University of Southern California ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Southern California, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Southern California's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,204 applicants received 805 offers (11.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $40,092 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Los Angeles, California · Report year 2025 · all University of Southern California data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications7,204
Offers of admission805
Acceptance rate11.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool227
Enrolled in the first-year class228
First-year class size228
LSAT 25th percentile165
LSAT median169
LSAT 75th percentile170
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.73
Undergraduate GPA median3.91
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.97
Students who submitted LSAT scores212
Students who submitted GRE scores3

How University of Southern California compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of Southern California has the 16th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California ← this school11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$84,034
Non-resident tuition (annual)$84,034
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,914
Living on campus$31,686
Living off campus$32,298
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Southern California compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of Southern California has the highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California ← this school$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid95.0%
Median grant (per year)$40,092
25th percentile grant$38,220
75th percentile grant$48,160
Half tuition or less49.0%
Above half, below full45.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How University of Southern California compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of Southern California has the 4th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,543
JD students (all years)650
First-year JD students228
Non-JD students893
First-year class size228

How University of Southern California compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of Southern California has the 9th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers222
First-time passers209
First-time passage rate94.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.3%

How University of Southern California compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of Southern California has the 4th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class228
White84
Black20
Hispanic34
Asian56
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial25
Race not reported9
Men83
Women145
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Southern California 509 report show?

University of Southern California's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,204 applicants received 805 offers (11.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $40,092 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.1%.

How does University of Southern California compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of Southern California has the 16th highest.

How many applicants did University of Southern California receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Southern California received 7,204 completed applications and issued 805 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 11.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Southern California?

For University of Southern California, in-state tuition is $84,034 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,298, the median grant is $40,092 per year, 95% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Southern California?

University of Southern California had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.1% across 222 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.3%.