Brooklyn Law School ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Brooklyn Law School, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Brooklyn Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,600 applicants received 2,024 offers (44.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $34,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

New York City, New York · Report year 2025 · all Brooklyn Law School data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,600
Offers of admission2,024
Acceptance rate44.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool414
Enrolled in the first-year class417
First-year class size414
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median161
LSAT 75th percentile163
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.37
Undergraduate GPA median3.59
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.75
Students who submitted LSAT scores405
Students who submitted GRE scores9

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Brooklyn Law School has the 3rd highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Touro University45.6%1531,462
Pace University44.1%1542,293
Brooklyn Law School ← this school44.0%1614,600
Buffalo, University at42.4%157977
Hofstra University40.6%1572,448
New York Law School39.7%1574,114
Albany Law School37.5%1582,638
Syracuse University34.6%1582,752
Cardozo, Yeshiva University29.6%1653,833
University of City University of New York28.6%1552,300
St. John's University23.1%1644,417
Cornell University18.2%1734,608
Fordham University16.2%1688,811
New York University13.4%17210,546
Columbia University11.8%1739,463

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$75,496
Non-resident tuition (annual)$75,496
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$2,664
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,450
Living on campus$36,528
Living off campus$36,528
Tuition guaranteeyes

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report annual tuition, Brooklyn Law School has the 5th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Columbia University$85,368$31,554
Cornell University$84,722$32,952
New York University$83,952$36,094
Fordham University$78,078$37,354
Brooklyn Law School ← this school$75,496$36,528
St. John's University$75,170$32,728
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$74,438$34,114
Hofstra University$73,344$36,009
New York Law School$71,052$23,759
Syracuse University$64,650$24,472
Albany Law School$63,994$21,844
Touro University$61,000$52,602
Pace University$56,648$33,422
Buffalo, University at$26,430$24,814
University of City University of New York$15,450$30,805

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid91.0%
Median grant (per year)$34,000
25th percentile grant$25,000
75th percentile grant$48,000
Half tuition or less45.0%
Above half, below full42.0%
Full tuition4.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report median grant, Brooklyn Law School has the 7th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
St. John's University$60,00084.0%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$40,00098.0%
New York Law School$40,00085.0%
Albany Law School$38,00094.0%
Hofstra University$35,79384.0%
Fordham University$35,00087.0%
Brooklyn Law School ← this school$34,00091.0%
Columbia University$32,00054.0%
Cornell University$30,00091.0%
Pace University$29,00093.0%
Syracuse University$24,35191.0%
Touro University$22,00076.0%
New York University$20,00066.0%
University of City University of New York$8,00017.0%
Buffalo, University at$7,50051.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)360
Kept the award after year one80.8%
Award reduced or eliminated69

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 5 law schools in New York that report retention rate, Brooklyn Law School has the highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,138
JD students (all years)1,126
First-year JD students417
Non-JD students12
First-year class size414

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report jd students, Brooklyn Law School has the 4th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers358
First-time passers306
First-time passage rate85.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)90.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)94.2%

How Brooklyn Law School compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report first-time rate, Brooklyn Law School has the 10th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
New York University96.9%98.7%
Columbia University94.7%98.2%
Cornell University93.7%97.4%
Fordham University90.8%96.4%
Buffalo, University at88.5%94.6%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University87.8%95.1%
St. John's University87.5%93.9%
Albany Law School86.7%83.0%
New York Law School86.5%89.0%
Brooklyn Law School ← this school85.5%94.2%
Syracuse University84.8%94.0%
Hofstra University79.2%89.9%
University of City University of New York69.0%79.6%
Touro University67.9%75.2%
Pace University65.2%79.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class414
White269
Black11
Hispanic53
Asian50
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported17
Men162
Women239
Another gender7
Gender not reported6

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Brooklyn Law School 509 report show?

Brooklyn Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,600 applicants received 2,024 offers (44.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $34,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.5%.

How does Brooklyn Law School compare with other law schools in New York?

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Brooklyn Law School has the 3rd highest.

How many applicants did Brooklyn Law School receive, and how many were admitted?

Brooklyn Law School received 4,600 completed applications and issued 2,024 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 44.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Brooklyn Law School?

For Brooklyn Law School, in-state tuition is $75,496 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $36,528, the median grant is $34,000 per year, 91% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Brooklyn Law School?

Brooklyn Law School had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.5% across 358 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.2%.