Southern University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Southern University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Southern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,153 applicants received 652 offers (56.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 147, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Baton Rouge, Louisiana · Report year 2025 · all Southern University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,153
Offers of admission652
Acceptance rate56.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool281
Enrolled in the first-year class331
First-year class size300
LSAT 25th percentile145
LSAT median147
LSAT 75th percentile150
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile2.86
Undergraduate GPA median3.15
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.48
Students who submitted LSAT scores300
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Southern University has the highest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern University ← this school56.5%1471,153
Loyola University-New Orleans50.9%1541,241
Tulane University40.0%1612,069
Louisiana State University38.5%1571,253

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$11,338
Non-resident tuition (annual)$11,338
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$7,494
Living on campus$32,262
Living off campus$32,262
Tuition guaranteeno

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report annual tuition, Southern University has the lowest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Tulane University$69,578$29,670
Loyola University-New Orleans$55,024$29,205
Louisiana State University$19,750$27,034
Southern University ← this school$11,338$32,262

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid20.0%
Median grant (per year)$11,000
25th percentile grant$8,000
75th percentile grant$13,000
Half tuition or less13.0%
Above half, below full7.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report median grant, Southern University has the lowest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Tulane University$37,50087.0%
Loyola University-New Orleans$26,00075.0%
Louisiana State University$19,75078.0%
Southern University ← this school$11,00020.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)21
Kept the award after year one61.9%
Award reduced or eliminated8

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 3 law schools in Louisiana that report retention rate, Southern University has the lowest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Loyola University-New Orleans88.6%158
Louisiana State University79.1%163
Southern University ← this school61.9%21
Tulane University——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled809
JD students (all years)809
First-year JD students331
Non-JD students0
First-year class size300

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report jd students, Southern University has the highest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Southern University ← this school809331
Loyola University-New Orleans649222
Louisiana State University635230
Tulane University628241

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers141
First-time passers96
First-time passage rate68.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)59.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)69.8%

How Southern University compares within Louisiana

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report first-time rate, Southern University has the lowest.

The 4 law schools in Louisiana, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Louisiana State University85.4%98.0%
Tulane University76.1%84.2%
Loyola University-New Orleans71.2%77.8%
Southern University ← this school68.1%69.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class300
White66
Black198
Hispanic20
Asian1
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial13
Race not reported2
Men86
Women214
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Southern University 509 report show?

Southern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,153 applicants received 652 offers (56.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 147, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.1%.

How does Southern University compare with other law schools in Louisiana?

Among the 4 law schools in Louisiana that report acceptance rate, Southern University has the highest.

How many applicants did Southern University receive, and how many were admitted?

Southern University received 1,153 completed applications and issued 652 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 56.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Southern University?

For Southern University, in-state tuition is $11,338 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,262, the median grant is $11,000 per year, 20% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Southern University?

Southern University had a first-time bar passage rate of 68.1% across 141 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 69.8%.