North Carolina Central University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for North Carolina Central University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
North Carolina Central University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,303 applicants received 0 offers, the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $12,982 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 59.4%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Durham, North Carolina · Report year 2025 · all North Carolina Central University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,303 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 0 |
| Acceptance rate | not reported |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 130 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 131 |
| First-year class size | 133 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 149 |
| LSAT median | 151 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 154 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.05 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.31 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.56 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 133 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How North Carolina Central University compares within North Carolina
North Carolina Central University does not report acceptance rate, so it cannot be placed among the 6 law schools in this state.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elon University | 53.2% | 154 | 1,107 |
| Campbell University | 50.7% | 156 | 1,168 |
| Wake Forest University | 24.6% | 166 | 2,883 |
| Duke University | 12.9% | 171 | 6,240 |
| University of North Carolina | 11.2% | 168 | 3,459 |
| North Carolina Central University ← this school | — | 151 | 1,303 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $13,444 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $36,116 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $5,746 |
| Living on campus | $28,292 |
| Living off campus | $28,292 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How North Carolina Central University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report annual tuition, North Carolina Central University has the lowest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | $80,100 | $26,116 |
| Wake Forest University | $57,920 | $30,639 |
| Campbell University | $51,840 | $35,281 |
| Elon University | $45,333 | $31,000 |
| University of North Carolina | $28,082 | $25,678 |
| North Carolina Central University ← this school | $13,444 | $28,292 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 72.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $12,982 |
| 25th percentile grant | $8,080 |
| 75th percentile grant | $20,907 |
| Half tuition or less | 33.0% |
| Above half, below full | 25.0% |
| Full tuition | 1.0% |
| Above full tuition | 14.0% |
How North Carolina Central University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report median grant, North Carolina Central University has the lowest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Wake Forest University | $40,000 | 76.0% |
| Duke University | $35,000 | 94.0% |
| Elon University | $23,571 | 90.0% |
| Campbell University | $21,771 | 99.0% |
| University of North Carolina | $17,000 | 95.0% |
| North Carolina Central University ← this school | $12,982 | 72.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 361 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 361 |
| First-year JD students | 131 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 133 |
How North Carolina Central University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report jd students, North Carolina Central University has the lowest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 723 | 227 |
| Wake Forest University | 564 | 207 |
| Campbell University | 553 | 210 |
| University of North Carolina | 543 | 181 |
| Elon University | 540 | 229 |
| North Carolina Central University ← this school | 361 | 131 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 133 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 79 |
| First-time passage rate | 59.4% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 81.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 71.7% |
How North Carolina Central University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report first-time rate, North Carolina Central University has the lowest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 98.2% | 98.2% |
| University of North Carolina | 94.1% | 93.0% |
| Campbell University | 93.5% | 96.1% |
| Wake Forest University | 89.6% | 95.3% |
| Elon University | 69.9% | 88.6% |
| North Carolina Central University ← this school | 59.4% | 71.7% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 133 |
|---|---|
| White | 28 |
| Black | 91 |
| Hispanic | 9 |
| Asian | 3 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 0 |
| Race not reported | 0 |
| Men | 38 |
| Women | 94 |
| Another gender | 1 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the North Carolina Central University 509 report show?
North Carolina Central University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,303 applicants received 0 offers, the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $12,982 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 59.4%.
How does North Carolina Central University compare with other law schools in North Carolina?
North Carolina Central University does not report acceptance rate, so it cannot be placed among the 6 law schools in this state.
How many applicants did North Carolina Central University receive, and how many were admitted?
North Carolina Central University received 1,303 completed applications and issued 0 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of not separately reported.
What is the tuition and grant aid at North Carolina Central University?
For North Carolina Central University, in-state tuition is $13,444 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $28,292, the median grant is $12,982 per year, 72% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at North Carolina Central University?
North Carolina Central University had a first-time bar passage rate of 59.4% across 133 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 71.7%.