | $55,748 | $167,244 |
| 37 | Ohio Northern University | OH | $33,900 | not reported | $23,154 | $57,054 | $171,162 |
| 38 | North Carolina | NC | $28,082 | $3,480 | $25,678 | $57,240 | $171,720 |
| 39 | Rutgers University | NJ | $31,577 | $4,030 | $21,676 | $57,283 | $171,849 |
| 40 | Iowa | IA | $30,944 | $2,545 | $23,920 | $57,409 | $172,227 |
| 41 | Connecticut | CT | $30,354 | $1,246 | $25,860 | $57,460 | $172,380 |
| 42 | Maine | ME | $26,100 | $4,060 | $28,418 | $58,578 | $175,734 |
| 43 | Illinois | IL | $36,500 | $3,404 | $20,620 | $60,524 | $181,572 |
| 44 | The Ohio State University | OH | $35,650 | $1,613 | $23,692 | $60,955 | $182,865 |
| 45 | Baltimore | MD | $33,944 | $2,474 | $25,024 | $61,442 | $184,326 |
| 46 | Temple University | PA | $32,588 | $1,549 | $27,812 | $61,949 | $185,847 |
| 47 | Pittsburgh | PA | $39,936 | $1,697 | $20,346 | $61,979 | $185,937 |
| 48 | Texas A&M University | TX | $32,634 | not reported | $29,696 | $62,330 | $186,990 |
| 49 | Montana | MT | $24,582 | $2,930 | $35,371 | $62,883 | $188,649 |
| 50 | Arizona State University | AZ | $28,390 | $1,443 | $33,090 | $62,923 | $188,769 |
| 51 | Wisconsin | WI | $36,526 | $1,660 | $25,056 | $63,242 | $189,726 |
| 52 | Texas | TX | $38,236 | not reported | $25,096 | $63,332 | $189,996 |
| 53 | Tulsa | OK | $30,840 | $1,460 | $31,536 | $63,836 | $191,508 |
| 54 | Indiana University-Bloomington | IN | $36,950 | $1,522 | $25,822 | $64,294 | $192,882 |
| 55 | Colorado | CO | $35,992 | $1,333 | $27,320 | $64,645 | $193,935 |
| 56 | Houston | TX | $31,326 | $7,896 | $26,086 | $65,308 | $195,924 |
| 57 | Mississippi Christian University School of Law (MC Law) | MS | $37,980 | $1,662 | $26,100 | $65,742 | $197,226 |
| 58 | George Mason University | VA | $24,864 | $2,968 | $38,342 | $66,174 | $198,522 |
| 59 | Capital University Law School | OH | $45,066 | $390 | $21,112 | $66,568 | $199,704 |
| 60 | Utah | UT | $34,721 | $1,108 | $31,520 | $67,349 | $202,047 |
| 61 | Wayne State University | MI | $38,861 | $3,733 | $25,132 | $67,726 | $203,178 |
| 62 | Maryland | MD | $37,830 | $2,179 | $27,982 | $67,991 | $203,973 |
| 63 | Mercer University | GA | $44,782 | $300 | $23,289 | $68,371 | $205,113 |
| 64 | New Hampshire | NH | $42,000 | $348 | $27,094 | $69,442 | $208,326 |
| 65 | St. Mary's University | TX | $44,910 | $1,400 | $23,878 | $70,188 | $210,564 |
| 66 | Oregon | OR | $47,240 | $1,372 | $22,020 | $70,632 | $211,896 |
| 67 | Michigan State University | MI | $43,480 | $388 | $27,152 | $71,020 | $213,060 |
| 68 | William & Mary Law School | VA | $38,734 | $7,368 | $25,184 | $71,286 | $213,858 |
| 69 | Drake University | IA | $50,920 | $470 | $20,328 | $71,718 | $215,154 |
| 70 | Faulkner University | AL | $39,900 | $500 | $32,600 | $73,000 | $219,000 |
| 71 | Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | MN | $55,300 | $1,000 | $16,848 | $73,148 | $219,444 |
| 72 | Minnesota | MN | $51,440 | $2,678 | $19,600 | $73,718 | $221,154 |
| 73 | Western New England University | MA | $50,320 | $2,700 | $20,731 | $73,751 | $221,253 |
| 74 | Liberty University | VA | $43,150 | $2,198 | $28,768 | $74,116 | $222,348 |
| 75 | Marquette University | WI | $51,970 | not reported | $22,146 | $74,116 | $222,348 |
| 76 | Roger Williams University | RI | $47,400 | $1,690 | $25,716 | $74,806 | $224,418 |
| 77 | Barry University | FL | $42,000 | $1,150 | $32,008 | $75,158 | $225,474 |
| 78 | Gonzaga University | WA | $57,962 | $825 | $17,105 | $75,892 | $227,676 |
| 79 | Washington | WA | $45,927 | $1,146 | $29,082 | $76,155 | $228,465 |
| 80 | Elon University | NC | $45,333 | not reported | $31,000 | $76,333 | $228,999 |
| 81 | Charleston School of Law | SC | $48,600 | $1,084 | $27,752 | $77,436 | $232,308 |
| 82 | Samford University | AL | $46,334 | $1,000 | $31,226 | $78,560 | $235,680 |
| 83 | St. Thomas (Minnesota) | MN | $50,998 | $634 | $27,408 | $79,040 | $237,120 |
| 84 | Willamette University | OR | $56,600 | $80 | $22,828 | $79,508 | $238,524 |
| 85 | Howard University | DC | $39,780 | $1,632 | $38,251 | $79,663 | $238,989 |
| 86 | Vermont Law School | VT | $55,382 | $1,075 | $23,952 | $80,409 | $241,227 |
| 87 | Washington and Lee University | VA | $57,450 | $2,490 | $21,890 | $81,830 | $245,490 |
| 88 | Saint Louis University | MO | $55,260 | $930 | $26,112 | $82,302 | $246,906 |
| 89 | St. Thomas University (Florida) | FL | $44,730 | $2,848 | $34,772 | $82,350 | $247,050 |
| 90 | Appalachian School of Law | VA | $41,000 | not reported | $41,800 | $82,800 | $248,400 |
| 91 | Richmond | VA | $57,700 | not reported | $26,510 | $84,210 | $252,630 |
| 92 | Stetson University | FL | $56,521 | $496 | $27,414 | $84,431 | $253,293 |
| 93 | Duquesne University | PA | $58,898 | $1,220 | $24,318 | $84,436 | $253,308 |
| 94 | DePaul University | IL | $55,328 | $300 | $29,110 | $84,738 | $254,214 |
| 95 | Ave Maria School of Law | FL | $49,500 | $2,850 | $32,765 | $85,115 | $255,345 |
| 96 | Pace University | NY | $56,648 | $1,108 | $27,826 | $85,582 | $256,746 |
| 97 | Albany Law School | NY | $63,994 | $240 | $21,844 | $86,078 | $258,234 |
| 98 | Loyola University-New Orleans | LA | $55,024 | $1,870 | $29,205 | $86,099 | $258,297 |
| 99 | Villanova University | PA | $59,800 | $950 | $25,492 | $86,242 | $258,726 |
| 100 | Drexel University | PA | $57,000 | $1,850 | $28,022 | $86,872 | $260,616 |
| 101 | Quinnipiac University | CT | $56,610 | $1,150 | $29,274 | $87,034 | $261,102 |
| 102 | California-Irvine | CA | $59,080 | $2,208 | $25,786 | $87,074 | $261,222 |
| 103 | Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) | CA | $54,840 | $808 | $32,140 | $87,788 | $263,364 |
| 104 | Campbell University | NC | $51,840 | $930 | $35,281 | $88,051 | $264,153 |
| 105 | Northeastern University | MA | $65,652 | $198 | $22,900 | $88,750 | $266,250 |
| 106 | California College of the Law, San Francisco | CA | $53,087 | $1,242 | $34,466 | $88,795 | $266,385 |
| 107 | Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | GA | $52,536 | $1,050 | $35,426 | $89,012 | $267,036 |
| 108 | Penn State Dickinson Law | PA | $60,048 | $431 | $28,902 | $89,381 | $268,143 |
| 109 | Belmont University | TN | $55,500 | $2,205 | $32,026 | $89,731 | $269,193 |
| 110 | Wake Forest University | NC | $57,920 | $1,224 | $30,639 | $89,783 | $269,349 |
| 111 | Lewis & Clark Law School | OR | $61,434 | $50 | $28,370 | $89,854 | $269,562 |
| 112 | Catholic University of America, The | DC | $61,580 | $1,700 | $27,168 | $90,448 | $271,344 |
| 113 | Denver | CO | $63,390 | $422 | $27,260 | $91,072 | $273,216 |
| 114 | Nova Southeastern University | FL | $49,350 | $1,360 | $40,413 | $91,123 | $273,369 |
| 115 | Syracuse University | NY | $64,650 | $2,290 | $24,472 | $91,412 | $274,236 |
| 116 | Southern Methodist University | TX | $60,844 | $7,842 | $23,368 | $92,054 | $276,162 |
| 117 | Loyola University-Chicago | IL | $58,670 | $996 | $32,658 | $92,324 | $276,972 |
| 118 | San Francisco | CA | $59,800 | $190 | $32,774 | $92,764 | $278,292 |
| 119 | Boston University | MA | $69,870 | $1,512 | $21,532 | $92,914 | $278,742 |
| 120 | California-Davis | CA | $57,460 | $2,410 | $33,048 | $92,918 | $278,754 |
| 121 | Chapman University | CA | $63,126 | $75 | $32,956 | $96,157 | $288,471 |
| 122 | New York Law School | NY | $71,052 | $2,472 | $23,759 | $97,283 | $291,849 |
| 123 | Case Western Reserve University | OH | $64,600 | $952 | $32,008 | $97,560 | $292,680 |
| 124 | American University | DC | $66,990 | $2,182 | $29,094 | $98,266 | $294,798 |
| 125 | the Pacific (McGeorge) | CA | $62,678 | $640 | $35,081 | $98,399 | $295,197 |
| 126 | Boston College | MA | $72,380 | $375 | $25,726 | $98,481 | $295,443 |
| 127 | Suffolk University | MA | $62,610 | $1,436 | $34,706 | $98,752 | $296,256 |
| 128 | California Western School of Law | CA | $64,720 | $150 | $34,342 | $99,212 | $297,636 |
| 129 | Southwestern Law School | CA | $63,160 | not reported | $36,413 | $99,573 | $298,719 |
| 130 | Notre Dame | IN | $73,430 | $520 | $25,990 | $99,940 | $299,820 |
| 131 | Seton Hall University | NJ | $69,660 | $1,890 | $28,548 | $100,098 | $300,294 |
| 132 | George Washington University, The | DC | $75,420 | not reported | $25,240 | $100,660 | $301,980 |
| 133 | California-Los Angeles | CA | $59,084 | $2,778 | $40,046 | $101,908 | $305,724 |
| 134 | South Texas College of Law Houston | TX | $42,960 | $2,000 | $56,958 | $101,918 | $305,754 |
| 135 | Washington University (St. Louis) | MO | $72,792 | $892 | $28,603 | $102,287 | $306,861 |
| 136 | Michigan | MI | $76,108 | $572 | $26,886 | $103,566 | $310,698 |
| 137 | Tulane University | LA | $69,578 | $5,178 | $29,670 | $104,426 | $313,278 |
| 138 | Virginia | VA | $74,078 | $3,822 | $28,770 | $106,670 | $320,010 |
| 139 | Hofstra University | NY | $73,344 | $1,516 | $32,035 | $106,895 | $320,685 |
| 140 | San Diego | CA | $66,950 | $801 | $39,197 | $106,948 | $320,844 |
| 141 | Yale University | CT | $76,636 | $2,325 | $28,202 | $107,163 | $321,489 |
| 142 | California-Berkeley | CA | $62,532 | $3,842 | $40,858 | $107,232 | $321,696 |
| 143 | Pepperdine University | CA | $72,920 | $630 | $33,700 | $107,250 | $321,750 |
| 144 | St. John's University | NY | $75,170 | $1,572 | $30,826 | $107,568 | $322,704 |
| 145 | Duke University | NC | $80,100 | $1,729 | $26,116 | $107,945 | $323,835 |
| 146 | Northwestern University | IL | $79,772 | $861 | $28,220 | $108,853 | $326,559 |
| 147 | Emory University | GA | $69,510 | $962 | $38,990 | $109,462 | $328,386 |
| 148 | Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) | NY | $74,438 | $2,020 | $34,114 | $110,572 | $331,716 |
| 149 | New England Law/Boston | MA | $62,896 | $320 | $48,437 | $111,653 | $334,959 |
| 150 | Miami | FL | $66,720 | $2,498 | $43,924 | $113,142 | $339,426 |
| 151 | Brooklyn Law School | NY | $75,496 | $1,450 | $36,528 | $113,474 | $340,422 |
| 152 | Vanderbilt University | TN | $76,440 | $2,359 | $34,934 | $113,733 | $341,199 |
| 153 | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | CA | $70,360 | $1,026 | $43,030 | $114,416 | $343,248 |
| 154 | Touro University | NY | $61,000 | $1,150 | $52,602 | $114,752 | $344,256 |
| 155 | Pennsylvania | PA | $78,348 | $6,144 | $31,640 | $116,132 | $348,396 |
| 156 | Fordham University | NY | $78,078 | $1,170 | $37,354 | $116,602 | $349,806 |
| 157 | Harvard University | MA | $77,100 | $1,592 | $38,690 | $117,382 | $352,146 |
| 158 | Georgetown University | DC | $83,576 | not reported | $33,905 | $117,481 | $352,443 |
| 159 | Southern California | CA | $84,034 | $1,914 | $31,686 | $117,634 | $352,902 |
| 160 | Cornell University | NY | $84,722 | $690 | $32,952 | $118,364 | $355,092 |
| 161 | Columbia University | NY | $85,368 | $3,022 | $31,554 | $119,944 | $359,832 |
| 162 | Chicago | IL | $83,316 | $1,590 | $35,418 | $120,324 | $360,972 |
| 163 | New York University | NY | $83,952 | $3,262 | $36,094 | $123,308 | $369,924 |
| 164 | Stanford University | CA | $77,454 | $2,253 | $49,719 | $129,426 | $388,278 |
Schools reporting tuition per credit hour
These 32 schools disclose a per-credit rate instead of an annual total. No annual figure is estimated for them.
Check your own numbers
Common questions about law school cost
How much does law school really cost for 3 years?
Across the 164 ABA law schools that publish an annual tuition figure, a three-year JD runs from $100,695 at South Dakota to $388,278 at Stanford University, with a median of $237,120. These totals add tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs, so they are higher than the tuition-only figures most sites publish.
Is tuition the whole cost of law school?
No. Tuition is only one component. This page adds two more that schools disclose separately in the ABA 509: mandatory fees for full-time students (reported by 152 of the 164 ranked schools) and living costs. Omitting them understates the real figure — for Stanford University the tuition alone is $77,454 while the three-year total including fees and housing is $388,278.
Why do some law schools not appear in the cost ranking?
32 schools report tuition per credit hour rather than an annual total in their ABA 509 disclosure. Converting those into an annual figure would require assuming how many credits a student takes, so no estimate is made and they are listed separately. 12 schools publish tuition and living costs but no separate mandatory fee figure; their totals are included for continuity but labelled as understated.
How much does law school cost after grants and scholarships?
Net cost varies more than sticker price. Stanford University publishes the highest three-year total at $388,278, but its median grant for full-time students is $52,797 a year. Yale University's three-year total is $321,489 against a median grant of $34,747. A median grant is not an offer — actual aid depends on your circumstances and the school's aid policy.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle. Figures are for the 2025-26 academic year and in-state tuition unless a row states otherwise. Three-year totals multiply one year of disclosed costs by 3; the 509 does not disclose program length, so schools with extended or joint programs are not distinguished. Nothing here is financial advice.