Stanford University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Stanford University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Stanford University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,526 applicants received 337 offers (6.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $52,797 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 99.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Stanford, California · Report year 2025 · all Stanford University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications5,526
Offers of admission337
Acceptance rate6.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool173
Enrolled in the first-year class193
First-year class size193
LSAT 25th percentile171
LSAT median173
LSAT 75th percentile176
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.87
Undergraduate GPA median3.96
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores182
Students who submitted GRE scores11

How Stanford University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Stanford University has the lowest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$77,454
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,253
Living on campus$49,719
Living off campus$51,102
Tuition guaranteeno

How Stanford University compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, Stanford University has the 2nd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid50.0%
Median grant (per year)$52,797
25th percentile grant$34,240
75th percentile grant$72,247
Half tuition or less14.0%
Above half, below full25.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition11.0%

How Stanford University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, Stanford University has the 2nd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled670
JD students (all years)570
First-year JD students193
Non-JD students100
First-year class size193

How Stanford University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, Stanford University has the 12th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers176
First-time passers175
First-time passage rate99.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)100.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)99.0%

How Stanford University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, Stanford University has the highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class193
White73
Black24
Hispanic29
Asian35
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial26
Race not reported4
Men87
Women103
Another gender2
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Stanford University 509 report show?

Stanford University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,526 applicants received 337 offers (6.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $52,797 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 99.4%.

How does Stanford University compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Stanford University has the lowest.

How many applicants did Stanford University receive, and how many were admitted?

Stanford University received 5,526 completed applications and issued 337 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 6.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Stanford University?

For Stanford University, in-state tuition is $77,454 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $51,102, the median grant is $52,797 per year, 50% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Stanford University?

Stanford University had a first-time bar passage rate of 99.4% across 176 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 99.0%.