Howard University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Howard University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Howard University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,428 applicants received 584 offers (24.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $23,657 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 78.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Washington, District of Columbia · Report year 2025 · all Howard University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,428
Offers of admission584
Acceptance rate24.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool170
Enrolled in the first-year class177
First-year class size176
LSAT 25th percentile153
LSAT median156
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.4
Undergraduate GPA median3.63
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.8
Students who submitted LSAT scores176
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Howard University has the 5th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
University of District of Columbia37.0%151749
American University33.3%1625,952
Catholic University of America, The32.4%1611,867
George Washington University, The27.2%1689,718
Howard University ← this school24.1%1562,428
Georgetown University15.8%17113,924

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$39,780
Non-resident tuition (annual)$39,780
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,632
Living on campus$38,251
Living off campus$38,251
Tuition guaranteeno

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report annual tuition, Howard University has the 5th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Georgetown University$83,576$33,905
George Washington University, The$75,420$25,240
American University$66,990$33,832
Catholic University of America, The$61,580$32,374
Howard University ← this school$39,780$38,251
University of District of Columbia$12,438$34,035

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid48.0%
Median grant (per year)$23,657
25th percentile grant$10,037
75th percentile grant$32,364
Half tuition or less18.0%
Above half, below full25.0%
Full tuition5.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report median grant, Howard University has the 5th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
American University$40,00059.0%
Georgetown University$35,00061.0%
George Washington University, The$28,00077.0%
Catholic University of America, The$26,00099.0%
Howard University ← this school$23,65748.0%
University of District of Columbia$8,29270.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)261
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 2 law schools in District of Columbia that report retention rate, Howard University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Howard University ← this school100.0%261
Catholic University of America, The73.3%45
American University——
George Washington University, The——
Georgetown University——
University of District of Columbia——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled555
JD students (all years)555
First-year JD students177
Non-JD students0
First-year class size176

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report jd students, Howard University has the 4th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Georgetown University2,266675
George Washington University, The1,728612
American University1,199413
Howard University ← this school555177
Catholic University of America, The432182
University of District of Columbia23690

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers141
First-time passers110
First-time passage rate78.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)93.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)88.5%

How Howard University compares within District of Columbia

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report first-time rate, Howard University has the 5th highest.

The 6 law schools in District of Columbia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Georgetown University94.5%96.5%
Catholic University of America, The90.4%92.8%
George Washington University, The87.7%97.4%
American University86.6%92.4%
Howard University ← this school78.0%88.5%
University of District of Columbia57.9%69.2%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class176
White0
Black143
Hispanic16
Asian3
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported0
Men48
Women121
Another gender7
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Howard University 509 report show?

Howard University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,428 applicants received 584 offers (24.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $23,657 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 78.0%.

How does Howard University compare with other law schools in District of Columbia?

Among the 6 law schools in District of Columbia that report acceptance rate, Howard University has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did Howard University receive, and how many were admitted?

Howard University received 2,428 completed applications and issued 584 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Howard University?

For Howard University, in-state tuition is $39,780 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $38,251, the median grant is $23,657 per year, 48% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Howard University?

Howard University had a first-time bar passage rate of 78.0% across 141 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 88.5%.