Southwestern Law School ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Southwestern Law School, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Southwestern Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,584 applicants received 1,307 offers (36.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $29,166 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Los Angeles, California · Report year 2025 · all Southwestern Law School data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,584
Offers of admission1,307
Acceptance rate36.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool454
Enrolled in the first-year class459
First-year class size459
LSAT 25th percentile154
LSAT median157
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.23
Undergraduate GPA median3.51
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.72
Students who submitted LSAT scores458
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Southwestern Law School has the 6th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$63,160
Non-resident tuition (annual)$63,160
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$36,413
Living off campus$38,033
Tuition guaranteeno

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, Southwestern Law School has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School ← this school$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid72.0%
Median grant (per year)$29,166
25th percentile grant$12,500
75th percentile grant$42,372
Half tuition or less37.0%
Above half, below full32.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition2.0%

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, Southwestern Law School has the 12th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)295
Kept the award after year one51.9%
Award reduced or eliminated142

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, Southwestern Law School has the 9th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,108
JD students (all years)1,108
First-year JD students459
Non-JD students0
First-year class size459

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, Southwestern Law School has the 2nd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers290
First-time passers209
First-time passage rate72.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)88.0%

How Southwestern Law School compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, Southwestern Law School has the 15th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class459
White239
Black12
Hispanic115
Asian61
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial25
Race not reported7
Men185
Women269
Another gender2
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Southwestern Law School 509 report show?

Southwestern Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,584 applicants received 1,307 offers (36.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $29,166 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.1%.

How does Southwestern Law School compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Southwestern Law School has the 6th highest.

How many applicants did Southwestern Law School receive, and how many were admitted?

Southwestern Law School received 3,584 completed applications and issued 1,307 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 36.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Southwestern Law School?

For Southwestern Law School, in-state tuition is $63,160 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $38,033, the median grant is $29,166 per year, 72% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Southwestern Law School?

Southwestern Law School had a first-time bar passage rate of 72.1% across 290 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 88.0%.