Chapman University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Chapman University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Chapman University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,514 applicants received 516 offers (20.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $59,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.3%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Orange, California · Report year 2025 · all Chapman University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,514
Offers of admission516
Acceptance rate20.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool152
Enrolled in the first-year class153
First-year class size153
LSAT 25th percentile156
LSAT median163
LSAT 75th percentile164
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.32
Undergraduate GPA median3.7
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.82
Students who submitted LSAT scores153
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Chapman University has the 11th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$63,126
Non-resident tuition (annual)$63,126
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$75
Living on campus$32,956
Living off campus$41,778
Tuition guaranteeno

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, Chapman University has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid59.0%
Median grant (per year)$59,500
25th percentile grant$35,000
75th percentile grant$64,500
Half tuition or less12.0%
Above half, below full32.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition15.0%

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, Chapman University has the highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)84
Kept the award after year one57.1%
Award reduced or eliminated36

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, Chapman University has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled420
JD students (all years)420
First-year JD students153
Non-JD students0
First-year class size153

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, Chapman University has the 16th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers127
First-time passers102
First-time passage rate80.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)95.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)87.5%

How Chapman University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, Chapman University has the 13th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class153
White57
Black13
Hispanic35
Asian23
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial15
Race not reported10
Men71
Women80
Another gender1
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Chapman University 509 report show?

Chapman University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,514 applicants received 516 offers (20.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $59,500 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.3%.

How does Chapman University compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Chapman University has the 11th highest.

How many applicants did Chapman University receive, and how many were admitted?

Chapman University received 2,514 completed applications and issued 516 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 20.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Chapman University?

For Chapman University, in-state tuition is $63,126 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $41,778, the median grant is $59,500 per year, 59% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Chapman University?

Chapman University had a first-time bar passage rate of 80.3% across 127 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 87.5%.