University of San Francisco ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of San Francisco, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of San Francisco's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,100 applicants received 890 offers (42.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $33,718 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

San Francisco, California · Report year 2025 · all University of San Francisco data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,100
Offers of admission890
Acceptance rate42.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool198
Enrolled in the first-year class201
First-year class size201
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.16
Undergraduate GPA median3.47
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.68
Students who submitted LSAT scores200
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of San Francisco has the 5th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$59,800
Non-resident tuition (annual)$59,800
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$190
Living on campus$32,774
Living off campus$34,100
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of San Francisco has the 11th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco ← this school$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid62.0%
Median grant (per year)$33,718
25th percentile grant$24,343
75th percentile grant$43,928
Half tuition or less25.0%
Above half, below full36.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of San Francisco has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)96
Kept the award after year one62.5%
Award reduced or eliminated36

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, University of San Francisco has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled671
JD students (all years)510
First-year JD students201
Non-JD students161
First-year class size201

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of San Francisco has the 14th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers115
First-time passers93
First-time passage rate80.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)93.6%

How University of San Francisco compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of San Francisco has the 12th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class201
White65
Black10
Hispanic61
Asian42
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial16
Race not reported7
Men32
Women88
Another gender0
Gender not reported81

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of San Francisco 509 report show?

University of San Francisco's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,100 applicants received 890 offers (42.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $33,718 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.9%.

How does University of San Francisco compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of San Francisco has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did University of San Francisco receive, and how many were admitted?

University of San Francisco received 2,100 completed applications and issued 890 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 42.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of San Francisco?

For University of San Francisco, in-state tuition is $59,800 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,100, the median grant is $33,718 per year, 62% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of San Francisco?

University of San Francisco had a first-time bar passage rate of 80.9% across 115 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.6%.