Columbia University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Columbia University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Columbia University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 9,463 applicants received 1,120 offers (11.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

New York City, New York · Report year 2025 · all Columbia University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications9,463
Offers of admission1,120
Acceptance rate11.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool411
Enrolled in the first-year class445
First-year class size444
LSAT 25th percentile169
LSAT median173
LSAT 75th percentile175
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.85
Undergraduate GPA median3.92
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.98
Students who submitted LSAT scores405
Students who submitted GRE scores37

How Columbia University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Columbia University has the lowest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Touro University45.6%1531,462
Pace University44.1%1542,293
Brooklyn Law School44.0%1614,600
Buffalo, University at42.4%157977
Hofstra University40.6%1572,448
New York Law School39.7%1574,114
Albany Law School37.5%1582,638
Syracuse University34.6%1582,752
Cardozo, Yeshiva University29.6%1653,833
University of City University of New York28.6%1552,300
St. John's University23.1%1644,417
Cornell University18.2%1734,608
Fordham University16.2%1688,811
New York University13.4%17210,546
Columbia University ← this school11.8%1739,463

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$85,368
Non-resident tuition (annual)$85,368
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$4,272
Mandatory fees (full-time)$3,022
Living on campus$31,554
Living off campus$31,554
Tuition guaranteeno

How Columbia University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report annual tuition, Columbia University has the highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Columbia University ← this school$85,368$31,554
Cornell University$84,722$32,952
New York University$83,952$36,094
Fordham University$78,078$37,354
Brooklyn Law School$75,496$36,528
St. John's University$75,170$32,728
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$74,438$34,114
Hofstra University$73,344$36,009
New York Law School$71,052$23,759
Syracuse University$64,650$24,472
Albany Law School$63,994$21,844
Touro University$61,000$52,602
Pace University$56,648$33,422
Buffalo, University at$26,430$24,814
University of City University of New York$15,450$30,805

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid54.0%
Median grant (per year)$32,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$48,000
Half tuition or less36.0%
Above half, below full13.0%
Full tuition5.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Columbia University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report median grant, Columbia University has the 8th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
St. John's University$60,00084.0%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$40,00098.0%
New York Law School$40,00085.0%
Albany Law School$38,00094.0%
Hofstra University$35,79384.0%
Fordham University$35,00087.0%
Brooklyn Law School$34,00091.0%
Columbia University ← this school$32,00054.0%
Cornell University$30,00091.0%
Pace University$29,00093.0%
Syracuse University$24,35191.0%
Touro University$22,00076.0%
New York University$20,00066.0%
University of City University of New York$8,00017.0%
Buffalo, University at$7,50051.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,740
JD students (all years)1,377
First-year JD students445
Non-JD students363
First-year class size444

How Columbia University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report jd students, Columbia University has the 2nd highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers455
First-time passers431
First-time passage rate94.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)99.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.2%

How Columbia University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report first-time rate, Columbia University has the 2nd highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
New York University96.9%98.7%
Columbia University ← this school94.7%98.2%
Cornell University93.7%97.4%
Fordham University90.8%96.4%
Buffalo, University at88.5%94.6%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University87.8%95.1%
St. John's University87.5%93.9%
Albany Law School86.7%83.0%
New York Law School86.5%89.0%
Brooklyn Law School85.5%94.2%
Syracuse University84.8%94.0%
Hofstra University79.2%89.9%
University of City University of New York69.0%79.6%
Touro University67.9%75.2%
Pace University65.2%79.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class444
White158
Black48
Hispanic57
Asian128
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial29
Race not reported23
Men200
Women238
Another gender4
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Columbia University 509 report show?

Columbia University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 9,463 applicants received 1,120 offers (11.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.7%.

How does Columbia University compare with other law schools in New York?

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, Columbia University has the lowest.

How many applicants did Columbia University receive, and how many were admitted?

Columbia University received 9,463 completed applications and issued 1,120 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 11.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Columbia University?

For Columbia University, in-state tuition is $85,368 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $31,554, the median grant is $32,000 per year, 54% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Columbia University?

Columbia University had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.7% across 455 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.2%.