Yale University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Yale University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Yale University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,562 applicants received 226 offers (4.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 174, the median grant was $34,747 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 98.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

New Haven, Connecticut · Report year 2025 · all Yale University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications5,562
Offers of admission226
Acceptance rate4.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool175
Enrolled in the first-year class204
First-year class size204
LSAT 25th percentile171
LSAT median174
LSAT 75th percentile177
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.9
Undergraduate GPA median3.96
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores186
Students who submitted GRE scores16

How Yale University compares within Connecticut

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report acceptance rate, Yale University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Connecticut, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Quinnipiac University43.1%1551,485
University of Connecticut20.1%1622,299
Yale University ← this school4.1%1745,562

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$76,636
Non-resident tuition (annual)$76,636
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,325
Living on campus$28,202
Living off campus$28,202
Tuition guaranteeno

How Yale University compares within Connecticut

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report annual tuition, Yale University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Connecticut, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Yale University ← this school$76,636$28,202
Quinnipiac University$56,610$29,274
University of Connecticut$30,354$25,860

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid63.0%
Median grant (per year)$34,747
25th percentile grant$24,825
75th percentile grant$47,286
Half tuition or less34.0%
Above half, below full15.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition14.0%

How Yale University compares within Connecticut

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report median grant, Yale University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Connecticut, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Yale University ← this school$34,74763.0%
Quinnipiac University$25,00085.0%
University of Connecticut$15,17791.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled676
JD students (all years)626
First-year JD students204
Non-JD students50
First-year class size204

How Yale University compares within Connecticut

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report jd students, Yale University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Connecticut, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Yale University ← this school626204
University of Connecticut479151
Quinnipiac University392137

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers206
First-time passers203
First-time passage rate98.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)100.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)100.0%

How Yale University compares within Connecticut

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report first-time rate, Yale University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Connecticut, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Yale University ← this school98.5%100.0%
University of Connecticut82.8%96.5%
Quinnipiac University75.4%88.3%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class204
White94
Black22
Hispanic32
Asian28
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial12
Race not reported14
Men96
Women105
Another gender3
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Yale University 509 report show?

Yale University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,562 applicants received 226 offers (4.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 174, the median grant was $34,747 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 98.5%.

How does Yale University compare with other law schools in Connecticut?

Among the 3 law schools in Connecticut that report acceptance rate, Yale University has the lowest.

How many applicants did Yale University receive, and how many were admitted?

Yale University received 5,562 completed applications and issued 226 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 4.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Yale University?

For Yale University, in-state tuition is $76,636 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $28,202, the median grant is $34,747 per year, 63% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Yale University?

Yale University had a first-time bar passage rate of 98.5% across 206 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 100.0%.