Home / Law school cost / Richmond

University of Richmond Law School Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Richmond, VA · 2025-26 academic year, in-state basis · ABA 509 disclosure

Excludes mandatory fees. this school reports tuition and living costs but not a separate mandatory fee figure, so the total below is understated by an unknown amount.

$84,210
Per academic year
$252,630
3-year total
$7,018
Per month, spread out
#91
of 164 by total cost

Where the money goes each year

Annual tuition (in-state)$57,700
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported in this school’s 509 disclosure — the total below omits it
Living costs$26,510on-campus and off-campus figures are identical in this disclosure, so it does not distinguish the two
Per academic year$84,210
3-year total$252,630

After grants: what the sticker price does not show

The figures below are this school's reported averages across all students. What you would actually pay depends on where your scores land against its admitted class — the University of Richmond Law School scholarship calculator shows your position and the grant range that applies to it.

3-year sticker total$252,630
Median grant for full-time students$40,000 per year
Same median applied for 3 years$132,630
Students receiving grant aid81.0%
Grant range (25th–75th percentile)$20,000 – $55,550

The median is not an offer. Aid depends on your circumstances, whether the school is need-aware or merit-aware, and its aid budget in the year you attend. It is also reported for a single cohort, so it is not a guarantee across three years.

Cost against bar passage

Richmond reports a first-time bar passage rate of 91.3% across 115 takers in the most recent cohort and an ultimate passage rate of 91.84% for the class of 2024. Dividing the 3-year total by the first-time rate gives $2,767 per passage point.

This ratio compares price and outcome positioning only. Bar passage is measured across all takers at the school, is shaped substantially by how selective the school is, and predicts nothing about any individual student. See the full cost-versus-passage ranking for what this number does and does not mean.

What else this school publishes

Acceptance rate39.64%
Median LSAT / GPA (enrolled)164 / 3.81
First-year class size146

Cost comparison within Virginia

School3-year totalPer yearBar passDifference
Richmond$252,630$84,21091.3%—
Appalachian School of Law$248,400$82,80054.76%$4,230
Washington and Lee University$245,490$81,83093.46%$7,140
Liberty University$222,348$74,11685.29%$30,282

Related pages

Source: University of Richmond Law School ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosure, 2025 reporting cycle. Tuition, fee and living figures are for the 2025-26 academic year on an in-state basis. The 3-year total multiplies one year of disclosed costs by 3; the 509 does not disclose program length, so extended or joint programs are not distinguished. Costs rise annually. Not financial advice.