UCLA ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of California-Los Angeles, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of California-Los Angeles's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,623 applicants received 1,039 offers (12.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $24,456 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Los Angeles, California · Report year 2025 · all University of California-Los Angeles data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications8,623
Offers of admission1,039
Acceptance rate12.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool322
Enrolled in the first-year class328
First-year class size328
LSAT 25th percentile166
LSAT median171
LSAT 75th percentile172
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.73
Undergraduate GPA median3.95
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores326
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How University of California-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Los Angeles has the 15th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles ← this school12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$59,084
Non-resident tuition (annual)$71,329
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,778
Living on campus$40,046
Living off campus$40,046
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of California-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of California-Los Angeles has the 12th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles ← this school$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid83.0%
Median grant (per year)$24,456
25th percentile grant$15,000
75th percentile grant$43,333
Half tuition or less50.0%
Above half, below full24.0%
Full tuition6.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

How University of California-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of California-Los Angeles has the 15th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,376
JD students (all years)1,020
First-year JD students328
Non-JD students356
First-year class size328

How University of California-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of California-Los Angeles has the 4th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers328
First-time passers317
First-time passage rate96.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)97.8%

How University of California-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of California-Los Angeles has the 2nd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class328
White158
Black21
Hispanic53
Asian48
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial33
Race not reported13
Men160
Women152
Another gender11
Gender not reported5

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the UCLA 509 report show?

University of California-Los Angeles's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,623 applicants received 1,039 offers (12.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $24,456 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.7%.

How does University of California-Los Angeles compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Los Angeles has the 15th highest.

How many applicants did University of California-Los Angeles receive, and how many were admitted?

University of California-Los Angeles received 8,623 completed applications and issued 1,039 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 12.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of California-Los Angeles?

For University of California-Los Angeles, in-state tuition is $59,084 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $40,046, the median grant is $24,456 per year, 83% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of California-Los Angeles?

University of California-Los Angeles had a first-time bar passage rate of 96.7% across 328 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.8%.