DePaul University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for DePaul University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

DePaul University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,643 applicants received 920 offers (34.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 158, the median grant was $34,950 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 83.8%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Chicago, Illinois · Report year 2025 · all DePaul University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,643
Offers of admission920
Acceptance rate34.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool185
Enrolled in the first-year class187
First-year class size186
LSAT 25th percentile154
LSAT median158
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.17
Undergraduate GPA median3.61
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.8
Students who submitted LSAT scores184
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How DePaul University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, DePaul University has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern Illinois University56.2%149724
University of Illinois-Chicago52.6%1532,488
Northern Illinois University44.3%150951
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology38.6%1612,212
DePaul University ← this school34.8%1582,643
University of Illinois32.9%1662,153
Loyola University-Chicago28.2%1614,244
Northwestern University12.3%1737,976
The University of Chicago9.7%1746,581

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$55,328
Non-resident tuition (annual)$55,328
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$300
Living on campus$29,110
Living off campus$29,110
Tuition guaranteeno

How DePaul University compares within Illinois

Among the 6 law schools in Illinois that report annual tuition, DePaul University has the 4th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
The University of Chicago$83,316$35,418
Northwestern University$79,772$28,220
Loyola University-Chicago$58,670$32,658
DePaul University ← this school$55,328$29,110
University of Illinois$36,500$20,620
Northern Illinois University$23,667$22,742
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology—$27,964
Southern Illinois University—$18,608
University of Illinois-Chicago—$24,976

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid99.0%
Median grant (per year)$34,950
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$35,000
Half tuition or less38.0%
Above half, below full59.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How DePaul University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report median grant, DePaul University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northwestern University$40,00076.0%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology$35,00092.0%
DePaul University ← this school$34,95099.0%
University of Illinois$32,00099.0%
Loyola University-Chicago$30,00094.0%
University of Illinois-Chicago$23,25061.0%
The University of Chicago$15,00078.0%
Southern Illinois University$9,50064.0%
Northern Illinois University$8,27478.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled628
JD students (all years)510
First-year JD students187
Non-JD students118
First-year class size186

How DePaul University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report jd students, DePaul University has the 6th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers148
First-time passers124
First-time passage rate83.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)86.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)90.8%

How DePaul University compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report first-time rate, DePaul University has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Chicago96.7%99.0%
University of Illinois93.2%99.0%
Northwestern University91.8%98.8%
Loyola University-Chicago85.7%93.0%
DePaul University ← this school83.8%90.8%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology79.7%87.3%
Southern Illinois University74.2%85.7%
University of Illinois-Chicago68.8%80.6%
Northern Illinois University61.9%67.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class186
White128
Black10
Hispanic23
Asian14
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial6
Race not reported5
Men88
Women97
Another gender0
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the DePaul University 509 report show?

DePaul University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,643 applicants received 920 offers (34.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 158, the median grant was $34,950 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 83.8%.

How does DePaul University compare with other law schools in Illinois?

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, DePaul University has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did DePaul University receive, and how many were admitted?

DePaul University received 2,643 completed applications and issued 920 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 34.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at DePaul University?

For DePaul University, in-state tuition is $55,328 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $29,110, the median grant is $34,950 per year, 99% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at DePaul University?

DePaul University had a first-time bar passage rate of 83.8% across 148 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 90.8%.