University of City University of New York ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of City University of New York, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of City University of New York's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,300 applicants received 659 offers (28.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $8,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 69.0%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
New York City, New York · Report year 2025 · all University of City University of New York data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 2,300 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 659 |
| Acceptance rate | 28.6% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 210 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 220 |
| First-year class size | 219 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 152 |
| LSAT median | 155 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 161 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.26 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.54 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.77 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 217 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How University of City University of New York compares within New York
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, University of City University of New York has the 10th highest.
The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Touro University | 45.6% | 153 | 1,462 |
| Pace University | 44.1% | 154 | 2,293 |
| Brooklyn Law School | 44.0% | 161 | 4,600 |
| Buffalo, University at | 42.4% | 157 | 977 |
| Hofstra University | 40.6% | 157 | 2,448 |
| New York Law School | 39.7% | 157 | 4,114 |
| Albany Law School | 37.5% | 158 | 2,638 |
| Syracuse University | 34.6% | 158 | 2,752 |
| Cardozo, Yeshiva University | 29.6% | 165 | 3,833 |
| University of City University of New York ← this school | 28.6% | 155 | 2,300 |
| St. John's University | 23.1% | 164 | 4,417 |
| Cornell University | 18.2% | 173 | 4,608 |
| Fordham University | 16.2% | 168 | 8,811 |
| New York University | 13.4% | 172 | 10,546 |
| Columbia University | 11.8% | 173 | 9,463 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $15,450 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $25,640 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | $655 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $563 |
| Living on campus | not reported |
| Living off campus | $30,805 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of City University of New York compares within New York
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report annual tuition, University of City University of New York has the lowest.
The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Columbia University | $85,368 | $31,554 |
| Cornell University | $84,722 | $32,952 |
| New York University | $83,952 | $36,094 |
| Fordham University | $78,078 | $37,354 |
| Brooklyn Law School | $75,496 | $36,528 |
| St. John's University | $75,170 | $32,728 |
| Cardozo, Yeshiva University | $74,438 | $34,114 |
| Hofstra University | $73,344 | $36,009 |
| New York Law School | $71,052 | $23,759 |
| Syracuse University | $64,650 | $24,472 |
| Albany Law School | $63,994 | $21,844 |
| Touro University | $61,000 | $52,602 |
| Pace University | $56,648 | $33,422 |
| Buffalo, University at | $26,430 | $24,814 |
| University of City University of New York ← this school | $15,450 | $30,805 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 17.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $8,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $8,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $8,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 11.0% |
| Above half, below full | 6.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How University of City University of New York compares within New York
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report median grant, University of City University of New York has the 14th highest.
The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| St. John's University | $60,000 | 84.0% |
| Cardozo, Yeshiva University | $40,000 | 98.0% |
| New York Law School | $40,000 | 85.0% |
| Albany Law School | $38,000 | 94.0% |
| Hofstra University | $35,793 | 84.0% |
| Fordham University | $35,000 | 87.0% |
| Brooklyn Law School | $34,000 | 91.0% |
| Columbia University | $32,000 | 54.0% |
| Cornell University | $30,000 | 91.0% |
| Pace University | $29,000 | 93.0% |
| Syracuse University | $24,351 | 91.0% |
| Touro University | $22,000 | 76.0% |
| New York University | $20,000 | 66.0% |
| University of City University of New York ← this school | $8,000 | 17.0% |
| Buffalo, University at | $7,500 | 51.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 695 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 695 |
| First-year JD students | 220 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 219 |
How University of City University of New York compares within New York
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report jd students, University of City University of New York has the 11th highest.
The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| New York University | 1,405 | 454 |
| Columbia University | 1,377 | 445 |
| Fordham University | 1,352 | 444 |
| Brooklyn Law School | 1,126 | 417 |
| New York Law School | 1,107 | 409 |
| Cardozo, Yeshiva University | 946 | 326 |
| Pace University | 873 | 298 |
| Hofstra University | 800 | 264 |
| St. John's University | 758 | 248 |
| Syracuse University | 750 | 370 |
| University of City University of New York ← this school | 695 | 220 |
| Albany Law School | 615 | 239 |
| Cornell University | 611 | 217 |
| Touro University | 604 | 222 |
| Buffalo, University at | 430 | 172 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 197 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 136 |
| First-time passage rate | 69.0% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 84.5% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 79.6% |
How University of City University of New York compares within New York
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report first-time rate, University of City University of New York has the 13th highest.
The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| New York University | 96.9% | 98.7% |
| Columbia University | 94.7% | 98.2% |
| Cornell University | 93.7% | 97.4% |
| Fordham University | 90.8% | 96.4% |
| Buffalo, University at | 88.5% | 94.6% |
| Cardozo, Yeshiva University | 87.8% | 95.1% |
| St. John's University | 87.5% | 93.9% |
| Albany Law School | 86.7% | 83.0% |
| New York Law School | 86.5% | 89.0% |
| Brooklyn Law School | 85.5% | 94.2% |
| Syracuse University | 84.8% | 94.0% |
| Hofstra University | 79.2% | 89.9% |
| University of City University of New York ← this school | 69.0% | 79.6% |
| Touro University | 67.9% | 75.2% |
| Pace University | 65.2% | 79.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 219 |
|---|---|
| White | 65 |
| Black | 45 |
| Hispanic | 45 |
| Asian | 39 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 17 |
| Race not reported | 8 |
| Men | 59 |
| Women | 114 |
| Another gender | 23 |
| Gender not reported | 23 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of City University of New York 509 report show?
University of City University of New York's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,300 applicants received 659 offers (28.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $8,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 69.0%.
How does University of City University of New York compare with other law schools in New York?
Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, University of City University of New York has the 10th highest.
How many applicants did University of City University of New York receive, and how many were admitted?
University of City University of New York received 2,300 completed applications and issued 659 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 28.6%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of City University of New York?
For University of City University of New York, in-state tuition is $15,450 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $30,805, the median grant is $8,000 per year, 17% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of City University of New York?
University of City University of New York had a first-time bar passage rate of 69.0% across 197 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 79.6%.