St. John's University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for St. John's University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

St. John's University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,417 applicants received 1,018 offers (23.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $60,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

New York City, New York · Report year 2025 · all St. John's University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,417
Offers of admission1,018
Acceptance rate23.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool238
Enrolled in the first-year class248
First-year class size241
LSAT 25th percentile156
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile166
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.44
Undergraduate GPA median3.81
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.91
Students who submitted LSAT scores232
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How St. John's University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, St. John's University has the 11th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Touro University45.6%1531,462
Pace University44.1%1542,293
Brooklyn Law School44.0%1614,600
Buffalo, University at42.4%157977
Hofstra University40.6%1572,448
New York Law School39.7%1574,114
Albany Law School37.5%1582,638
Syracuse University34.6%1582,752
Cardozo, Yeshiva University29.6%1653,833
University of City University of New York28.6%1552,300
St. John's University ← this school23.1%1644,417
Cornell University18.2%1734,608
Fordham University16.2%1688,811
New York University13.4%17210,546
Columbia University11.8%1739,463

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$75,170
Non-resident tuition (annual)$75,170
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,572
Living on campus$30,826
Living off campus$32,728
Tuition guaranteeno

How St. John's University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report annual tuition, St. John's University has the 6th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Columbia University$85,368$31,554
Cornell University$84,722$32,952
New York University$83,952$36,094
Fordham University$78,078$37,354
Brooklyn Law School$75,496$36,528
St. John's University ← this school$75,170$32,728
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$74,438$34,114
Hofstra University$73,344$36,009
New York Law School$71,052$23,759
Syracuse University$64,650$24,472
Albany Law School$63,994$21,844
Touro University$61,000$52,602
Pace University$56,648$33,422
Buffalo, University at$26,430$24,814
University of City University of New York$15,450$30,805

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid84.0%
Median grant (per year)$60,000
25th percentile grant$25,000
75th percentile grant$72,630
Half tuition or less34.0%
Above half, below full50.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How St. John's University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report median grant, St. John's University has the highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
St. John's University ← this school$60,00084.0%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University$40,00098.0%
New York Law School$40,00085.0%
Albany Law School$38,00094.0%
Hofstra University$35,79384.0%
Fordham University$35,00087.0%
Brooklyn Law School$34,00091.0%
Columbia University$32,00054.0%
Cornell University$30,00091.0%
Pace University$29,00093.0%
Syracuse University$24,35191.0%
Touro University$22,00076.0%
New York University$20,00066.0%
University of City University of New York$8,00017.0%
Buffalo, University at$7,50051.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled816
JD students (all years)758
First-year JD students248
Non-JD students58
First-year class size241

How St. John's University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report jd students, St. John's University has the 9th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers249
First-time passers218
First-time passage rate87.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)93.9%

How St. John's University compares within New York

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report first-time rate, St. John's University has the 7th highest.

The 15 law schools in New York, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
New York University96.9%98.7%
Columbia University94.7%98.2%
Cornell University93.7%97.4%
Fordham University90.8%96.4%
Buffalo, University at88.5%94.6%
Cardozo, Yeshiva University87.8%95.1%
St. John's University ← this school87.5%93.9%
Albany Law School86.7%83.0%
New York Law School86.5%89.0%
Brooklyn Law School85.5%94.2%
Syracuse University84.8%94.0%
Hofstra University79.2%89.9%
University of City University of New York69.0%79.6%
Touro University67.9%75.2%
Pace University65.2%79.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class241
White123
Black26
Hispanic40
Asian29
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported9
Men114
Women124
Another gender0
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the St. John's University 509 report show?

St. John's University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,417 applicants received 1,018 offers (23.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $60,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.5%.

How does St. John's University compare with other law schools in New York?

Among the 15 law schools in New York that report acceptance rate, St. John's University has the 11th highest.

How many applicants did St. John's University receive, and how many were admitted?

St. John's University received 4,417 completed applications and issued 1,018 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 23.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at St. John's University?

For St. John's University, in-state tuition is $75,170 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,728, the median grant is $60,000 per year, 84% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at St. John's University?

St. John's University had a first-time bar passage rate of 87.5% across 249 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.9%.