Pepperdine University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Pepperdine University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Pepperdine University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,272 applicants received 998 offers (23.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Los Angeles, California · Report year 2025 · all Pepperdine University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,272
Offers of admission998
Acceptance rate23.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool223
Enrolled in the first-year class230
First-year class size227
LSAT 25th percentile161
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile167
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.61
Undergraduate GPA median3.85
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.94
Students who submitted LSAT scores222
Students who submitted GRE scores2

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Pepperdine University has the 10th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$72,920
Non-resident tuition (annual)$72,920
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$630
Living on campus$33,700
Living off campus$33,700
Tuition guaranteeno

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, Pepperdine University has the 3rd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid77.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,000
25th percentile grant$30,000
75th percentile grant$55,000
Half tuition or less47.0%
Above half, below full25.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition5.0%

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, Pepperdine University has the 11th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)117
Kept the award after year one76.9%
Award reduced or eliminated27

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, Pepperdine University has the 4th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled929
JD students (all years)553
First-year JD students230
Non-JD students376
First-year class size227

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, Pepperdine University has the 13th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers183
First-time passers166
First-time passage rate90.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)95.6%

How Pepperdine University compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, Pepperdine University has the 6th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class227
White139
Black5
Hispanic25
Asian30
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported13
Men101
Women126
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Pepperdine University 509 report show?

Pepperdine University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,272 applicants received 998 offers (23.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.7%.

How does Pepperdine University compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Pepperdine University has the 10th highest.

How many applicants did Pepperdine University receive, and how many were admitted?

Pepperdine University received 4,272 completed applications and issued 998 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 23.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Pepperdine University?

For Pepperdine University, in-state tuition is $72,920 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $33,700, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 77% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Pepperdine University?

Pepperdine University had a first-time bar passage rate of 90.7% across 183 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.6%.