Rutgers University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Rutgers University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Rutgers University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,305 applicants received 1,444 offers (33.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 158, the median grant was $16,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Newark, New Jersey · Report year 2025 · all Rutgers University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,305
Offers of admission1,444
Acceptance rate33.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool480
Enrolled in the first-year class490
First-year class size489
LSAT 25th percentile155
LSAT median158
LSAT 75th percentile161
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.35
Undergraduate GPA median3.66
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.82
Students who submitted LSAT scores489
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$31,577
Non-resident tuition (annual)$47,863
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$4,030
Living on campus$21,676
Living off campus$33,190
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid86.0%
Median grant (per year)$16,000
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$22,000
Half tuition or less54.0%
Above half, below full31.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,339
JD students (all years)1,339
First-year JD students490
Non-JD students0
First-year class size489

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers383
First-time passers303
First-time passage rate79.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)85.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)86.9%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class489
White267
Black53
Hispanic77
Asian56
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial12
Race not reported24
Men197
Women276
Another gender11
Gender not reported5

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Rutgers University 509 report show?

Rutgers University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,305 applicants received 1,444 offers (33.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 158, the median grant was $16,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.1%.

How many applicants did Rutgers University receive, and how many were admitted?

Rutgers University received 4,305 completed applications and issued 1,444 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 33.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Rutgers University?

For Rutgers University, in-state tuition is $31,577 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $33,190, the median grant is $16,000 per year, 86% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Rutgers University?

Rutgers University had a first-time bar passage rate of 79.1% across 383 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 86.9%.