Northwestern University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Northwestern University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Northwestern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,976 applicants received 981 offers (12.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $40,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 91.8%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Chicago, Illinois · Report year 2025 · all Northwestern University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications7,976
Offers of admission981
Acceptance rate12.3%
Enrollees from the applicant pool245
Enrolled in the first-year class253
First-year class size250
LSAT 25th percentile167
LSAT median173
LSAT 75th percentile175
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.76
Undergraduate GPA median3.96
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores232
Students who submitted GRE scores16

How Northwestern University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, Northwestern University has the 8th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern Illinois University56.2%149724
University of Illinois-Chicago52.6%1532,488
Northern Illinois University44.3%150951
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology38.6%1612,212
DePaul University34.8%1582,643
University of Illinois32.9%1662,153
Loyola University-Chicago28.2%1614,244
Northwestern University ← this school12.3%1737,976
The University of Chicago9.7%1746,581

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$79,772
Non-resident tuition (annual)$79,722
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$861
Living on campus$28,220
Living off campus$28,220
Tuition guaranteeno

How Northwestern University compares within Illinois

Among the 6 law schools in Illinois that report annual tuition, Northwestern University has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
The University of Chicago$83,316$35,418
Northwestern University ← this school$79,772$28,220
Loyola University-Chicago$58,670$32,658
DePaul University$55,328$29,110
University of Illinois$36,500$20,620
Northern Illinois University$23,667$22,742
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology—$27,964
Southern Illinois University—$18,608
University of Illinois-Chicago—$24,976

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid76.0%
Median grant (per year)$40,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$50,000
Half tuition or less34.0%
Above half, below full40.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition2.0%

How Northwestern University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report median grant, Northwestern University has the highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northwestern University ← this school$40,00076.0%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology$35,00092.0%
DePaul University$34,95099.0%
University of Illinois$32,00099.0%
Loyola University-Chicago$30,00094.0%
University of Illinois-Chicago$23,25061.0%
The University of Chicago$15,00078.0%
Southern Illinois University$9,50064.0%
Northern Illinois University$8,27478.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,205
JD students (all years)776
First-year JD students253
Non-JD students429
First-year class size250

How Northwestern University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report jd students, Northwestern University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers257
First-time passers236
First-time passage rate91.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.8%

How Northwestern University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report first-time rate, Northwestern University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Chicago96.7%99.0%
University of Illinois93.2%99.0%
Northwestern University ← this school91.8%98.8%
Loyola University-Chicago85.7%93.0%
DePaul University83.8%90.8%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology79.7%87.3%
Southern Illinois University74.2%85.7%
University of Illinois-Chicago68.8%80.6%
Northern Illinois University61.9%67.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class250
White135
Black15
Hispanic20
Asian62
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial8
Race not reported10
Men98
Women144
Another gender0
Gender not reported8

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Northwestern University 509 report show?

Northwestern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,976 applicants received 981 offers (12.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $40,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 91.8%.

How does Northwestern University compare with other law schools in Illinois?

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, Northwestern University has the 8th highest.

How many applicants did Northwestern University receive, and how many were admitted?

Northwestern University received 7,976 completed applications and issued 981 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 12.3%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Northwestern University?

For Northwestern University, in-state tuition is $79,772 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $28,220, the median grant is $40,000 per year, 76% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Northwestern University?

Northwestern University had a first-time bar passage rate of 91.8% across 257 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.8%.