Baylor University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Baylor University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Baylor University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,658 applicants received 693 offers (18.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $33,518 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Waco, Texas · Report year 2025 · all Baylor University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,658
Offers of admission693
Acceptance rate18.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool165
Enrolled in the first-year class168
First-year class size165
LSAT 25th percentile159
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile165
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.49
Undergraduate GPA median3.77
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.89
Students who submitted LSAT scores165
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, Baylor University has the 8th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
South Texas College of Law Houston33.6%1552,770
Texas Southern University33.1%1502,032
St. Mary's University26.0%1532,906
Texas Tech University25.6%1592,011
Southern Methodist University24.6%1673,038
University of North Texas at Dallas24.2%1531,883
University of Houston23.0%1633,510
Baylor University ← this school18.9%1643,658
University of Texas14.0%1726,297
Texas A&M University12.1%1695,240

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$1,606
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$21,309
Living off campus$25,023
Tuition guaranteeno

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Baylor University does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 10 law schools in this state.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Southern Methodist University$60,844$17,834
St. Mary's University$44,910$23,878
South Texas College of Law Houston$42,960$56,958
University of Texas$38,236$25,398
Texas A&M University$32,634$29,696
University of Houston$31,326$26,086
Texas Tech University$22,590$20,107
Texas Southern University$19,202$27,784
Baylor University ← this school—$25,023
University of North Texas at Dallas—$24,638

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid97.0%
Median grant (per year)$33,518
25th percentile grant$18,000
75th percentile grant$57,873
Half tuition or less41.0%
Above half, below full29.0%
Full tuition20.0%
Above full tuition7.0%

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report median grant, Baylor University has the highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Baylor University ← this school$33,51897.0%
Texas A&M University$26,04895.0%
Southern Methodist University$26,00094.0%
University of Texas$23,37594.0%
St. Mary's University$12,50081.0%
Texas Tech University$12,00088.0%
University of Houston$11,50074.0%
South Texas College of Law Houston$11,00085.0%
Texas Southern University$7,36351.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas$5,00054.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsno
Entering with a conditional award (2024)140
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Among the 4 law schools in Texas that report retention rate, Baylor University has the highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled448
JD students (all years)439
First-year JD students168
Non-JD students9
First-year class size165

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report jd students, Baylor University has the 8th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers111
First-time passers104
First-time passage rate93.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)97.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)97.9%

How Baylor University compares within Texas

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report first-time rate, Baylor University has the 5th highest.

The 10 law schools in Texas, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Southern Methodist University97.8%96.7%
University of Texas96.4%98.3%
Texas Tech University95.5%94.4%
Texas A&M University95.3%98.3%
Baylor University ← this school93.7%97.9%
South Texas College of Law Houston85.6%94.9%
St. Mary's University84.6%91.8%
University of Houston84.5%93.0%
University of North Texas at Dallas79.7%88.0%
Texas Southern University62.9%84.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class165
White102
Black2
Hispanic27
Asian13
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial13
Race not reported7
Men89
Women75
Another gender1
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Baylor University 509 report show?

Baylor University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,658 applicants received 693 offers (18.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $33,518 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.7%.

How does Baylor University compare with other law schools in Texas?

Among the 10 law schools in Texas that report acceptance rate, Baylor University has the 8th highest.

How many applicants did Baylor University receive, and how many were admitted?

Baylor University received 3,658 completed applications and issued 693 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 18.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Baylor University?

For Baylor University, tuition is reported per credit hour at $1,606, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,023, the median grant is $33,518 per year, 97% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Baylor University?

Baylor University had a first-time bar passage rate of 93.7% across 111 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.9%.