University of South Carolina ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of South Carolina, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of South Carolina's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,114 applicants received 632 offers (29.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 162, the median grant was $12,562 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Columbia, South Carolina · Report year 2025 · all University of South Carolina data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,114
Offers of admission632
Acceptance rate29.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool215
Enrolled in the first-year class227
First-year class size221
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median162
LSAT 75th percentile164
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.43
Undergraduate GPA median3.67
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.86
Students who submitted LSAT scores218
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$20,322
Non-resident tuition (annual)$38,100
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$3,700
Living on campus$25,392
Living off campus$25,392
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid90.0%
Median grant (per year)$12,562
25th percentile grant$8,000
75th percentile grant$18,000
Half tuition or less61.0%
Above half, below full25.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled699
JD students (all years)649
First-year JD students227
Non-JD students50
First-year class size221

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers191
First-time passers172
First-time passage rate90.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)88.7%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class221
White173
Black7
Hispanic11
Asian4
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial10
Race not reported16
Men121
Women100
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of South Carolina 509 report show?

University of South Carolina's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,114 applicants received 632 offers (29.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 162, the median grant was $12,562 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.0%.

How many applicants did University of South Carolina receive, and how many were admitted?

University of South Carolina received 2,114 completed applications and issued 632 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 29.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of South Carolina?

For University of South Carolina, in-state tuition is $20,322 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,392, the median grant is $12,562 per year, 90% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of South Carolina?

University of South Carolina had a first-time bar passage rate of 90.0% across 191 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 88.7%.