University of California-Irvine ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of California-Irvine, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of California-Irvine's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,720 applicants received 555 offers (14.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $25,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Irvine, California · Report year 2025 · all University of California-Irvine data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,720
Offers of admission555
Acceptance rate14.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool188
Enrolled in the first-year class189
First-year class size189
LSAT 25th percentile166
LSAT median169
LSAT 75th percentile170
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.59
Undergraduate GPA median3.8
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.9
Students who submitted LSAT scores183
Students who submitted GRE scores6

How University of California-Irvine compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Irvine has the 13th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine ← this school14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$59,080
Non-resident tuition (annual)$71,325
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,208
Living on campus$25,786
Living off campus$37,293
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of California-Irvine compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of California-Irvine has the 13th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine ← this school$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid95.0%
Median grant (per year)$25,000
25th percentile grant$17,500
75th percentile grant$35,000
Half tuition or less78.0%
Above half, below full17.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How University of California-Irvine compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of California-Irvine has the 14th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled532
JD students (all years)493
First-year JD students189
Non-JD students39
First-year class size189

How University of California-Irvine compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of California-Irvine has the 15th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers158
First-time passers142
First-time passage rate89.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)97.4%

How University of California-Irvine compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of California-Irvine has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class189
White72
Black3
Hispanic27
Asian73
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported0
Men75
Women70
Another gender11
Gender not reported33

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of California-Irvine 509 report show?

University of California-Irvine's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,720 applicants received 555 offers (14.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $25,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.9%.

How does University of California-Irvine compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of California-Irvine has the 13th highest.

How many applicants did University of California-Irvine receive, and how many were admitted?

University of California-Irvine received 3,720 completed applications and issued 555 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 14.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of California-Irvine?

For University of California-Irvine, in-state tuition is $59,080 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $37,293, the median grant is $25,000 per year, 95% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of California-Irvine?

University of California-Irvine had a first-time bar passage rate of 89.9% across 158 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.4%.