University of California-Berkeley ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of California-Berkeley, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of California-Berkeley's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,562 applicants received 974 offers (14.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $31,158 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.8%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Berkeley, California · Report year 2025 · all University of California-Berkeley data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 6,562 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 974 |
| Acceptance rate | 14.8% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 348 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 374 |
| First-year class size | 374 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 167 |
| LSAT median | 170 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 172 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.84 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.92 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.99 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 368 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 6 |
How University of California-Berkeley compares within California
Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Berkeley has the 14th highest.
The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pacific, University of the | 54.4% | 156 | 1,248 |
| Santa Clara University | 52.6% | 159 | 2,575 |
| California Western School of Law | 46.9% | 155 | 2,144 |
| Western State, Westcliff University | 43.7% | 152 | 916 |
| University of San Francisco | 42.4% | 155 | 2,100 |
| Southwestern Law School | 36.5% | 157 | 3,584 |
| University of California-San Francisco | 27.5% | 161 | 4,593 |
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | 26.1% | 163 | 4,549 |
| University of San Diego | 23.5% | 163 | 4,241 |
| Pepperdine University | 23.4% | 164 | 4,272 |
| Chapman University | 20.5% | 163 | 2,514 |
| University of California-Davis | 16.0% | 165 | 3,896 |
| University of California-Irvine | 14.9% | 169 | 3,720 |
| University of California-Berkeley ← this school | 14.8% | 170 | 6,562 |
| University of California-Los Angeles | 12.1% | 171 | 8,623 |
| University of Southern California | 11.2% | 169 | 7,204 |
| Stanford University | 6.1% | 173 | 5,526 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $62,532 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $76,149 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $3,842 |
| Living on campus | $40,858 |
| Living off campus | $45,866 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of California-Berkeley compares within California
Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of California-Berkeley has the 10th highest.
The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Southern California | $84,034 | $32,298 |
| Stanford University | $77,454 | $51,102 |
| Pepperdine University | $72,920 | $33,700 |
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | $70,360 | $43,030 |
| University of San Diego | $66,950 | $39,197 |
| California Western School of Law | $64,720 | $34,342 |
| Southwestern Law School | $63,160 | $38,033 |
| Chapman University | $63,126 | $41,778 |
| Pacific, University of the | $62,678 | $35,081 |
| University of California-Berkeley ← this school | $62,532 | $45,866 |
| University of San Francisco | $59,800 | $34,100 |
| University of California-Los Angeles | $59,084 | $40,046 |
| University of California-Irvine | $59,080 | $37,293 |
| University of California-Davis | $57,460 | $33,048 |
| Western State, Westcliff University | $54,840 | $32,140 |
| University of California-San Francisco | $53,087 | $34,466 |
| Santa Clara University | — | $35,618 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 86.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $31,158 |
| 25th percentile grant | $20,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $42,245 |
| Half tuition or less | 49.0% |
| Above half, below full | 28.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 9.0% |
How University of California-Berkeley compares within California
Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of California-Berkeley has the 9th highest.
The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Chapman University | $59,500 | 59.0% |
| Stanford University | $52,797 | 50.0% |
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | $45,000 | 62.0% |
| University of Southern California | $40,092 | 95.0% |
| Santa Clara University | $40,000 | 61.0% |
| California Western School of Law | $37,440 | 60.0% |
| University of San Francisco | $33,718 | 62.0% |
| University of San Diego | $32,000 | 91.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley ← this school | $31,158 | 86.0% |
| Pacific, University of the | $30,426 | 93.0% |
| Pepperdine University | $30,000 | 77.0% |
| Southwestern Law School | $29,166 | 72.0% |
| University of California-Davis | $25,000 | 99.0% |
| University of California-Irvine | $25,000 | 95.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles | $24,456 | 83.0% |
| Western State, Westcliff University | $23,616 | 78.0% |
| University of California-San Francisco | $20,000 | 86.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,128 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 1,128 |
| First-year JD students | 374 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 374 |
How University of California-Berkeley compares within California
Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of California-Berkeley has the highest.
The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| University of California-Berkeley ← this school | 1,128 | 374 |
| Southwestern Law School | 1,108 | 459 |
| University of California-San Francisco | 1,048 | 382 |
| University of California-Los Angeles | 1,020 | 328 |
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | 1,000 | 338 |
| Santa Clara University | 746 | 262 |
| University of San Diego | 725 | 240 |
| California Western School of Law | 669 | 269 |
| University of Southern California | 650 | 228 |
| Pacific, University of the | 615 | 212 |
| University of California-Davis | 606 | 209 |
| Stanford University | 570 | 193 |
| Pepperdine University | 553 | 230 |
| University of San Francisco | 510 | 201 |
| University of California-Irvine | 493 | 189 |
| Chapman University | 420 | 153 |
| Western State, Westcliff University | 355 | 120 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 288 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 273 |
| First-time passage rate | 94.8% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 96.6% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 97.0% |
How University of California-Berkeley compares within California
Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of California-Berkeley has the 3rd highest.
The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Stanford University | 99.4% | 99.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles | 96.7% | 97.8% |
| University of California-Berkeley ← this school | 94.8% | 97.0% |
| University of Southern California | 94.1% | 96.3% |
| University of California-Davis | 93.2% | 97.0% |
| Pepperdine University | 90.7% | 95.6% |
| University of California-Irvine | 89.9% | 97.4% |
| University of San Diego | 86.7% | 96.8% |
| University of California-San Francisco | 86.3% | 94.0% |
| Santa Clara University | 82.0% | 92.0% |
| Western State, Westcliff University | 81.1% | 89.3% |
| University of San Francisco | 80.9% | 93.6% |
| Chapman University | 80.3% | 87.5% |
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | 79.7% | 94.6% |
| Southwestern Law School | 72.1% | 88.0% |
| California Western School of Law | 71.4% | 86.0% |
| Pacific, University of the | 71.1% | 88.2% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 374 |
|---|---|
| White | 167 |
| Black | 15 |
| Hispanic | 41 |
| Asian | 101 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 29 |
| Race not reported | 19 |
| Men | 113 |
| Women | 232 |
| Another gender | 20 |
| Gender not reported | 9 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of California-Berkeley 509 report show?
University of California-Berkeley's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,562 applicants received 974 offers (14.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $31,158 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.8%.
How does University of California-Berkeley compare with other law schools in California?
Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Berkeley has the 14th highest.
How many applicants did University of California-Berkeley receive, and how many were admitted?
University of California-Berkeley received 6,562 completed applications and issued 974 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 14.8%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of California-Berkeley?
For University of California-Berkeley, in-state tuition is $62,532 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $45,866, the median grant is $31,158 per year, 86% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of California-Berkeley?
University of California-Berkeley had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.8% across 288 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.0%.