Elon University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Elon University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Elon University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,107 applicants received 589 offers (53.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $23,571 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 69.9%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Greensboro, North Carolina · Report year 2025 · all Elon University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,107 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 589 |
| Acceptance rate | 53.2% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 227 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 229 |
| First-year class size | 228 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 151 |
| LSAT median | 154 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 158 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.11 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.4 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.7 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 227 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, Elon University has the highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elon University ← this school | 53.2% | 154 | 1,107 |
| Campbell University | 50.7% | 156 | 1,168 |
| Wake Forest University | 24.6% | 166 | 2,883 |
| Duke University | 12.9% | 171 | 6,240 |
| University of North Carolina | 11.2% | 168 | 3,459 |
| North Carolina Central University | — | 151 | 1,303 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $45,333 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $45,333 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | not reported |
| Living on campus | $31,000 |
| Living off campus | $31,000 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report annual tuition, Elon University has the 4th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | $80,100 | $26,116 |
| Wake Forest University | $57,920 | $30,639 |
| Campbell University | $51,840 | $35,281 |
| Elon University ← this school | $45,333 | $31,000 |
| University of North Carolina | $28,082 | $25,678 |
| North Carolina Central University | $13,444 | $28,292 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 90.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $23,571 |
| 25th percentile grant | $11,429 |
| 75th percentile grant | $32,543 |
| Half tuition or less | 41.0% |
| Above half, below full | 42.0% |
| Full tuition | 5.0% |
| Above full tuition | 2.0% |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report median grant, Elon University has the 3rd highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Wake Forest University | $40,000 | 76.0% |
| Duke University | $35,000 | 94.0% |
| Elon University ← this school | $23,571 | 90.0% |
| Campbell University | $21,771 | 99.0% |
| University of North Carolina | $17,000 | 95.0% |
| North Carolina Central University | $12,982 | 72.0% |
Conditional scholarships
Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.
Source: Standard 509(b)(3)
| Offers conditional scholarships | yes |
|---|---|
| Entering with a conditional award (2024) | 61 |
| Kept the award after year one | 100.0% |
| Award reduced or eliminated | 0 |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 1 law schools in North Carolina that report retention rate, Elon University has the highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Retention rate | Entering with award |
|---|---|---|
| Elon University ← this school | 100.0% | 61 |
| Campbell University | — | — |
| Duke University | — | — |
| North Carolina Central University | — | — |
| University of North Carolina | — | — |
| Wake Forest University | — | — |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 540 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 540 |
| First-year JD students | 229 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 228 |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report jd students, Elon University has the 5th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 723 | 227 |
| Wake Forest University | 564 | 207 |
| Campbell University | 553 | 210 |
| University of North Carolina | 543 | 181 |
| Elon University ← this school | 540 | 229 |
| North Carolina Central University | 361 | 131 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 133 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 93 |
| First-time passage rate | 69.9% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 94.9% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 88.6% |
How Elon University compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report first-time rate, Elon University has the 5th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 98.2% | 98.2% |
| University of North Carolina | 94.1% | 93.0% |
| Campbell University | 93.5% | 96.1% |
| Wake Forest University | 89.6% | 95.3% |
| Elon University ← this school | 69.9% | 88.6% |
| North Carolina Central University | 59.4% | 71.7% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 228 |
|---|---|
| White | 138 |
| Black | 32 |
| Hispanic | 28 |
| Asian | 9 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 10 |
| Race not reported | 11 |
| Men | 78 |
| Women | 149 |
| Another gender | 1 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Elon University 509 report show?
Elon University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,107 applicants received 589 offers (53.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $23,571 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 69.9%.
How does Elon University compare with other law schools in North Carolina?
Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, Elon University has the highest.
How many applicants did Elon University receive, and how many were admitted?
Elon University received 1,107 completed applications and issued 589 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 53.2%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Elon University?
For Elon University, in-state tuition is $45,333 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $31,000, the median grant is $23,571 per year, 90% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Elon University?
Elon University had a first-time bar passage rate of 69.9% across 133 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 88.6%.