Duke University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Duke University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Duke University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,240 applicants received 804 offers (12.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 98.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Durham, North Carolina · Report year 2025 · all Duke University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications6,240
Offers of admission804
Acceptance rate12.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool222
Enrolled in the first-year class227
First-year class size227
LSAT 25th percentile169
LSAT median171
LSAT 75th percentile172
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.83
Undergraduate GPA median3.91
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.96
Students who submitted LSAT scores223
Students who submitted GRE scores4

How Duke University compares within North Carolina

Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, Duke University has the 4th highest.

The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Elon University53.2%1541,107
Campbell University50.7%1561,168
Wake Forest University24.6%1662,883
Duke University ← this school12.9%1716,240
University of North Carolina11.2%1683,459
North Carolina Central University—1511,303

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$80,100
Non-resident tuition (annual)$80,100
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,729
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$26,116
Tuition guaranteeno

How Duke University compares within North Carolina

Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report annual tuition, Duke University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Duke University ← this school$80,100$26,116
Wake Forest University$57,920$30,639
Campbell University$51,840$35,281
Elon University$45,333$31,000
University of North Carolina$28,082$25,678
North Carolina Central University$13,444$28,292

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$35,000
25th percentile grant$27,000
75th percentile grant$40,000
Half tuition or less67.0%
Above half, below full27.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Duke University compares within North Carolina

Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report median grant, Duke University has the 2nd highest.

The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Wake Forest University$40,00076.0%
Duke University ← this school$35,00094.0%
Elon University$23,57190.0%
Campbell University$21,77199.0%
University of North Carolina$17,00095.0%
North Carolina Central University$12,98272.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled830
JD students (all years)723
First-year JD students227
Non-JD students107
First-year class size227

How Duke University compares within North Carolina

Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report jd students, Duke University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Duke University ← this school723227
Wake Forest University564207
Campbell University553210
University of North Carolina543181
Elon University540229
North Carolina Central University361131

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers226
First-time passers222
First-time passage rate98.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)99.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.2%

How Duke University compares within North Carolina

Among the 6 law schools in North Carolina that report first-time rate, Duke University has the highest.

The 6 law schools in North Carolina, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Duke University ← this school98.2%98.2%
University of North Carolina94.1%93.0%
Campbell University93.5%96.1%
Wake Forest University89.6%95.3%
Elon University69.9%88.6%
North Carolina Central University59.4%71.7%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class227
White134
Black15
Hispanic27
Asian33
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial8
Race not reported10
Men107
Women115
Another gender5
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Duke University 509 report show?

Duke University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,240 applicants received 804 offers (12.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 98.2%.

How does Duke University compare with other law schools in North Carolina?

Among the 5 law schools in North Carolina that report acceptance rate, Duke University has the 4th highest.

How many applicants did Duke University receive, and how many were admitted?

Duke University received 6,240 completed applications and issued 804 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 12.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Duke University?

For Duke University, in-state tuition is $80,100 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,116, the median grant is $35,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Duke University?

Duke University had a first-time bar passage rate of 98.2% across 226 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.2%.