Catholic University of America, The ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Catholic University of America, The, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Catholic University of America, The's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,867 applicants received 605 offers (32.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $26,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Washington, District of Columbia · Report year 2025 · all Catholic University of America, The data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,867
Offers of admission605
Acceptance rate32.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool179
Enrolled in the first-year class182
First-year class size182
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median161
LSAT 75th percentile163
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.46
Undergraduate GPA median3.68
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.85
Students who submitted LSAT scores182
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Catholic University of America, The has the 3rd highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
University of District of Columbia37.0%151749
American University33.3%1625,952
Catholic University of America, The ← this school32.4%1611,867
George Washington University, The27.2%1689,718
Howard University24.1%1562,428
Georgetown University15.8%17113,924

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$61,580
Non-resident tuition (annual)$61,580
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,700
Living on campus$27,168
Living off campus$32,374
Tuition guaranteeno

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report annual tuition, Catholic University of America, The has the 4th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Georgetown University$83,576$33,905
George Washington University, The$75,420$25,240
American University$66,990$33,832
Catholic University of America, The ← this school$61,580$32,374
Howard University$39,780$38,251
University of District of Columbia$12,438$34,035

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid99.0%
Median grant (per year)$26,000
25th percentile grant$15,727
75th percentile grant$45,000
Half tuition or less49.0%
Above half, below full49.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report median grant, Catholic University of America, The has the 4th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
American University$40,00059.0%
Georgetown University$35,00061.0%
George Washington University, The$28,00077.0%
Catholic University of America, The ← this school$26,00099.0%
Howard University$23,65748.0%
University of District of Columbia$8,29270.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)45
Kept the award after year one73.3%
Award reduced or eliminated12

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 2 law schools in District of Columbia that report retention rate, Catholic University of America, The has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Howard University100.0%261
Catholic University of America, The ← this school73.3%45
American University——
George Washington University, The——
Georgetown University——
University of District of Columbia——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled446
JD students (all years)432
First-year JD students182
Non-JD students14
First-year class size182

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report jd students, Catholic University of America, The has the 5th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Georgetown University2,266675
George Washington University, The1,728612
American University1,199413
Howard University555177
Catholic University of America, The ← this school432182
University of District of Columbia23690

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers104
First-time passers94
First-time passage rate90.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.8%

How Catholic University of America, The compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report first-time rate, Catholic University of America, The has the 2nd highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Georgetown University94.5%96.5%
Catholic University of America, The ← this school90.4%92.8%
George Washington University, The87.7%97.4%
American University86.6%92.4%
Howard University78.0%88.5%
University of District of Columbia57.9%69.2%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class182
White118
Black9
Hispanic5
Asian12
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial22
Race not reported16
Men85
Women95
Another gender0
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Catholic University of America, The 509 report show?

Catholic University of America, The's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,867 applicants received 605 offers (32.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $26,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.4%.

How does Catholic University of America, The compare with other law schools in District of Columbia?

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Catholic University of America, The has the 3rd highest.

How many applicants did Catholic University of America, The receive, and how many were admitted?

Catholic University of America, The received 1,867 completed applications and issued 605 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 32.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Catholic University of America, The?

For Catholic University of America, The, in-state tuition is $61,580 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,374, the median grant is $26,000 per year, 99% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Catholic University of America, The?

Catholic University of America, The had a first-time bar passage rate of 90.4% across 104 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.8%.