Loyola University-Chicago ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Loyola University-Chicago, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Loyola University-Chicago's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,244 applicants received 1,196 offers (28.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Chicago, Illinois · Report year 2025 · all Loyola University-Chicago data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,244
Offers of admission1,196
Acceptance rate28.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool291
Enrolled in the first-year class296
First-year class size296
LSAT 25th percentile159
LSAT median161
LSAT 75th percentile163
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.55
Undergraduate GPA median3.7
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.83
Students who submitted LSAT scores296
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Loyola University-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, Loyola University-Chicago has the 7th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Southern Illinois University56.2%149724
University of Illinois-Chicago52.6%1532,488
Northern Illinois University44.3%150951
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology38.6%1612,212
DePaul University34.8%1582,643
University of Illinois32.9%1662,153
Loyola University-Chicago ← this school28.2%1614,244
Northwestern University12.3%1737,976
The University of Chicago9.7%1746,581

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$58,670
Non-resident tuition (annual)$58,670
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$996
Living on campus$32,658
Living off campus$32,658
Tuition guaranteeno

How Loyola University-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 6 law schools in Illinois that report annual tuition, Loyola University-Chicago has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
The University of Chicago$83,316$35,418
Northwestern University$79,772$28,220
Loyola University-Chicago ← this school$58,670$32,658
DePaul University$55,328$29,110
University of Illinois$36,500$20,620
Northern Illinois University$23,667$22,742
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology—$27,964
Southern Illinois University—$18,608
University of Illinois-Chicago—$24,976

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,000
25th percentile grant$22,000
75th percentile grant$35,000
Half tuition or less35.0%
Above half, below full57.0%
Full tuition2.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Loyola University-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report median grant, Loyola University-Chicago has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northwestern University$40,00076.0%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology$35,00092.0%
DePaul University$34,95099.0%
University of Illinois$32,00099.0%
Loyola University-Chicago ← this school$30,00094.0%
University of Illinois-Chicago$23,25061.0%
The University of Chicago$15,00078.0%
Southern Illinois University$9,50064.0%
Northern Illinois University$8,27478.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,080
JD students (all years)848
First-year JD students296
Non-JD students232
First-year class size296

How Loyola University-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report jd students, Loyola University-Chicago has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers259
First-time passers222
First-time passage rate85.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)93.0%

How Loyola University-Chicago compares within Illinois

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report first-time rate, Loyola University-Chicago has the 4th highest.

The 9 law schools in Illinois, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The University of Chicago96.7%99.0%
University of Illinois93.2%99.0%
Northwestern University91.8%98.8%
Loyola University-Chicago ← this school85.7%93.0%
DePaul University83.8%90.8%
Chicago-Kent, Illinois Institute of Technology79.7%87.3%
Southern Illinois University74.2%85.7%
University of Illinois-Chicago68.8%80.6%
Northern Illinois University61.9%67.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class296
White188
Black13
Hispanic44
Asian32
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial17
Race not reported2
Men102
Women188
Another gender4
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Loyola University-Chicago 509 report show?

Loyola University-Chicago's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,244 applicants received 1,196 offers (28.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.7%.

How does Loyola University-Chicago compare with other law schools in Illinois?

Among the 9 law schools in Illinois that report acceptance rate, Loyola University-Chicago has the 7th highest.

How many applicants did Loyola University-Chicago receive, and how many were admitted?

Loyola University-Chicago received 4,244 completed applications and issued 1,196 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 28.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Loyola University-Chicago?

For Loyola University-Chicago, in-state tuition is $58,670 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,658, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Loyola University-Chicago?

Loyola University-Chicago had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.7% across 259 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.0%.