University of Illinois-Chicago ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Illinois-Chicago, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Illinois-Chicago's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,488 applicants received 1,308 offers (52.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $23,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.8%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Chicago, Illinois · Report year 2025 · all University of Illinois-Chicago data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,488
Offers of admission1,308
Acceptance rate52.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool369
Enrolled in the first-year class420
First-year class size379
LSAT 25th percentile150
LSAT median153
LSAT 75th percentile156
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.13
Undergraduate GPA median3.4
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.64
Students who submitted LSAT scores367
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, University of Illinois-Chicago has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern Illinois University56.2%149724
University of Illinois-Chicago ← this school52.6%1532,488
Northern Illinois University44.3%150951
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology38.6%1612,212
DePaul University34.8%1582,643
University of Illinois32.9%1662,153
Loyola University-Chicago28.2%1614,244
Northwestern University12.3%1737,976
The University of Chicago9.7%1746,581

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$1,248
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$24,976
Living off campus$24,976
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

University of Illinois-Chicago does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 9 law schools in this state.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
The University of Chicago$83,316$35,418
Northwestern University$79,772$28,220
Loyola University-Chicago$58,670$32,658
DePaul University$55,328$29,110
University of Illinois$36,500$20,620
Northern Illinois University$23,667$22,742
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology—$27,964
Southern Illinois University—$18,608
University of Illinois-Chicago ← this school—$24,976

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid61.0%
Median grant (per year)$23,250
25th percentile grant$9,000
75th percentile grant$33,750
Half tuition or less27.0%
Above half, below full33.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report median grant, University of Illinois-Chicago has the 6th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northwestern University$40,00076.0%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology$35,00092.0%
DePaul University$34,95099.0%
University of Illinois$32,00099.0%
Loyola University-Chicago$30,00094.0%
University of Illinois-Chicago ← this school$23,25061.0%
The University of Chicago$15,00078.0%
Southern Illinois University$9,50064.0%
Northern Illinois University$8,27478.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)162
Kept the award after year one53.1%
Award reduced or eliminated76

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 1 law schools in Illinois that report retention rate, University of Illinois-Chicago has the highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,015
JD students (all years)1,015
First-year JD students420
Non-JD students0
First-year class size379

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report jd students, University of Illinois-Chicago has the highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers279
First-time passers192
First-time passage rate68.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)78.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)80.6%

How University of Illinois-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report first-time rate, University of Illinois-Chicago has the 8th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Chicago96.7%99.0%
University of Illinois93.2%99.0%
Northwestern University91.8%98.8%
Loyola University-Chicago85.7%93.0%
DePaul University83.8%90.8%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology79.7%87.3%
Southern Illinois University74.2%85.7%
University of Illinois-Chicago ← this school68.8%80.6%
Northern Illinois University61.9%67.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class379
White207
Black46
Hispanic71
Asian27
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial17
Race not reported9
Men137
Women235
Another gender3
Gender not reported4

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Illinois-Chicago 509 report show?

University of Illinois-Chicago's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,488 applicants received 1,308 offers (52.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $23,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.8%.

How does University of Illinois-Chicago compare with other law schools in Illinois?

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, University of Illinois-Chicago has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did University of Illinois-Chicago receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Illinois-Chicago received 2,488 completed applications and issued 1,308 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 52.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Illinois-Chicago?

For University of Illinois-Chicago, tuition is reported per credit hour at $1,248, off-campus living costs are estimated at $24,976, the median grant is $23,250 per year, 61% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Illinois-Chicago?

University of Illinois-Chicago had a first-time bar passage rate of 68.8% across 279 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 80.6%.