Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,549 applicants received 1,185 offers (26.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $45,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Los Angeles, California · Report year 2025 · all Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,549
Offers of admission1,185
Acceptance rate26.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool333
Enrolled in the first-year class338
First-year class size338
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median163
LSAT 75th percentile165
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.52
Undergraduate GPA median3.74
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.89
Students who submitted LSAT scores337
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles ← this school26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$70,360
Non-resident tuition (annual)$70,360
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,026
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$43,030
Tuition guaranteeno

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 4th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles ← this school$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid62.0%
Median grant (per year)$45,000
25th percentile grant$35,000
75th percentile grant$52,000
Half tuition or less14.0%
Above half, below full46.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 3rd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)216
Kept the award after year one83.3%
Award reduced or eliminated36

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 3rd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,114
JD students (all years)1,000
First-year JD students338
Non-JD students114
First-year class size338

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 5th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers286
First-time passers228
First-time passage rate79.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)93.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)94.6%

How Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 14th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class338
White140
Black22
Hispanic82
Asian60
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial19
Race not reported15
Men135
Women199
Another gender1
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles 509 report show?

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,549 applicants received 1,185 offers (26.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $45,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 79.7%.

How does Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles has the 8th highest.

How many applicants did Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles receive, and how many were admitted?

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles received 4,549 completed applications and issued 1,185 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 26.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles?

For Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles, in-state tuition is $70,360 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $43,030, the median grant is $45,000 per year, 62% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles?

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles had a first-time bar passage rate of 79.7% across 286 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.6%.