University of San Diego ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of San Diego, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of San Diego's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,241 applicants received 997 offers (23.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

San Diego, California · Report year 2025 · all University of San Diego data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,241
Offers of admission997
Acceptance rate23.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool239
Enrolled in the first-year class240
First-year class size240
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median163
LSAT 75th percentile165
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.59
Undergraduate GPA median3.84
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.92
Students who submitted LSAT scores238
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of San Diego has the 9th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$66,950
Non-resident tuition (annual)$66,950
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$2,350
Mandatory fees (full-time)$801
Living on campus$39,197
Living off campus$39,197
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 16 law schools in California that report annual tuition, University of San Diego has the 5th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Southern California$84,034$32,298
Stanford University$77,454$51,102
Pepperdine University$72,920$33,700
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles$70,360$43,030
University of San Diego ← this school$66,950$39,197
California Western School of Law$64,720$34,342
Southwestern Law School$63,160$38,033
Chapman University$63,126$41,778
Pacific, University of the$62,678$35,081
University of California-Berkeley$62,532$45,866
University of San Francisco$59,800$34,100
University of California-Los Angeles$59,084$40,046
University of California-Irvine$59,080$37,293
University of California-Davis$57,460$33,048
Western State, Westcliff University$54,840$32,140
University of California-San Francisco$53,087$34,466
Santa Clara University—$35,618

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid91.0%
Median grant (per year)$32,000
25th percentile grant$27,375
75th percentile grant$50,000
Half tuition or less47.0%
Above half, below full41.0%
Full tuition2.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report median grant, University of San Diego has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)234
Kept the award after year one89.3%
Award reduced or eliminated25

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 11 law schools in California that report retention rate, University of San Diego has the highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled972
JD students (all years)725
First-year JD students240
Non-JD students247
First-year class size240

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report jd students, University of San Diego has the 7th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers226
First-time passers196
First-time passage rate86.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.8%

How University of San Diego compares within California

Among the 17 law schools in California that report first-time rate, University of San Diego has the 8th highest.

The 17 law schools in California, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class240
White143
Black2
Hispanic40
Asian25
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported16
Men87
Women149
Another gender3
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of San Diego 509 report show?

University of San Diego's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,241 applicants received 997 offers (23.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 163, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.7%.

How does University of San Diego compare with other law schools in California?

Among the 17 law schools in California that report acceptance rate, University of San Diego has the 9th highest.

How many applicants did University of San Diego receive, and how many were admitted?

University of San Diego received 4,241 completed applications and issued 997 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 23.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of San Diego?

For University of San Diego, in-state tuition is $66,950 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $39,197, the median grant is $32,000 per year, 91% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of San Diego?

University of San Diego had a first-time bar passage rate of 86.7% across 226 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.8%.