The University of Alabama ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for The University of Alabama, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
The University of Alabama's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,748 applicants received 448 offers (25.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 167, the median grant was $21,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.2%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Tuscaloosa, Alabama · Report year 2025 · all The University of Alabama data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,748 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 448 |
| Acceptance rate | 25.6% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 137 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 140 |
| First-year class size | 140 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 161 |
| LSAT median | 167 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 168 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.76 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.97 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 4.05 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 130 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How The University of Alabama compares within Alabama
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report acceptance rate, The University of Alabama has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Faulkner University | 53.9% | 150 | 620 |
| Samford University | 49.0% | 156 | 925 |
| The University of Alabama ← this school | 25.6% | 167 | 1,748 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $24,980 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $48,100 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $899 |
| Living on campus | $22,620 |
| Living off campus | $22,620 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How The University of Alabama compares within Alabama
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report annual tuition, The University of Alabama has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Samford University | $46,334 | $31,226 |
| Faulkner University | $39,900 | $32,600 |
| The University of Alabama ← this school | $24,980 | $22,620 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 96.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $21,500 |
| 25th percentile grant | $12,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $30,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 30.0% |
| Above half, below full | 41.0% |
| Full tuition | 6.0% |
| Above full tuition | 19.0% |
How The University of Alabama compares within Alabama
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report median grant, The University of Alabama has the highest.
The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama ← this school | $21,500 | 96.0% |
| Samford University | $20,000 | 93.0% |
| Faulkner University | $15,960 | 72.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 392 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 388 |
| First-year JD students | 140 |
| Non-JD students | 4 |
| First-year class size | 140 |
How The University of Alabama compares within Alabama
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report jd students, The University of Alabama has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Samford University | 471 | 170 |
| Faulkner University | 411 | 212 |
| The University of Alabama ← this school | 388 | 140 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 147 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 140 |
| First-time passage rate | 95.2% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 99.2% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 95.8% |
How The University of Alabama compares within Alabama
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report first-time rate, The University of Alabama has the highest.
The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama ← this school | 95.2% | 95.8% |
| Samford University | 90.4% | 92.7% |
| Faulkner University | 67.5% | 85.5% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 140 |
|---|---|
| White | 114 |
| Black | 9 |
| Hispanic | 3 |
| Asian | 2 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 5 |
| Race not reported | 7 |
| Men | 72 |
| Women | 61 |
| Another gender | 2 |
| Gender not reported | 5 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the The University of Alabama 509 report show?
The University of Alabama's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,748 applicants received 448 offers (25.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 167, the median grant was $21,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.2%.
How does The University of Alabama compare with other law schools in Alabama?
Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report acceptance rate, The University of Alabama has the lowest.
How many applicants did The University of Alabama receive, and how many were admitted?
The University of Alabama received 1,748 completed applications and issued 448 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 25.6%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at The University of Alabama?
For The University of Alabama, in-state tuition is $24,980 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $22,620, the median grant is $21,500 per year, 96% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at The University of Alabama?
The University of Alabama had a first-time bar passage rate of 95.2% across 147 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.8%.