Georgetown University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Georgetown University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Georgetown University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 13,924 applicants received 2,193 offers (15.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Washington, District of Columbia · Report year 2025 · all Georgetown University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications13,924
Offers of admission2,193
Acceptance rate15.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool629
Enrolled in the first-year class675
First-year class size672
LSAT 25th percentile166
LSAT median171
LSAT 75th percentile173
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.75
Undergraduate GPA median3.93
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.98
Students who submitted LSAT scores627
Students who submitted GRE scores12

How Georgetown University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Georgetown University has the lowest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
University of District of Columbia37.0%151749
American University33.3%1625,952
Catholic University of America, The32.4%1611,867
George Washington University, The27.2%1689,718
Howard University24.1%1562,428
Georgetown University ← this school15.8%17113,924

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$83,576
Non-resident tuition (annual)$83,576
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$33,905
Living off campus$33,905
Tuition guaranteeno

How Georgetown University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report annual tuition, Georgetown University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Georgetown University ← this school$83,576$33,905
George Washington University, The$75,420$25,240
American University$66,990$33,832
Catholic University of America, The$61,580$32,374
Howard University$39,780$38,251
University of District of Columbia$12,438$34,035

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid61.0%
Median grant (per year)$35,000
25th percentile grant$25,000
75th percentile grant$47,500
Half tuition or less35.0%
Above half, below full23.0%
Full tuition2.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How Georgetown University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report median grant, Georgetown University has the 2nd highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
American University$40,00059.0%
Georgetown University ← this school$35,00061.0%
George Washington University, The$28,00077.0%
Catholic University of America, The$26,00099.0%
Howard University$23,65748.0%
University of District of Columbia$8,29270.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled3,028
JD students (all years)2,266
First-year JD students675
Non-JD students762
First-year class size672

How Georgetown University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report jd students, Georgetown University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Georgetown University ← this school2,266675
George Washington University, The1,728612
American University1,199413
Howard University555177
Catholic University of America, The432182
University of District of Columbia23690

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers679
First-time passers642
First-time passage rate94.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)95.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.5%

How Georgetown University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report first-time rate, Georgetown University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Georgetown University ← this school94.5%96.5%
Catholic University of America, The90.4%92.8%
George Washington University, The87.7%97.4%
American University86.6%92.4%
Howard University78.0%88.5%
University of District of Columbia57.9%69.2%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class672
White381
Black65
Hispanic51
Asian104
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial32
Race not reported39
Men263
Women395
Another gender8
Gender not reported6

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Georgetown University 509 report show?

Georgetown University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 13,924 applicants received 2,193 offers (15.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.5%.

How does Georgetown University compare with other law schools in District of Columbia?

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Georgetown University has the lowest.

How many applicants did Georgetown University receive, and how many were admitted?

Georgetown University received 13,924 completed applications and issued 2,193 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 15.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Georgetown University?

For Georgetown University, in-state tuition is $83,576 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $33,905, the median grant is $35,000 per year, 61% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Georgetown University?

Georgetown University had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.5% across 679 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.5%.