University of District of Columbia ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of District of Columbia, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of District of Columbia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 749 applicants received 277 offers (37.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $8,292 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 57.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Washington, District of Columbia · Report year 2025 · all University of District of Columbia data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications749
Offers of admission277
Acceptance rate37.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool72
Enrolled in the first-year class90
First-year class size83
LSAT 25th percentile148
LSAT median151
LSAT 75th percentile153
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.05
Undergraduate GPA median3.28
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.55
Students who submitted LSAT scores83
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How University of District of Columbia compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, University of District of Columbia has the highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
University of District of Columbia ← this school37.0%151749
American University33.3%1625,952
Catholic University of America, The32.4%1611,867
George Washington University, The27.2%1689,718
Howard University24.1%1562,428
Georgetown University15.8%17113,924

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$12,438
Non-resident tuition (annual)$24,874
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,000
Living on campus$34,035
Living off campus$34,035
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of District of Columbia compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report annual tuition, University of District of Columbia has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Georgetown University$83,576$33,905
George Washington University, The$75,420$25,240
American University$66,990$33,832
Catholic University of America, The$61,580$32,374
Howard University$39,780$38,251
University of District of Columbia ← this school$12,438$34,035

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid70.0%
Median grant (per year)$8,292
25th percentile grant$5,458
75th percentile grant$12,436
Half tuition or less37.0%
Above half, below full30.0%
Full tuition2.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How University of District of Columbia compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report median grant, University of District of Columbia has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
American University$40,00059.0%
Georgetown University$35,00061.0%
George Washington University, The$28,00077.0%
Catholic University of America, The$26,00099.0%
Howard University$23,65748.0%
University of District of Columbia ← this school$8,29270.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled236
JD students (all years)236
First-year JD students90
Non-JD students0
First-year class size83

How University of District of Columbia compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report jd students, University of District of Columbia has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Georgetown University2,266675
George Washington University, The1,728612
American University1,199413
Howard University555177
Catholic University of America, The432182
University of District of Columbia ← this school23690

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers76
First-time passers44
First-time passage rate57.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)73.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)69.2%

How University of District of Columbia compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report first-time rate, University of District of Columbia has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Georgetown University94.5%96.5%
Catholic University of America, The90.4%92.8%
George Washington University, The87.7%97.4%
American University86.6%92.4%
Howard University78.0%88.5%
University of District of Columbia ← this school57.9%69.2%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class83
White13
Black40
Hispanic14
Asian8
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial8
Race not reported0
Men29
Women54
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of District of Columbia 509 report show?

University of District of Columbia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 749 applicants received 277 offers (37.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $8,292 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 57.9%.

How does University of District of Columbia compare with other law schools in District of Columbia?

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, University of District of Columbia has the highest.

How many applicants did University of District of Columbia receive, and how many were admitted?

University of District of Columbia received 749 completed applications and issued 277 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 37.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of District of Columbia?

For University of District of Columbia, in-state tuition is $12,438 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,035, the median grant is $8,292 per year, 70% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of District of Columbia?

University of District of Columbia had a first-time bar passage rate of 57.9% across 76 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 69.2%.