Loyola University-New Orleans ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Loyola University-New Orleans, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Loyola University-New Orleans's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,241 applicants received 632 offers (50.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $26,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.2%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
New Orleans, Louisiana · Report year 2025 · all Loyola University-New Orleans data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,241 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 632 |
| Acceptance rate | 50.9% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 220 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 222 |
| First-year class size | 223 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 151 |
| LSAT median | 154 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 157 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.21 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.47 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.71 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 215 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 3 |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 2nd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southern University | 56.5% | 147 | 1,153 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | 50.9% | 154 | 1,241 |
| Tulane University | 40.0% | 161 | 2,069 |
| Louisiana State University | 38.5% | 157 | 1,253 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $55,024 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $55,024 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $1,870 |
| Living on campus | $29,205 |
| Living off campus | $29,205 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report annual tuition, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 2nd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Tulane University | $69,578 | $29,670 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | $55,024 | $29,205 |
| Louisiana State University | $19,750 | $27,034 |
| Southern University | $11,338 | $32,262 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 75.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $26,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $15,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $36,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 41.0% |
| Above half, below full | 36.0% |
| Full tuition | 1.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report median grant, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 2nd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Tulane University | $37,500 | 87.0% |
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | $26,000 | 75.0% |
| Louisiana State University | $19,750 | 78.0% |
| Southern University | $11,000 | 20.0% |
Conditional scholarships
Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.
Source: Standard 509(b)(3)
| Offers conditional scholarships | yes |
|---|---|
| Entering with a conditional award (2024) | 158 |
| Kept the award after year one | 88.6% |
| Award reduced or eliminated | 18 |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 3 law schools in Louisiana that report retention rate, Loyola University-New Orleans has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Retention rate | Entering with award |
|---|---|---|
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | 88.6% | 158 |
| Louisiana State University | 79.1% | 163 |
| Southern University | 61.9% | 21 |
| Tulane University | — | — |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 673 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 649 |
| First-year JD students | 222 |
| Non-JD students | 24 |
| First-year class size | 223 |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report jd students, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 2nd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Southern University | 809 | 331 |
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | 649 | 222 |
| Louisiana State University | 635 | 230 |
| Tulane University | 628 | 241 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 163 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 116 |
| First-time passage rate | 71.2% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 82.9% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 77.8% |
How Loyola University-New Orleans compares within Louisiana
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report first-time rate, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 3rd highest.
The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Louisiana State University | 85.4% | 98.0% |
| Tulane University | 76.1% | 84.2% |
| Loyola University-New Orleans ← this school | 71.2% | 77.8% |
| Southern University | 68.1% | 69.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 223 |
|---|---|
| White | 140 |
| Black | 23 |
| Hispanic | 31 |
| Asian | 4 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 13 |
| Race not reported | 11 |
| Men | 113 |
| Women | 109 |
| Another gender | 1 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Loyola University-New Orleans 509 report show?
Loyola University-New Orleans's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,241 applicants received 632 offers (50.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $26,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.2%.
How does Loyola University-New Orleans compare with other law schools in Louisiana?
Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Loyola University-New Orleans has the 2nd highest.
How many applicants did Loyola University-New Orleans receive, and how many were admitted?
Loyola University-New Orleans received 1,241 completed applications and issued 632 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 50.9%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Loyola University-New Orleans?
For Loyola University-New Orleans, in-state tuition is $55,024 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $29,205, the median grant is $26,000 per year, 75% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Loyola University-New Orleans?
Loyola University-New Orleans had a first-time bar passage rate of 71.2% across 163 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 77.8%.