West Virginia University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for West Virginia University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

West Virginia University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 590 applicants received 238 offers (40.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $17,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 78.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Morgantown, West Virginia · Report year 2025 · all West Virginia University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications590
Offers of admission238
Acceptance rate40.3%
Enrollees from the applicant pool114
Enrolled in the first-year class119
First-year class size114
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile159
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.34
Undergraduate GPA median3.65
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.89
Students who submitted LSAT scores113
Students who submitted GRE scores1

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$26,370
Non-resident tuition (annual)$45,666
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$1,543
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,404
Living on campus$26,466
Living off campus$26,466
Tuition guaranteeno

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid77.0%
Median grant (per year)$17,500
25th percentile grant$10,848
75th percentile grant$26,110
Half tuition or less32.0%
Above half, below full36.0%
Full tuition6.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)7
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled310
JD students (all years)310
First-year JD students119
Non-JD students0
First-year class size114

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers94
First-time passers74
First-time passage rate78.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)88.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)87.6%

West Virginia University is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class114
White94
Black4
Hispanic5
Asian3
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial5
Race not reported3
Men55
Women58
Another gender1
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the West Virginia University 509 report show?

West Virginia University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 590 applicants received 238 offers (40.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $17,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 78.7%.

How many applicants did West Virginia University receive, and how many were admitted?

West Virginia University received 590 completed applications and issued 238 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 40.3%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at West Virginia University?

For West Virginia University, in-state tuition is $26,370 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,466, the median grant is $17,500 per year, 77% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at West Virginia University?

West Virginia University had a first-time bar passage rate of 78.7% across 94 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 87.6%.