← All rankings · Cost methodology
Law School Cost per Bar Passage Point
163 schools with both a computable 3-year total and a reported bar rate · ABA 509
Read this ranking with three caveats
- Bar passage rate is not a school quality score. The 509 figure covers all test takers at the school, not only its graduates. Two schools can post similar rates while admitting very different student populations.
- Lower selectivity lowers this ratio automatically. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of those students will show a low cost per point without anything better about it. Use the LSAT and acceptance columns to see what you are actually comparing.
- It predicts nothing about you. Bar passage is shaped by how much time a student prepares, whether they work while studying, and debt-driven choices after graduation. None of that is in this dataset.
Full ranking
| # | School | State | 3-year total | Bar pass (1st time) | Cost per point | Median LSAT | Acceptance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brigham Young University | UT | $108,852fees not reported | 96.85% | $1,124 | 170 | 22.8% |
| 2 | Georgia | GA | $115,620 | 88.37% | $1,308 | 169 | 12.72% |
| 3 | Georgia State University | GA | $119,247 | 87.43% | $1,364 | 160 | 30.57% |
| 4 | South Dakota | SD | $100,695 | 69.23% | $1,454 | 152 | 62.62% |
| 5 | Florida | FL | $132,240 | 90.2% | $1,466 | 169 | 16.52% |
| 6 | Arkansas at Little Rock | AR | $116,331 | 78.91% | $1,474 | 153 | 54.89% |
| 7 | Texas Tech University | TX | $142,917 | 95.52% | $1,496 | 159 | 25.61% |
| 8 | Alabama | AL | $145,497 | 95.24% | $1,528 | 167 | 25.63% |
| 9 | Akron | OH | $114,597 | 70.16% | $1,633 | 154 | 58.53% |
| 10 | Northern Kentucky University | KY | $124,812 | 76.19% | $1,638 | 154 | 58.7% |
| 11 | Tennessee | TN | $140,334 | 85.6% | $1,639 | 164 | 24.77% |
| 12 | South Carolina | SC | $148,242 | 90.05% | $1,646 | 162 | 29.9% |
| 13 | New Mexico | NM | $132,402 | 77% | $1,720 | 157 | 41.41% |
| 14 | Oklahoma | OK | $158,112 | 91.67% | $1,725 | 162 | 33.36% |
| 15 | Hawaii | HI | $135,306 | 77.08% | $1,755 | 158 | 26.24% |
| 16 | Louisiana State University | LA | $152,097 | 85.39% | $1,781 | 157 | 38.55% |
| 17 | Cincinnati | OH | $152,298 | 85.12% | $1,789 | 159 | 32.74% |
| 18 | Louisville | KY | $151,977 | 84.48% | $1,799 | 157 | 63.39% |
| 19 | Mississippi | MS | $141,447 | 78.18% | $1,809 | 157 | 41.96% |
| 20 | North Carolina | NC | $171,720 | 94.12% | $1,824 | 168 | 11.19% |
| 21 | University at Buffalo | NY | $163,692 | 88.46% | $1,850 | 157 | 42.37% |
| 22 | Arizona | AZ | $156,636 | 84.13% | $1,862 | 163 | 27.91% |
| 23 | Iowa | IA | $172,227 | 91.39% | $1,885 | 164 | 44.28% |
| 24 | Idaho | ID | $142,956fees not reported | 75.2% | $1,901 | 153 | 66.76% |
| 25 | Kentucky | KY | $152,208 | 79.82% | $1,907 | 159 | 40.78% |
| 26 | Illinois | IL | $181,572 | 93.2% | $1,948 | 166 | 32.93% |
| 27 | Texas A&M University | TX | $186,990fees not reported | 95.28% | $1,963 | 169 | 12.1% |
| 28 | The Ohio State University | OH | $182,865 | 93.13% | $1,964 | 168 | 24.62% |
| 29 | Texas | TX | $189,996fees not reported | 96.39% | $1,971 | 172 | 13.99% |
| 30 | Nevada-Las Vegas | NV | $165,897 | 83.47% | $1,988 | 160 | 30.78% |
| 31 | Pittsburgh | PA | $185,937 | 93.04% | $1,998 | 160 | 34.87% |
| 32 | Toledo | OH | $155,328 | 77.38% | $2,007 | 153 | 52.52% |
| 33 | City University of New York (CUNY) | NY | $140,454 | 69.04% | $2,034 | 155 | 28.65% |
| 34 | Arizona State University | AZ | $188,769 | 91.94% | $2,053 | 165 | 19.78% |
| 35 | Memphis | TN | $149,871 | 72.63% | $2,063 | 155 | 41.07% |
| 36 | Maine | ME | $175,734 | 85.06% | $2,066 | 158 | 37.27% |
| 37 | West Virginia University | WV | $162,720 | 78.72% | $2,067 | 155 | 40.34% |
| 38 | Connecticut | CT | $172,380 | 82.81% | $2,082 | 162 | 20.05% |
| 39 | Temple University | PA | $185,847 | 89% | $2,088 | 165 | 24.38% |
| 40 | Utah | UT | $202,047 | 94.57% | $2,136 | 166 | 25.28% |
| 41 | Colorado | CO | $193,935 | 89.68% | $2,163 | 164 | 27.56% |
| 42 | Rutgers University | NJ | $171,849 | 79.11% | $2,172 | 158 | 33.54% |
| 43 | Cleveland State University | OH | $160,308 | 72.65% | $2,207 | 155 | 34.45% |
| 44 | Southern University | LA | $153,282 | 68.09% | $2,251 | 147 | 56.55% |
| 45 | Northern Illinois University | IL | $140,427 | 61.9% | $2,269 | 150 | 44.27% |
| 46 | Indiana University-Bloomington | IN | $192,882 | 84.62% | $2,279 | 164 | 35.77% |
| 47 | Montana | MT | $188,649 | 82.5% | $2,287 | 156 | 51.41% |
| 48 | George Mason University | VA | $198,522 | 86.34% | $2,299 | 169 | 15.87% |
| 49 | William & Mary Law School | VA | $213,858 | 92.78% | $2,305 | 166 | 21.97% |
| 50 | Inter American University of Puerto Rico | PR | $129,138 | 56.02% | $2,305 | 144 | 50.92% |
| 51 | Houston | TX | $195,924 | 84.45% | $2,320 | 163 | 22.99% |
| 52 | Minnesota | MN | $221,154 | 95.31% | $2,320 | 171 | 26.7% |
| 53 | Texas Southern University | TX | $146,466 | 62.89% | $2,329 | 150 | 33.12% |
| 54 | Mercer University | GA | $205,113 | 86.52% | $2,371 | 157 | 37.75% |
| 55 | North Carolina Central University | NC | $142,446 | 59.4% | $2,398 | 151 | n/a |
| 56 | Mississippi Christian University School of Law (MC Law) | MS | $197,226 | 81.63% | $2,416 | 152 | 59.8% |
| 57 | District of Columbia | DC | $142,419 | 57.89% | $2,460 | 151 | 36.98% |
| 58 | Washington | WA | $228,465 | 92.61% | $2,467 | 165 | 19.61% |
| 59 | St. Mary's University | TX | $210,564 | 84.62% | $2,488 | 153 | 25.98% |
| 60 | Maryland | MD | $203,973 | 81.69% | $2,497 | 164 | 26.08% |
| 61 | Wisconsin | WI | $189,726 | 75% | $2,530 | 167 | 19.12% |
| 62 | Samford University | AL | $235,680 | 90.44% | $2,606 | 156 | 48.97% |
| 63 | Liberty University | VA | $222,348 | 85.29% | $2,607 | 154 | 58.76% |
| 64 | Baltimore | MD | $184,326 | 70.53% | $2,613 | 155 | 49.5% |
| 65 | Washington and Lee University | VA | $245,490 | 93.46% | $2,627 | 167 | 22.73% |
| 66 | Gonzaga University | WA | $227,676 | 85.85% | $2,652 | 155 | 51.14% |
| 67 | Massachusetts Dartmouth | MA | $167,244 | 62.63% | $2,670 | 152 | 52.17% |
| 68 | Oregon | OR | $211,896 | 79.17% | $2,676 | 160 | 54.97% |
| 69 | Tulsa | OK | $191,508 | 71.05% | $2,695 | 157 | 56.58% |
| 70 | Capital University Law School | OH | $199,704 | 73.68% | $2,710 | 151 | 65.9% |
| 71 | Wayne State University | MI | $203,178 | 73.85% | $2,751 | 164 | 24.81% |
| 72 | Michigan State University | MI | $213,060 | 77.35% | $2,754 | 162 | 26.02% |
| 73 | Richmond | VA | $252,630fees not reported | 91.3% | $2,767 | 164 | 39.64% |
| 74 | Saint Louis University | MO | $246,906 | 89.09% | $2,771 | 157 | 56.43% |
| 75 | St. Thomas (Minnesota) | MN | $237,120 | 85.14% | $2,785 | 159 | 57.62% |
| 76 | Drake University | IA | $215,154 | 77.19% | $2,787 | 156 | 54.82% |
| 77 | Belmont University | TN | $269,193 | 96.49% | $2,790 | 161 | 37.62% |
| 78 | New Hampshire | NH | $208,326 | 73.78% | $2,824 | 155 | 51.96% |
| 79 | Southern Methodist University | TX | $276,162 | 97.75% | $2,825 | 167 | 24.59% |
| 80 | Duquesne University | PA | $253,308 | 89.66% | $2,825 | 157 | 43.23% |
| 81 | Campbell University | NC | $264,153 | 93.48% | $2,826 | 156 | 50.68% |
| 82 | St. Thomas University (Florida) | FL | $247,050 | 87.06% | $2,838 | 152 | 60.25% |
| 83 | Villanova University | PA | $258,726 | 89.95% | $2,876 | 164 | 25.93% |
| 84 | California-Irvine | CA | $261,222 | 89.87% | $2,907 | 169 | 14.92% |
| 85 | Boston University | MA | $278,742 | 94.93% | $2,936 | 170 | 12.08% |
| 86 | Northeastern University | MA | $266,250 | 90.52% | $2,941 | 164 | 24.22% |
| 87 | Albany Law School | NY | $258,234 | 86.71% | $2,978 | 158 | 37.45% |
| 88 | Stetson University | FL | $253,293 | 84.86% | $2,985 | 159 | 36.44% |
| 89 | California-Davis | CA | $278,754 | 93.24% | $2,990 | 165 | 15.97% |
| 90 | Charleston School of Law | SC | $232,308 | 77.38% | $3,002 | 154 | 50.2% |
| 91 | Catholic University of America, The | DC | $271,344 | 90.38% | $3,002 | 161 | 32.4% |
| 92 | Wake Forest University | NC | $269,349 | 89.61% | $3,006 | 166 | 24.63% |
| 93 | Ohio Northern University | OH | $171,162fees not reported | 56.41% | $3,034 | 149 | n/a |
| 94 | DePaul University | IL | $254,214 | 83.78% | $3,034 | 158 | 34.81% |
| 95 | Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | MN | $219,444 | 71.95% | $3,050 | 154 | 51.4% |
| 96 | Penn State Dickinson Law | PA | $268,143 | 87.56% | $3,062 | 159 | 42.99% |
| 97 | Howard University | DC | $238,989 | 78.01% | $3,064 | 156 | 24.05% |
| 98 | Boston College | MA | $295,443 | 96.19% | $3,071 | 168 | 8.48% |
| 99 | California College of the Law, San Francisco | CA | $266,385 | 86.25% | $3,089 | 161 | 27.48% |
| 100 | Drexel University | PA | $260,616 | 84.21% | $3,095 | 160 | 29.64% |
| 101 | Lewis & Clark Law School | OR | $269,562 | 86.67% | $3,110 | 161 | 54.72% |
| 102 | California-Los Angeles | CA | $305,724 | 96.65% | $3,163 | 171 | 12.05% |
| 103 | Loyola University-Chicago | IL | $276,972 | 85.71% | $3,232 | 161 | 28.18% |
| 104 | Syracuse University | NY | $274,236 | 84.77% | $3,235 | 158 | 34.59% |
| 105 | Faulkner University | AL | $219,000 | 67.5% | $3,244 | 150 | 53.87% |
| 106 | Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) | CA | $263,364 | 81.11% | $3,247 | 152 | 43.67% |
| 107 | Western New England University | MA | $221,253 | 68% | $3,254 | 153 | 51.89% |
| 108 | Yale University | CT | $321,489 | 98.54% | $3,263 | 174 | 4.06% |
| 109 | Elon University | NC | $228,999fees not reported | 69.92% | $3,275 | 154 | 53.21% |
| 110 | Ave Maria School of Law | FL | $255,345 | 77.46% | $3,296 | 155 | 46.95% |
| 111 | Duke University | NC | $323,835 | 98.23% | $3,297 | 171 | 12.88% |
| 112 | Michigan | MI | $310,698 | 94.15% | $3,300 | 171 | 8.57% |
| 113 | Notre Dame | IN | $299,820 | 89.44% | $3,352 | 170 | 16.07% |
| 114 | Denver | CO | $273,216 | 81.47% | $3,354 | 160 | 41.33% |
| 115 | Virginia | VA | $320,010 | 95.11% | $3,365 | 173 | 10.17% |
| 116 | New York Law School | NY | $291,849 | 86.47% | $3,375 | 157 | 39.67% |
| 117 | California-Berkeley | CA | $321,696 | 94.79% | $3,394 | 170 | 14.84% |
| 118 | American University | DC | $294,798 | 86.61% | $3,404 | 162 | 33.28% |
| 119 | Washington University (St. Louis) | MO | $306,861 | 89.63% | $3,424 | 175 | 18.96% |
| 120 | San Francisco | CA | $278,292 | 80.87% | $3,441 | 155 | 42.38% |
| 121 | Roger Williams University | RI | $224,418 | 65.19% | $3,443 | 150 | 61.32% |
| 122 | George Washington University, The | DC | $301,980fees not reported | 87.66% | $3,445 | 168 | 27.21% |
| 123 | Seton Hall University | NJ | $300,294 | 87.13% | $3,447 | 161 | 34.27% |
| 124 | Quinnipiac University | CT | $261,102 | 75.44% | $3,461 | 155 | 43.1% |
| 125 | Pepperdine University | CA | $321,750 | 90.71% | $3,547 | 164 | 23.36% |
| 126 | Vermont Law School | VT | $241,227 | 67.91% | $3,552 | 152 | 58.53% |
| 127 | Northwestern University | IL | $326,559 | 91.83% | $3,556 | 173 | 12.3% |
| 128 | South Texas College of Law Houston | TX | $305,754 | 85.56% | $3,574 | 155 | 33.65% |
| 129 | Chapman University | CA | $288,471 | 80.31% | $3,592 | 163 | 20.53% |
| 130 | Harvard University | MA | $352,146 | 97.9% | $3,597 | 174 | 9.2% |
| 131 | Vanderbilt University | TN | $341,199 | 94.64% | $3,605 | 170 | 13.26% |
| 132 | Loyola University-New Orleans | LA | $258,297 | 71.17% | $3,629 | 154 | 50.93% |
| 133 | Suffolk University | MA | $296,256 | 80.75% | $3,669 | 155 | 61.85% |
| 134 | Nova Southeastern University | FL | $273,369 | 74.47% | $3,671 | 155 | 47.33% |
| 135 | St. John's University | NY | $322,704 | 87.55% | $3,686 | 164 | 23.05% |
| 136 | Pennsylvania | PA | $348,396 | 94.42% | $3,690 | 173 | 8.05% |
| 137 | Willamette University | OR | $238,524 | 64.58% | $3,693 | 154 | 61.42% |
| 138 | San Diego | CA | $320,844 | 86.73% | $3,699 | 163 | 23.51% |
| 139 | Georgetown University | DC | $352,443fees not reported | 94.55% | $3,728 | 171 | 15.75% |
| 140 | Chicago | IL | $360,972 | 96.73% | $3,732 | 174 | 9.74% |
| 141 | Southern California | CA | $352,902 | 94.14% | $3,749 | 169 | 11.17% |
| 142 | Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) | NY | $331,716 | 87.83% | $3,777 | 165 | 29.56% |
| 143 | Case Western Reserve University | OH | $292,680 | 77.46% | $3,778 | 162 | 34.8% |
| 144 | Cornell University | NY | $355,092 | 93.68% | $3,790 | 173 | 18.19% |
| 145 | Columbia University | NY | $359,832 | 94.73% | $3,799 | 173 | 11.84% |
| 146 | Emory University | GA | $328,386 | 86.34% | $3,803 | 166 | 30.09% |
| 147 | New York University | NY | $369,924 | 96.94% | $3,816 | 172 | 13.39% |
| 148 | Barry University | FL | $225,474 | 58.85% | $3,831 | 150 | 55.94% |
| 149 | Fordham University | NY | $349,806 | 90.8% | $3,852 | 168 | 16.22% |
| 150 | Stanford University | CA | $388,278 | 99.43% | $3,905 | 173 | 6.1% |
| 151 | Pace University | NY | $256,746 | 65.18% | $3,939 | 154 | 44.13% |
| 152 | Miami | FL | $339,426 | 85.29% | $3,980 | 164 | 24.65% |
| 153 | Brooklyn Law School | NY | $340,422 | 85.47% | $3,983 | 161 | 44% |
| 154 | Hofstra University | NY | $320,685 | 79.17% | $4,051 | 157 | 40.56% |
| 155 | Tulane University | LA | $313,278 | 76.12% | $4,116 | 161 | 39.97% |
| 156 | Southwestern Law School | CA | $298,719fees not reported | 72.07% | $4,145 | 157 | 36.47% |
| 157 | the Pacific (McGeorge) | CA | $295,197 | 71.13% | $4,150 | 156 | 54.41% |
| 158 | California Western School of Law | CA | $297,636 | 71.43% | $4,167 | 155 | 46.92% |
| 159 | Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | GA | $267,036 | 63.81% | $4,185 | 152 | 32.65% |
| 160 | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | CA | $343,248 | 79.72% | $4,306 | 163 | 26.05% |
| 161 | New England Law/Boston | MA | $334,959 | 73.88% | $4,534 | 153 | 61.3% |
| 162 | Appalachian School of Law | VA | $248,400fees not reported | 54.76% | $4,536 | 146 | 60.93% |
| 163 | Touro University | NY | $344,256 | 67.86% | $5,073 | 153 | 45.62% |
What the two inputs look like apart
The reason this ranking is not simply a cost ranking with a re-sort: the most expensive schools on this site do not have the highest passage rates, and the cheapest do not have the lowest. Price and bar outcomes vary independently.
| Highest total cost | Lowest total cost | |
|---|---|---|
| 3-year total | $388,278 | $100,695 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 99.43% | 69.23% |
Stanford University posts the highest total at $388,278, while South Dakotaposts the lowest at $100,695 — a gap of $287,583 over 3 years. Neither figure is a verdict on either school.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle. Cost totals add tuition, mandatory full-time fees and disclosed living costs, multiplied by 3. Bar passage rates are first-time taker rates for the most recently reported cohort. This comparison is descriptive only and is not an indicator of school quality or of any individual outcome.