University of California-San Francisco ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of California-San Francisco, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of California-San Francisco's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,593 applicants received 1,262 offers (27.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.3%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

San Francisco, California · Report year 2025 · all University of California-San Francisco data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,593
Offers of admission1,262
Acceptance rate27.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool374
Enrolled in the first-year class382
First-year class size380
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median161
LSAT 75th percentile163
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.55
Undergraduate GPA median3.71
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.83
Students who submitted LSAT scores375
Students who submitted GRE scores4

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-San Francisco has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco ← this school27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$53,087
Non-resident tuition (annual)$61,773
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,242
Living on campus$34,466
Living off campus$34,466
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of California-San Francisco has the lowest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco ← this school$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid86.0%
Median grant (per year)$20,000
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$25,000
Half tuition or less66.0%
Above half, below full19.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of California-San Francisco has the lowest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)304
Kept the award after year one83.6%
Award reduced or eliminated50

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, University of California-San Francisco has the 2nd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,155
JD students (all years)1,048
First-year JD students382
Non-JD students107
First-year class size380

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of California-San Francisco has the 3rd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers349
First-time passers301
First-time passage rate86.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)94.0%

How University of California-San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of California-San Francisco has the 9th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class380
White154
Black8
Hispanic69
Asian94
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial36
Race not reported19
Men139
Women237
Another gender4
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of California-San Francisco 509 report show?

University of California-San Francisco's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,593 applicants received 1,262 offers (27.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.3%.

How does University of California-San Francisco compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-San Francisco has the 7th highest.

How many applicants did University of California-San Francisco receive, and how many were admitted?

University of California-San Francisco received 4,593 completed applications and issued 1,262 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 27.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of California-San Francisco?

For University of California-San Francisco, in-state tuition is $53,087 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,466, the median grant is $20,000 per year, 86% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of California-San Francisco?

University of California-San Francisco had a first-time bar passage rate of 86.3% across 349 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.0%.