California Western School of Law ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for California Western School of Law, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

California Western School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,144 applicants received 1,006 offers (46.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $37,440 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

San Diego, California · Report year 2025 · all California Western School of Law data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,144
Offers of admission1,006
Acceptance rate46.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool235
Enrolled in the first-year class269
First-year class size242
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.16
Undergraduate GPA median3.5
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.66
Students who submitted LSAT scores227
Students who submitted GRE scores8

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, California Western School of Law has the 3rd highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pacific, University of the54.4%1561,248
Santa Clara University52.6%1592,575
California Western School of Law ← this school46.9%1552,144
Western State, Westcliff University43.7%152916
University of San Francisco42.4%1552,100
Southwestern Law School36.5%1573,584
University of California-San Francisco27.5%1614,593
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles26.1%1634,549
University of San Diego23.5%1634,241
Pepperdine University23.4%1644,272
Chapman University20.5%1632,514
University of California-Davis16.0%1653,896
University of California-Irvine14.9%1693,720
University of California-Berkeley14.8%1706,562
University of California-Los Angeles12.1%1718,623
University of Southern California11.2%1697,204
Stanford University6.1%1735,526

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$64,720
Non-resident tuition (annual)$64,720
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$150
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$34,342
Tuition guaranteeno

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, California Western School of Law has the 6th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law ← this school$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid60.0%
Median grant (per year)$37,440
25th percentile grant$18,720
75th percentile grant$53,040
Half tuition or less24.0%
Above half, below full24.0%
Full tuition12.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, California Western School of Law has the 6th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)199
Kept the award after year one36.7%
Award reduced or eliminated126

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, California Western School of Law has the 10th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled669
JD students (all years)669
First-year JD students269
Non-JD students0
First-year class size242

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, California Western School of Law has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers203
First-time passers145
First-time passage rate71.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)84.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)86.0%

How California Western School of Law compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, California Western School of Law has the 16th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class242
White99
Black17
Hispanic84
Asian19
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported8
Men102
Women137
Another gender2
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the California Western School of Law 509 report show?

California Western School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,144 applicants received 1,006 offers (46.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $37,440 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.4%.

How does California Western School of Law compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, California Western School of Law has the 3rd highest.

How many applicants did California Western School of Law receive, and how many were admitted?

California Western School of Law received 2,144 completed applications and issued 1,006 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 46.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at California Western School of Law?

For California Western School of Law, in-state tuition is $64,720 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,342, the median grant is $37,440 per year, 60% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at California Western School of Law?

California Western School of Law had a first-time bar passage rate of 71.4% across 203 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 86.0%.