University of Illinois ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Illinois, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Illinois's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,153 applicants received 709 offers (32.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Champaign, Illinois · Report year 2025 · all University of Illinois data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,153
Offers of admission709
Acceptance rate32.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool187
Enrolled in the first-year class188
First-year class size188
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median166
LSAT 75th percentile168
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.55
Undergraduate GPA median3.81
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.92
Students who submitted LSAT scores186
Students who submitted GRE scores9

How University of Illinois compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, University of Illinois has the 6th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern Illinois University56.2%149724
University of Illinois-Chicago52.6%1532,488
Northern Illinois University44.3%150951
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology38.6%1612,212
DePaul University34.8%1582,643
University of Illinois ← this school32.9%1662,153
Loyola University-Chicago28.2%1614,244
Northwestern University12.3%1737,976
The University of Chicago9.7%1746,581

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$36,500
Non-resident tuition (annual)$46,500
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$3,404
Living on campus$20,620
Living off campus$20,620
Tuition guaranteeyes

How University of Illinois compares within Illinois

Among the 6 law schools in Illinois that report annual tuition, University of Illinois has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
The University of Chicago$83,316$35,418
Northwestern University$79,772$28,220
Loyola University-Chicago$58,670$32,658
DePaul University$55,328$29,110
University of Illinois ← this school$36,500$20,620
Northern Illinois University$23,667$22,742
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology—$27,964
Southern Illinois University—$18,608
University of Illinois-Chicago—$24,976

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid99.0%
Median grant (per year)$32,000
25th percentile grant$13,125
75th percentile grant$46,500
Half tuition or less39.0%
Above half, below full58.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition2.0%

How University of Illinois compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report median grant, University of Illinois has the 4th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northwestern University$40,00076.0%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology$35,00092.0%
DePaul University$34,95099.0%
University of Illinois ← this school$32,00099.0%
Loyola University-Chicago$30,00094.0%
University of Illinois-Chicago$23,25061.0%
The University of Chicago$15,00078.0%
Southern Illinois University$9,50064.0%
Northern Illinois University$8,27478.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled670
JD students (all years)500
First-year JD students188
Non-JD students170
First-year class size188

How University of Illinois compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report jd students, University of Illinois has the 7th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers147
First-time passers137
First-time passage rate93.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)97.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)99.0%

How University of Illinois compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report first-time rate, University of Illinois has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Chicago96.7%99.0%
University of Illinois ← this school93.2%99.0%
Northwestern University91.8%98.8%
Loyola University-Chicago85.7%93.0%
DePaul University83.8%90.8%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology79.7%87.3%
Southern Illinois University74.2%85.7%
University of Illinois-Chicago68.8%80.6%
Northern Illinois University61.9%67.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class188
White112
Black10
Hispanic13
Asian33
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial11
Race not reported9
Men87
Women91
Another gender5
Gender not reported5

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Illinois 509 report show?

University of Illinois's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,153 applicants received 709 offers (32.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.2%.

How does University of Illinois compare with other law schools in Illinois?

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, University of Illinois has the 6th highest.

How many applicants did University of Illinois receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Illinois received 2,153 completed applications and issued 709 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 32.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Illinois?

For University of Illinois, in-state tuition is $36,500 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,620, the median grant is $32,000 per year, 99% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Illinois?

University of Illinois had a first-time bar passage rate of 93.2% across 147 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 99.0%.