Hofstra University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Hofstra University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Hofstra University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,448 applicants received 993 offers (40.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $35,793 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Hempstead, New York · Report year 2025 · all Hofstra University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,448
Offers of admission993
Acceptance rate40.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool259
Enrolled in the first-year class264
First-year class size263
LSAT 25th percentile154
LSAT median157
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.35
Undergraduate GPA median3.65
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.83
Students who submitted LSAT scores260
Students who submitted GRE scores2

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Hofstra University has the 5th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Touro University45.6%1531,462
Pace University44.1%1542,293
Brooklyn Law School44.0%1614,600
Buffalo, University at42.4%157977
Hofstra University ← this school40.6%1572,448
New York Law School39.7%1574,114
Albany Law School37.5%1582,638
Syracuse University34.6%1582,752
Cardozo, Yeshiva University29.6%1653,833
University of City University of New York28.6%1552,300
St. John's University23.1%1644,417
Cornell University18.2%1734,608
Fordham University16.2%1688,811
New York University13.4%17210,546
Columbia University11.8%1739,463

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$73,344
Non-resident tuition (annual)$73,344
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,516
Living on campus$32,035
Living off campus$36,009
Tuition guaranteeno

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report annual tuition, Hofstra University has the 8th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Columbia University$85,368$31,554
Cornell University$84,722$32,952
New York University$83,952$36,094
Fordham University$78,078$37,354
Brooklyn Law School$75,496$36,528
St. John's University$75,170$32,728
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$74,438$34,114
Hofstra University ← this school$73,344$36,009
New York Law School$71,052$23,759
Syracuse University$64,650$24,472
Albany Law School$63,994$21,844
Touro University$61,000$52,602
Pace University$56,648$33,422
Buffalo, University at$26,430$24,814
University of City University of New York$15,450$30,805

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid84.0%
Median grant (per year)$35,793
25th percentile grant$17,500
75th percentile grant$71,586
Half tuition or less41.0%
Above half, below full20.0%
Full tuition23.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report median grant, Hofstra University has the 5th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
St. John's University$60,00084.0%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$40,00098.0%
New York Law School$40,00085.0%
Albany Law School$38,00094.0%
Hofstra University ← this school$35,79384.0%
Fordham University$35,00087.0%
Brooklyn Law School$34,00091.0%
Columbia University$32,00054.0%
Cornell University$30,00091.0%
Pace University$29,00093.0%
Syracuse University$24,35191.0%
Touro University$22,00076.0%
New York University$20,00066.0%
University of City University of New York$8,00017.0%
Buffalo, University at$7,50051.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)231
Kept the award after year one46.8%
Award reduced or eliminated123

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 5 law schools in New York that report retention rate, Hofstra University has the 3rd highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled843
JD students (all years)800
First-year JD students264
Non-JD students43
First-year class size263

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report jd students, Hofstra University has the 8th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers264
First-time passers209
First-time passage rate79.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)91.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)89.9%

How Hofstra University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report first-time rate, Hofstra University has the 12th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
New York University96.9%98.7%
Columbia University94.7%98.2%
Cornell University93.7%97.4%
Fordham University90.8%96.4%
Buffalo, University at88.5%94.6%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University87.8%95.1%
St. John's University87.5%93.9%
Albany Law School86.7%83.0%
New York Law School86.5%89.0%
Brooklyn Law School85.5%94.2%
Syracuse University84.8%94.0%
Hofstra University ← this school79.2%89.9%
University of City University of New York69.0%79.6%
Touro University67.9%75.2%
Pace University65.2%79.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class263
White184
Black12
Hispanic29
Asian21
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander2
Multiracial10
Race not reported4
Men132
Women131
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Hofstra University 509 report show?

Hofstra University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,448 applicants received 993 offers (40.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $35,793 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.2%.

How does Hofstra University compare with other law schools in New York?

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Hofstra University has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did Hofstra University receive, and how many were admitted?

Hofstra University received 2,448 completed applications and issued 993 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 40.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Hofstra University?

For Hofstra University, in-state tuition is $73,344 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $36,009, the median grant is $35,793 per year, 84% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Hofstra University?

Hofstra University had a first-time bar passage rate of 79.2% across 264 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 89.9%.