University of North Carolina ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of North Carolina, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of North Carolina's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,459 applicants received 387 offers (11.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $17,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.1%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Chapel Hill, North Carolina · Report year 2025 · all University of North Carolina data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 3,459 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 387 |
| Acceptance rate | 11.2% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 176 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 181 |
| First-year class size | 181 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 165 |
| LSAT median | 168 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 169 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.78 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.89 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.97 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 181 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How University of North Carolina compares within North Carolina
Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, University of North Carolina has the lowest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elon University | 53.2% | 154 | 1,107 |
| Campbell University | 50.7% | 156 | 1,168 |
| Wake Forest University | 24.6% | 166 | 2,883 |
| Duke University | 12.9% | 171 | 6,240 |
| University of North Carolina ← this school | 11.2% | 168 | 3,459 |
| North Carolina Central University | — | 151 | 1,303 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $28,082 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $51,320 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $3,480 |
| Living on campus | $25,678 |
| Living off campus | $25,678 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of North Carolina compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report annual tuition, University of North Carolina has the 5th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | $80,100 | $26,116 |
| Wake Forest University | $57,920 | $30,639 |
| Campbell University | $51,840 | $35,281 |
| Elon University | $45,333 | $31,000 |
| University of North Carolina ← this school | $28,082 | $25,678 |
| North Carolina Central University | $13,444 | $28,292 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 95.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $17,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $15,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $20,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 38.0% |
| Above half, below full | 52.0% |
| Full tuition | 3.0% |
| Above full tuition | 2.0% |
How University of North Carolina compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report median grant, University of North Carolina has the 5th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Wake Forest University | $40,000 | 76.0% |
| Duke University | $35,000 | 94.0% |
| Elon University | $23,571 | 90.0% |
| Campbell University | $21,771 | 99.0% |
| University of North Carolina ← this school | $17,000 | 95.0% |
| North Carolina Central University | $12,982 | 72.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 543 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 543 |
| First-year JD students | 181 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 181 |
How University of North Carolina compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report jd students, University of North Carolina has the 4th highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 723 | 227 |
| Wake Forest University | 564 | 207 |
| Campbell University | 553 | 210 |
| University of North Carolina ← this school | 543 | 181 |
| Elon University | 540 | 229 |
| North Carolina Central University | 361 | 131 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 187 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 176 |
| First-time passage rate | 94.1% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 97.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 93.0% |
How University of North Carolina compares within North Carolina
Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report first-time rate, University of North Carolina has the 2nd highest.
The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Duke University | 98.2% | 98.2% |
| University of North Carolina ← this school | 94.1% | 93.0% |
| Campbell University | 93.5% | 96.1% |
| Wake Forest University | 89.6% | 95.3% |
| Elon University | 69.9% | 88.6% |
| North Carolina Central University | 59.4% | 71.7% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 181 |
|---|---|
| White | 132 |
| Black | 5 |
| Hispanic | 18 |
| Asian | 12 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 7 |
| Race not reported | 7 |
| Men | 85 |
| Women | 92 |
| Another gender | 4 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of North Carolina 509 report show?
University of North Carolina's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,459 applicants received 387 offers (11.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $17,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.1%.
How does University of North Carolina compare with other law schools in North Carolina?
Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, University of North Carolina has the lowest.
How many applicants did University of North Carolina receive, and how many were admitted?
University of North Carolina received 3,459 completed applications and issued 387 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 11.2%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of North Carolina?
For University of North Carolina, in-state tuition is $28,082 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,678, the median grant is $17,000 per year, 95% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of North Carolina?
University of North Carolina had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.1% across 187 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.0%.