Samford University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Samford University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Samford University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 925 applicants received 453 offers (49.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Birmingham, Alabama · Report year 2025 · all Samford University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications925
Offers of admission453
Acceptance rate49.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool168
Enrolled in the first-year class170
First-year class size170
LSAT 25th percentile154
LSAT median156
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.42
Undergraduate GPA median3.63
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.84
Students who submitted LSAT scores170
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report acceptance rate, Samford University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Faulkner University53.9%150620
Samford University ← this school49.0%156925
The University of Alabama25.6%1671,748

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$46,334
Non-resident tuition (annual)$46,334
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$1,537
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,000
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$31,226
Tuition guaranteeno

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report annual tuition, Samford University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Samford University ← this school$46,334$31,226
Faulkner University$39,900$32,600
The University of Alabama$24,980$22,620

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid93.0%
Median grant (per year)$20,000
25th percentile grant$7,500
75th percentile grant$27,000
Half tuition or less49.0%
Above half, below full43.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report median grant, Samford University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
The University of Alabama$21,50096.0%
Samford University ← this school$20,00093.0%
Faulkner University$15,96072.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)155
Kept the award after year one95.5%
Award reduced or eliminated7

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 1 law schools in Alabama that report retention rate, Samford University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Samford University ← this school95.5%155
Faulkner University——
The University of Alabama——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled500
JD students (all years)471
First-year JD students170
Non-JD students29
First-year class size170

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report jd students, Samford University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Samford University ← this school471170
Faulkner University411212
The University of Alabama388140

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers136
First-time passers123
First-time passage rate90.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.7%

How Samford University compares within Alabama

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report first-time rate, Samford University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Alabama, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Alabama95.2%95.8%
Samford University ← this school90.4%92.7%
Faulkner University67.5%85.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class170
White143
Black7
Hispanic8
Asian2
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial6
Race not reported4
Men79
Women91
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Samford University 509 report show?

Samford University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 925 applicants received 453 offers (49.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.4%.

How does Samford University compare with other law schools in Alabama?

Among the 3 law schools in Alabama that report acceptance rate, Samford University has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did Samford University receive, and how many were admitted?

Samford University received 925 completed applications and issued 453 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 49.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Samford University?

For Samford University, in-state tuition is $46,334 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $31,226, the median grant is $20,000 per year, 93% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Samford University?

Samford University had a first-time bar passage rate of 90.4% across 136 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.7%.