Louisiana State University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Louisiana State University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Louisiana State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,253 applicants received 483 offers (38.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $19,750 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.4%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Baton Rouge, Louisiana · Report year 2025 · all Louisiana State University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,253 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 483 |
| Acceptance rate | 38.5% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 228 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 230 |
| First-year class size | 230 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 155 |
| LSAT median | 157 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 160 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.48 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.74 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.93 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 230 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Louisiana State University has the lowest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southern University | 56.5% | 147 | 1,153 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans | 50.9% | 154 | 1,241 |
| Tulane University | 40.0% | 161 | 2,069 |
| Louisiana State University ← this school | 38.5% | 157 | 1,253 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $19,750 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $19,750 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | $823 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $3,915 |
| Living on campus | $27,034 |
| Living off campus | $27,034 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report annual tuition, Louisiana State University has the 3rd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Tulane University | $69,578 | $29,670 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans | $55,024 | $29,205 |
| Louisiana State University ← this school | $19,750 | $27,034 |
| Southern University | $11,338 | $32,262 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 78.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $19,750 |
| 25th percentile grant | $9,937 |
| 75th percentile grant | $20,600 |
| Half tuition or less | 22.0% |
| Above half, below full | 29.0% |
| Full tuition | 20.0% |
| Above full tuition | 7.0% |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report median grant, Louisiana State University has the 3rd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Tulane University | $37,500 | 87.0% |
| Loyola University-New Orleans | $26,000 | 75.0% |
| Louisiana State University ← this school | $19,750 | 78.0% |
| Southern University | $11,000 | 20.0% |
Conditional scholarships
Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.
Source: Standard 509(b)(3)
| Offers conditional scholarships | yes |
|---|---|
| Entering with a conditional award (2024) | 163 |
| Kept the award after year one | 79.1% |
| Award reduced or eliminated | 34 |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 3 law schools in Louisiana that report retention rate, Louisiana State University has the 2nd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Retention rate | Entering with award |
|---|---|---|
| Loyola University-New Orleans | 88.6% | 158 |
| Louisiana State University ← this school | 79.1% | 163 |
| Southern University | 61.9% | 21 |
| Tulane University | — | — |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 652 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 635 |
| First-year JD students | 230 |
| Non-JD students | 17 |
| First-year class size | 230 |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report jd students, Louisiana State University has the 3rd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Southern University | 809 | 331 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans | 649 | 222 |
| Louisiana State University ← this school | 635 | 230 |
| Tulane University | 628 | 241 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 178 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 152 |
| First-time passage rate | 85.4% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 97.0% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 98.0% |
How Louisiana State University compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report first-time rate, Louisiana State University has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Louisiana State University ← this school | 85.4% | 98.0% |
| Tulane University | 76.1% | 84.2% |
| Loyola University-New Orleans | 71.2% | 77.8% |
| Southern University | 68.1% | 69.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 230 |
|---|---|
| White | 161 |
| Black | 16 |
| Hispanic | 32 |
| Asian | 5 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 9 |
| Race not reported | 7 |
| Men | 90 |
| Women | 138 |
| Another gender | 2 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Louisiana State University 509 report show?
Louisiana State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,253 applicants received 483 offers (38.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $19,750 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.4%.
How does Louisiana State University compare with other law schools in Louisiana?
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Louisiana State University has the lowest.
How many applicants did Louisiana State University receive, and how many were admitted?
Louisiana State University received 1,253 completed applications and issued 483 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 38.5%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Louisiana State University?
For Louisiana State University, in-state tuition is $19,750 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $27,034, the median grant is $19,750 per year, 78% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Louisiana State University?
Louisiana State University had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.4% across 178 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.0%.